We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 700 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Moroccan, Middle Eastern, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Azar was reccomended to me for dinner on a recent trip to Marrakech, first impressions of the restaurant were great - it is a beautiful place and the atmosphere is chiiled and very cool. The food was a blend of Morroccan and Lebanese whch was great, a selection of mezze followed by mixed brochettes was well cooked and tasted beautiful. The belly dancers were a bit unneccesary, it all felt a bit forced and to be honest did not enhance the evening at all, overall it is an expensive treat but well worth a visit for a modern dining experience in marrakech.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
“Solid Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We needed a break from traditional Moroccan food after days and days of tagine...the steak with pepper sauce was fabulous!! Not a shred of fat on the cut (the way I love it). Only one red wine by the glass but it was quite good and went with the steak nicely.
The service was a bit excessive as mentioned in other reviews and the 2 person tables were quite cramped together. I would recommend this as a great restaurant though. The food was fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ELiv24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, delicious steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Found this restaurant eventually after looking on trip advisor. Taxi drivers don't appear to know the city that well!! Opens at 7pm, you can have snacks & drinks out front on comfy sofas, and the decor is very Moroccan . Inside the decor is plush, modern and quite dark. Portions aren't huge, but adequate and very tasty. My steak was very tender & cooked to perfection.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catherine8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overpriced and tacky”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Went here on recommendation expecting great food in a lovely location. Instead we got at best mediocre food and a tacky barrage on the senses in the form of belly dancing and loud music.

Overpriced food. Over attentive service to the point of being intrusive (we were having water glasses filled practically every time we took a sip and each time a plate looked empty it was whisked away).

I recommend going somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Juliet M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Definetly one of the best restaurants ive been to. The decor is just stunning, food was good, entertainment was a lot of fun. The staff were brilliant and could not do enough to please you. We rounded the experience off with a little bit of shisha outside in the comfy loungers. All in all an excellent dining experience.. I would recommend this for your last night in town just to leave the vibrant and beautiful city of marrakesh with a big content smile on your face. Thank you to the wonderful staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank honeydewal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing