We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 548 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Azar was reccomended to me for dinner on a recent trip to Marrakech, first impressions of the restaurant were great - it is a beautiful place and the atmosphere is chiiled and very cool. The food was a blend of Morroccan and Lebanese whch was great, a selection of mezze followed by mixed brochettes was well cooked and tasted beautiful. The belly dancers were a bit unneccesary, it all felt a bit forced and to be honest did not enhance the evening at all, overall it is an expensive treat but well worth a visit for a modern dining experience in marrakech.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    140
    32
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
“Solid Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We needed a break from traditional Moroccan food after days and days of tagine...the steak with pepper sauce was fabulous!! Not a shred of fat on the cut (the way I love it). Only one red wine by the glass but it was quite good and went with the steak nicely.
The service was a bit excessive as mentioned in other reviews and the 2 person tables were quite cramped together. I would recommend this as a great restaurant though. The food was fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, delicious steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Found this restaurant eventually after looking on trip advisor. Taxi drivers don't appear to know the city that well!! Opens at 7pm, you can have snacks & drinks out front on comfy sofas, and the decor is very Moroccan . Inside the decor is plush, modern and quite dark. Portions aren't huge, but adequate and very tasty. My steak was very tender & cooked to perfection.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overpriced and tacky”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Went here on recommendation expecting great food in a lovely location. Instead we got at best mediocre food and a tacky barrage on the senses in the form of belly dancing and loud music.

Overpriced food. Over attentive service to the point of being intrusive (we were having water glasses filled practically every time we took a sip and each time a plate looked empty it was whisked away).

I recommend going somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Definetly one of the best restaurants ive been to. The decor is just stunning, food was good, entertainment was a lot of fun. The staff were brilliant and could not do enough to please you. We rounded the experience off with a little bit of shisha outside in the comfy loungers. All in all an excellent dining experience.. I would recommend this for your last night in town just to leave the vibrant and beautiful city of marrakesh with a big content smile on your face. Thank you to the wonderful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;