We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best dinners we had in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 551 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of the best dinners we had in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Lovely environment, we were lucky that we got there early enough to get a table without booking. Belly dancers came out around 10. Food and cocktails were absolutely delicious, very highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    144
    33
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere & fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We visited this restaurant, mid way through our stay in Marrakech, and wasn't disappointed.
The restaurant was empty when we got there at 8pm, and we had a choice of sitting in smoking or a non-smoking area. There was a lovely outdoor area, however we decided to opt for inside.

The service was second to none, the food was fantastic. We both had a starter, main and dessert. My husband had the steak as a main, and I the chicken. Both were cooked perfectly. Dessert was to die for. Easy to find in the newer area of Marakech, I would highly recommend this restaurant. Although we went there as a couple, there were a few families there with well behaved children.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best night in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I feel compelled to tell people that Azar is really a great restaurant and make no hesitation in recommending it for a night out in Marrakesh. It was my favourite place in the city for a number of reasons: the food was lovely and reasonably priced, staff were attentive, atmosphere was great and the four piece band who play Thursday to Saturday performed lovely tradition music. The belly dancers who put on a 10 minute show were an added bonus.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Incredible food, great service, fantastic entertainment and then a chilled shisha. All in all a perfect night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a great dinner here last week. We started off with a cocktail in the bar beforehand and even though we were a bit early, our hostess seated us when we were ready to eat. We had a great Waitress who was very attentive and friendly, with a sense of humour. Food was delicious...we went for the dinner for two (Dhs600) - this included 9 mezza - some of which included hommus, tabouleh, baba ganoush, falafel, cheese straws, mince thingies I don't know the name of, some kind of sausage in gravy, and a couple of other dishes. We had a choice of Tagine or Mixed Grill, we had one of each... my Husband said it was the best Tagine he's ever tasted and the mixed grill was fab too. We finished off with what they called oriental desserts, they were very sweet and sticky so I wasn't too into them but I hadn't got much room left anyway! Belly Dancers were great, lovely young women, fab looking, they came on about 10ish and interacted with the guests and even had my Husband up dancing, which he loved ha ha! A good night!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.