We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Sublime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simply Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We eat from here (usually by delivery) at least once a week and it is quite simply extraordinary. It is as good if not better than the best Lebanese restaurants in London or Paris and for subtlety of flavour and richness of taste - it beats pretty much everything else in Marrakech hands down. Love it

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    159
    37
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Gem in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place is great! I tried the chicken liver (i know - doesnt sound appetizing), but it was phenomenal.
The food was well seasoned and well presented
The staff was super friendly, and the ambiance is wonderful.
I would highly recommend!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great food, belly dancers for entertainment and a bar downstairs that played music. Excellent value for money and right in the heart of Marrakech too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A place with excellent food, good service and decent ambience. It's the food that makes Azar well worth a visit, we started with 8 mezzes (be warned they are large) then went on the have mixed grill, shawarma (the Iron Man reference had the kids very excited) and the beed fillet (x2). All fabulous. By time we had worked our way through everything we were so full we could only manage to split two deserts amongst four. We rolled out of there happy and stuffed. If we went again we'd probably only have a single mezze each although it'd be hard to know which ones to miss out on. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre and overly stylish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place just thinks it's a bit cool. The chefs are good, perhaps very good, but the decor is a bit naff, the chairs are awful little bowls and rather hard to get out of, and it's excessively dark. Add in the unexpected and unwanted intrusion of loud music and belly dancers, which did a pretty good job of emptying the restaurant, and it's really not all it's cracked up to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.