We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun evening out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 553 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fun evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We chose Azar because we love meze and wanted a change from tagine!
We arrived early for cocktails and just enjoyed the glitzy atmosphere and people watching
The food was excellent quality, service was good, ambience great
Would definitely recommend if you want something un-moroccan for a change!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    144
    33
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Could be in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We found this restaurant in our guide book and didn't expect it to be as glamorous as it is! It felt like walking in to a top notch restaurant in the centre of London. The prices however were very good. We ended up eating at this restaurant 3 times. Lebanese food is my favourite food and they had all my favourite dishes. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely restaurant , beautiful inside and out. Had a lovely evening with good service and amazing food. Would recommend it as a top class restaurant for Moroccan and Lebanese food to any one who comes here. Think even Gordon Ramsay would be impressed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

perfect combination between eastern and western food. Something to serve for everyone. The belly dance show is the candle that brings everything together: not too little, not too much, just right. We had a great night.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere with good food but service a bit slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spend an evening at this restaurant after having read the previous review on Tripadvisor. We have pre-dinner cocktails, dinner, 1/2 bottle wine and a shisha after dinner and it all came to £85 for 2 person. The service was quite poor. Lots of staff just walking around and looking at customers table but apart from that doesn't seem to care about the customer service. Waited for over 30 minutes and noone came to take our drinks order. I had to go and to one of the staff who has just been standing around the whole night. The cocktails costs £10-20 and I tried 2 different ones and neither was nice. It's wiser to go for the wines which are not bad.
Food was ok. The decor was very nice and we spent a lovely time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.