We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 525 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Could be in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We found this restaurant in our guide book and didn't expect it to be as glamorous as it is! It felt like walking in to a top notch restaurant in the centre of London. The prices however were very good. We ended up eating at this restaurant 3 times. Lebanese food is my favourite food and they had all my favourite dishes. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    237
    132
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovely restaurant , beautiful inside and out. Had a lovely evening with good service and amazing food. Would recommend it as a top class restaurant for Moroccan and Lebanese food to any one who comes here. Think even Gordon Ramsay would be impressed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

perfect combination between eastern and western food. Something to serve for everyone. The belly dance show is the candle that brings everything together: not too little, not too much, just right. We had a great night.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere with good food but service a bit slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spend an evening at this restaurant after having read the previous review on Tripadvisor. We have pre-dinner cocktails, dinner, 1/2 bottle wine and a shisha after dinner and it all came to £85 for 2 person. The service was quite poor. Lots of staff just walking around and looking at customers table but apart from that doesn't seem to care about the customer service. Waited for over 30 minutes and noone came to take our drinks order. I had to go and to one of the staff who has just been standing around the whole night. The cocktails costs £10-20 and I tried 2 different ones and neither was nice. It's wiser to go for the wines which are not bad.
Food was ok. The decor was very nice and we spent a lovely time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't be fooled”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Went here as the reviews looked good and we love Lebanese food. For some reason we couldn't ordered the 6 mezzes which were a set price from the menu, which was a bit odd. Anyway, just ordered separately and a mixed grill with extra basmati rice. I thought that the chicken was not cooked properly and the rice tasted funny as well as the chicken livers, as a consequence both my partner and I were laid up in bed for the next day. Although the food looked ok, it certainly did not agree, and as I travel for my job, my stomach usually more tolerable than most as I'm frequently a visitor to Africa and the Middle East. Would not recommend this restaurant, it ruined a whole day and a trip to the pharmacy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregory c c, Directeur général at Azar, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest ,

We are sorry for this trouble.
In our process we work only with topfresh ingredients, the mixed grill is one our best seller and during the same night that you come at Azar , we sold 10 mixed grill and didn't have any problem like that, quite the opposite. All the staff members in the kitchen wear hygienic gloves .

Best regards,

La Direction,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.