We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, but average main courses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 588 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good experience, but average main courses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Started sitting in the mezzanine drinking the 2-4-1 cocktails which were lovely. the service was very attentive and the atnosphere was perfect. we moved inside for dinner, once again the atmosphere was really good - there was music in the background with dim light and the service again was great. We chose the 6 mezze to start plus one extra - they were great and actually quite filling! For mains i had the mixed grill which was ok considering i had the same thing at the kasbah cafe for a lot less money, portion size was good. My husband had the royal coucous which was a massive portion and rather bland. We were expecting a lit from the food but it wasnt the best. I completely agree with another reviewer thst the food scores low and the place/service scores high.
I had been looking forward to the belly dancers as this was something different, however we did not really enjoy it - it kind of ruined the atmosphere and cheapened the place. We quickly left, as did others.
Overall, a good experience while in marrakech though!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    218
    51
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice venue but .....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Azar is a nice looking restaurant with some interesting quirks about it (check out the elevator with the rose wall and fake turf floor). They serve very good cocktails and happy hour on the terrace was great. The staff are also friendly enough, but this is a restaurant and the food was very, very disappointing. Probably the worst food we had in Marrakech.

As a venue for cocktails/drinks, I would probably rate this venue higher. If rating it purely as a restaurant I would rate it much lower!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London , UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not too bad, despite the belly dancers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lebanese cuisine restaurant in the commercial area of the new town, nice decor, but with the lighting absolutely insufficient and not suitable for a restaurant... to read the menu we had to borrow another candle from an adjacent table. Quite dear... a bottle of sparkling water 35 DH!
Hummus and falafel well made and very good shoulder of lamb, but served with roasted potatoes only, pairing not really suitable for June with 110 °F. In the second part of the dinner, the good conviviality was ruined by the arrival of two pathetic belly dancers... accompanied by a too loud music.. The atmosphere of the evening felt into the more conventional tourist kitsch...
Luckily at that point we had finished our meals and we left the place with relief.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting cocktails, OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I really like Lebanese food, so I had big expectations. The happy hour on the terrace is totally worth it. I had the rose-water martini which was unlike any drink I'd had before. The presentation was also great. The food was OK, but not as well seasoned or impressive as I was expecting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Food, service, sheesha, atmosphere and location... without a doubt, the best place to eat in Marrakech!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.