We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best riad!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jawad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jawad to your Saves list
Riad Jawad
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Route de l'Ourika, Oasis Hassan ll, Douar Zemrane, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #363 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best riad!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I have always wanted to go to Marrakech, so finally we decided to pack our bags and go, but we wanted also to have 3 relaxing days by a pool.
So we decided to go to jawad, even if many people told us to choose one in the medina. Thank goodness I didn't listen to them, cuz as fascinating as the medina is, it's also way too stressful, and chaotic. So if you want to have some peace and quiet after a day in the medina, I strongly recommend going to jawad.
The staff are all so sweet and helpful, the rooms are beautiful and romantic, and the pool and garden make this riad extremely special. We both have the travel bug , and travel fairly enough and we both believe that this has been the best accommodation so far!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    31
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

stayed one night here in April, difficult to find as the tripadvisor map is showing the hotel in the wrong place . A correct placing is http://goo.gl/maps/92gMP . Our room was the Jad suite which was a large comfortable room in Moroccan style. We had a nice dinner in the courtyard area. Breakfast was outside in the well established garden and was good quality. the staff were all very helpful. The one problem we had was the continual barking of several dogs on adjoining land which went on most of the night, obviously out of the control of the owners and they are hopeful that this was about to be solved.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Riad Jawad from 11th – 20th March 2013 following a recommendation from my 22 year old daughter and her boyfriend who visited last summer.

Having left a blizzard at Gatwick to arrive in Marrakech in balmy temperatures in the mid 20’s was joyful enough, arriving at Riad Jawad however was even better than expected and once there our wintry souls thawed out and our hearts were filled with serenity, warmth and joy.

Riad Jawad offer a complimentary pick-up from the airport which is about a 20 minute drive away (A free shuttle service is available into the Medina between 10am – 5 pm (approx. 6 km away), after which a charge is made and put on your bill). On arrival we were greeted by the wonderful owner Jihane who gave us a tour around the Riad and organised a welcome pot of mint tea. She told us to treat the Riad like our home. Each and every day following our arrival Jihane made time to talk to everyone who was staying which was a lovely touch and excellent customer service. At times there were only two other guests there and at most eight other.

Our room was lovely. Spacious, a 6 foot bed, décor in keeping with the Morrocan theme, spotlessly clean, lots of storage space; with a TV, fridge, air-con and a safe. There were soaps and moisturisers in the bathroom, which had a double shower cubicle and large fluffy white towels. (Pool towels are also provided). Our room overlooked the beautiful gardens and pool and was serviced every day to an incredibly high standard.

The grounds of the Riad are sublime. Two hectares of flora and fauna which is cared for each and every day by the most committed and hard working gardeners. We were there a little early for the flowers to be out, but I imagine from April all the rose bushes would be full of flowers. We adored the orange trees everywhere. Laden heavily with the hugest oranges. However don’t be fooled. They are sour and not “eating oranges” although we have it on good authority that they are great to use in the shower as a kind of scrub.

The pool isn’t heated and not for the faint hearted this early in the season. However we swam every day. The pool is clean and a magnet for lots of house-martins who swoop down to drink the water, not to mention the little birds who drink from the side edges. All around the pool are lots of comfortable sun beds, day beds and tables. You can choose where you have breakfast and your meals and because there are only 9 rooms it is never crowded and the feeling is one of serenity and wellbeing.

The guests are mainly French. Whilst we were there only one other English couple stayed, and only for a couple of nights. Everyone was very friendly and the staff spoke enough English to make conversation possible. Ellen, Gislelle, Mohammed and Hakim were all wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. And they were friendly and fun and made us feel so welcome and at ease.

There is no alcohol served at the Riad. But if you like to have a drink, Hakim will drive you to the massive supermarket about 8 minutes away, so you can stock up. But do try the Virgin Mohitos at the Riad, as they are sublime. A welcome refreshment on a hot afternoon after a trip into the Medina or an evening exploring the Souks.

Breakfast was included in the price of our booking (£630 for 9 nights) and was available until 11.00 am every morning. We chose to eat by the side of the pool and we never walked away other than completely full up. Breakfast would be a freshly cooked cheese omelette, bread, jams, honey, pancakes, olives and some cheese. Not to mention the most amazing freshly squeezed orange juice and wonderful coffee.

Although we did eat out when we visited the Medina (try Restaurant Chez Chegrouni for fantastic cous cous and tagines for less than £10 for two) we mainly ate at the Riad. Each day you could ask to have lunch and dinner. For lunch you could have a three course banquet ( we did this once and couldn’t move for the rest of the afternoon), so our main choice was paninin’s chips and salad. Ideal for a shady hour or so. Then for dinner, you could choose what time you ate and have your choice of tables, or corners or sofas inside the Riad. The food was excellent and authentic (our bill at the end of a nine day stay was approx. £300 which was lunch and dinner most days and about 3 trips back from the Medina after 5.00 pm). Mohammed always looked after us well and was polite and friendly. You could even choose to eat in your room if you so wished. We didn’t do this. Nor did we use the Hammam or steam room.

