We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and atmosphere but watch out for the bill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
2 reviews
“Good food and atmosphere but watch out for the bill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Good buzzy restaurant if you want Lebanese with entertainment but we left feeling angry after they tried to charge us for a cocktail that was supposed to be free as part of happy hour and for the wrong bottle of wine. We stood our ground but took 10 mins of them blaming us before the owner finally agreed to take these off the bill. Go there with eyes wide open.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregory c c, Directeur général at Azar, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Customer,
We’re sorry for the impression you have had when you left our facility. My team and I work daily in order to satisfy all our clients and insure a good service at the Azar. When I read your comment, I am disappointed and admit that we failed our endeavors. Nevertheless, I would like to reiterate that we do not operate within the norms of overcharging customers at the Azar.
You are the first client to level such a remark. In fact, we have a Happy Hour plan, but since you are 2 persons, you normally order two glasses and we offer you the other two. You cannot order just one glass and ask to offer the second to your partner. This has been part of our business dealings; and we have explained it to you.
Concerning wine, the waitress has served you the bottle that you have checked during your meal. You could have immediately mentioned that this was not right the bottle you have ordered and we could have changed it on the spot. It was at the end of your meal and after finishing the bottle of wine and having the bill brought to you that you mentioned that you have been served the wrong bottle.
At the end, we offered you a cocktail and a bottle of wine; which is not bad for some people supposed to overcharge on their bills.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    237
    132
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worth every dirham! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic evening in a stunning setting. Food was delicious and well presented. Cocktails were perfect - nicely topped up from a teapot at the table! We weren't planning to go somewhere quite so expensive, but it really was worth it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Twice in 5 days!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

During my holiday with my family in Marrakesh we have been twice! The food is extremely tasty and fresh, the atmosphere is fancy and it's a nice break from the crowded medina. The first time we have been we just had the mezze's (lebanese starter) differents dishes light but soo tasty! Around 10.30pm two belly dancers do an exhibition, it's a nice break and something new.
Very good service!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Wow....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table for 8pm on a Friday through our hotel having read the great reviews about Azar. This is an upmarket restaurant which you can see and feel as you approach it. Once inside it is quite dark but has a romantic atmosphere with the candles. The decor is amazing. There is a nice selection of cocktails. The food is amazing...yummy and great presentation. The falafel and haloumi rikakat are worth trying. We asked for our desserts to be served outside with shisha. The service was great and the staff were extremely professional. Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Zut alors!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Definitely worth adding to your to-do list for Marrakech. Out of this world decor plus the best food we had in the city. combo deals of 9 mezze, 2 mains and desserts for 600dh for two. The chicken livers were very tasty as were the Rikalat pastries filled with halloumi. Chicken tagine with preserved lemons also highly recommended. Belly dancers come on at 10pm so i suggest reserving a table for 8.30-9.00. Good wine selection at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.