We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morrocan high class ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 533 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Morrocan high class ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a very nice and a upscale joint, you will treated like high social class.

And this is also their intent.

The service is most excellent.

The food is made and presented in most exclusive way.


Taste was amazing, drinks are a bit pricey here though.

Their iriah coffe was the smallest i have ever seen.

Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    239
    135
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A very nice place to dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was a very nice restaurant in which to enjoy a very nice meal with very good service. It had been recommended by our riad. It is a Lebanese restaurant in a very nice part of Marrakech. They have a very nice bar upstairs. It is a tad fancy. The restaurant and bar are decorated very nice.

We had told our driver that we were not interested in a large meal. He suggested one of the samplers on the menu. You can get a 6 plate or 10 plate or 16 plate or 20 plate sampler. For four us we chose the 16 plate sampler. Glad we did not go with the 20 plates, because what we had was more than enough. For two of us, our share of the ticket was $61 USD which is a little high, but not for the ambiance and quality of food and service.

There were supposed to be belly dancers the night we were there, but it turned out to be some kind of holiday so they were not performing. Sorry we missed it as that would have been a very nice touch to a nice meal.

We would certainly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First Night In Marrakesh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel concierge easily booked us a table for dinner on a Monday night. The restaurant was not busy when we arrived and was only partially full for the entire time we were there. It was easy for taxi driver to find and we were able to hail a taxi easily for the ride back to the hotel after dinner.

Restaurant is definitely for tourists as there were no locals present. The service was good as was the food although it was a bit pricey. We get in mind is the ambiance was nice. The decor was elaborate and there was even a treat of a belly dancer show halfway through our meal.

We stayed to enjoy a shisha pipe after dinner and then had dessert. The dinner was nice enough although like I said the value was not great. For us it was a great first night in Marrakesh.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant with high standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The food and the service were really good. The venue is cosy and will remind you of places in the West. It's a lebanese restaurant though, so don't expect typical maroccan food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregory c c, Directeur général at Azar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review .It's very nice but we propose also typical moroccan and international food.

Regards,

La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fun evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We chose Azar because we love meze and wanted a change from tagine!
We arrived early for cocktails and just enjoyed the glitzy atmosphere and people watching
The food was excellent quality, service was good, ambience great
Would definitely recommend if you want something un-moroccan for a change!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.