Poochie (the Riad dog) made us laugh daily. He is a little elderly and would often fall over whilst being petted. But he was sooo affectionate and would often join us for our evening meals. The Riad's cats are well looked after and friendly.

We felt that the entire ethos of the Riad was to make guests feel valued, welcome and to ensure that they had a safe and wonderful holiday. Jihane made sure that we had her mobile number in case we needed any help whilst we were out and about in Marrakech. She also introduced her wonderful children to us and gave us a guided tour around the new family home that they are having built in the grounds.

We went to the Riad Jawad because we wanted a week or so away, with some good weather, that wasn’t long haul and was well away from the Euro zone. Our stay far exceeded our expectations. We absolutely loved it. We travel far and wide and rarely (if ever) say we will return to a place. However we WILL return to Riad Jawad. It is perfect for a short break away to re-charge batteries and to be surrounded by exquisite surroundings and lovely people. Jihane runs a wonderful Riad. Thank you so much for looking after us so well. We can’t wait to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 7 (Yacout room) which is one of the four garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were delighted to find the Riad Jawad and booked this lovely hotel when the one that we had originally booked cancelled on us less than 12 hours before we were due to fly. We were not disappointed by this Riad. We were greeted very warmly and shown around the Riad, as there were a couple of rooms still available we were allowed to choose the room which we preferred and received a free upgrade which was very gratefully received. We opted for one of the four rooms overlooking the pool rather than one of the 5 rooms in the main building but all of the rooms were equally as beautiful. We were very pleased with our room selection (a very spacious suite) and the views over the pool and the gardens are superb, we found the setting to be very relaxing. We sat and had lunch outside on the first day and it was idylic, a perfect way to start the holiday.

This hotel is about 15 mins from the Old Town but the hotel run a free shuttle service in between 9am and 5pm which solved any transportation problems. After this time taxi drivers quoted 150 dirhams to get us back to the Riad at night although we could have got back to the hotel for less than this if we had been prepared to haggle. We enjoyed the location of the hotel as we found Marrakech to be very intense and it was nice to be away from the main hustle and bustle and able to relax in a less central setting. The route to the hotel is a little bumpy and the road (not owned by the hotel) is unkempt until you get nearer to the hotel which we found a little disconcerting before we knew where we were actually staying but do not let this put you off as the hotel is absolutely beautiful and you will soon realise that there is no need to be worried about the route, which seems a little off the beaten track and could look a bit sinister at night.

The hotel manager is very friendly and a quick call to her would clarify anything that you may need to know, her number is on the business card that you get given on arrival. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and eager to please. Breakfast was delicious every morning and on the one night that we had dinner in the hotel we really enjoyed it, we sat by the fire at a low table and really enjoyed our evening. We also enjoyed the company of the hotel dog during our stay, a little friendly chap called 'Putchi' (not sure on the spelling!).

A big thank you to everyone at the Riad Jawad who didn't let us down in our hour of need!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our first experience of Morocco and this hotel was the highlight for us. The Riad Jawad is really in the middle of no-where but there is a shuttle taxi run by the hotel at no addiitonal cost during the day. All of the rooms are individually dressed and beuatiful. they all surround the pool area. Breakfast was great and you can have diner by arrangement which was lovely (sitting outside). We also took advantage of the hamman and massage treatments which were some of the best we have had. It's about a 15 min cab ride back into the centre and you certainly can't walk out of the compound.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous retreat, peaceful, staff like Mohammed and hanam, very sweet willing to help in which ever way they can.
A few other families visiting at same time as us. They work with what ever has been provided by management. Clean rooms, fresh towels, not 1 thing left out went missing, very honest staff. Will defo be recommending this place! The only request to the hotel pleaseeeee make ur pool heated!! We had a whale of a time! I was even allowed to mingle with the kitchen staff and that is a Biggy for me! Hope the staff specially Hakeem the sweet driver learn a little bit of English! Miss you all and see you very soon!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morocco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Mohammed is one of the treasures of this riad. Many thanks to Ghizlane too. Fatima has the loveliest smile and way about her. My hubby and I loved the fireplace in the room, so romantic having dinner in front of it. The ground and gardens are lovely. The whole place is very private. It is great to be out in the countryside with all of the modern conveniences. The mattress and bed were very comfortable; we loved the door from our room that took us right to the patio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jawad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jawad

Address: Route de l'Ourika, Oasis Hassan ll, Douar Zemrane, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad Jawad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Jawad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jawad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.