We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

We went to this restaurant on a friday night and it was absolutely AMAZING! We went to several nice restaurants in Marrakech but this one was beyond our expectations.
The decoration is breathtaking, the service is really good and the food was delicious! We had an amazing Lamb Tagine with Apricots Honey & Almonds.
We also loved the music and the belly dancers were fantastic! Definitely a Must-GO in Marrakech.
Already missing this restaurant, we'll surely come back one day!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    159
    37
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice place, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Very nice restaurant, modern and cozy. The service was super good, from beginning to end.
Food is very good, however is not the best I have had. It is a combination of Lebanese and Moroccan food which was very interesting.
We ordered a menu for 2, which included diverse small "tasting size" plates from the grill, most of them Lebanese, with chicken and meat brochettes , kibbeh (very very good) and also Falafel that was also very good. The serve as side dishes Baba Ganoush that was ok, humus that was also ok, and labhne that was also ok. I have had better Lebanese food but the objective was to have Moroccan food.
After that, we order vegetables cous cous, which was very good. We really had a lot of good quality food.
We order a bottle of Moroccan wine that was super good!! recommended by the staff, and also in perfect temperature, which is not very common to find this outside Europe.
All this for 50 Euros per person which is not cheap, average European prices.
In general, I recommend this place, is very nice.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Lebanese food in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Azar is one of the very few Lebanese restaurants in Marrakech , i think there are only 3 or 4.
Have been there for dinner , and as a Lebanese, i was very impressed with the food quality, unlike the other Lebanese restaurants.
The cold and hot mezzes were just great , the ingredients were fresh and 100% Lebanese, as sometimes , condiments and spices are hard to find in Morocco , but at Azar , they have done a good job, in both taste and presentation .
It was not busy , there were only 4 tables including ours, but it is slow in Marrakech in general in this period, so the service was good and very attentive , thing that added the positiveness to our experience.
The belly dancing show was good , not a cheap belly dancer wiggling , it was more of a correct dance show , unlike other restaurants.
The clientele also was of a good level.
Overall , we have enjoyed our evening and now have a new address whenever we miss eating Lebanese food.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't Bother! Total Rip Off!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

If you want small portions, want to pay £6 for ramekin sized meze dishes, pay £30 for a bottle of Morrocan wine sit and eat in a nightclub where you can't have a conversation because the music is too loud - then you will absolutely love this place!

However, if like us you like nice food in nice surroundings with nice wines at prices where you feel you are not being ripped off then give it a miss!

We were in and out within an hour as it was just too loud! If eating after 10 pm take ear defenders and a pad and pen so you can communicate with your dinner guests.

Another thing be careful of (I had read it in an earlier review about this place) when I came to pay they said the card machine wasn't working and I had to pay by cash! They expected me to go to a cash point and get cash out with my credit card. This charade went in for about 20 minutes with 3 people coming up to me to explain I had to pay cash. I was then asked if we could go upstairs for a drink until the problem with the credit card terminal was fixed! That will be about another £20 on the bill then for that! They kept trying it on and then eventually gave up and asked me to go to credit card machine to enter my pin! If there was a problem why didn't they say before taking my order? Because I suspect there wasn't!

Save your money, save your hearing and don't bother going! It's an absolute rip off.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely food and decour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

The place was lovely, dimmed lights and great ambience. We chose the set menu and there was more than enough food for the two of us.

The mixed meze was very tasty and large portions. The mains was a bit smaller but to be honest we stuffed from the starters. The dessert was a mix and we liked two out of the three given to us.

Overall we left full and happy. The location is a bit hidden away so make sure you have a gps to track it down.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.