We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 535 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gem in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place is great! I tried the chicken liver (i know - doesnt sound appetizing), but it was phenomenal.
The food was well seasoned and well presented
The staff was super friendly, and the ambiance is wonderful.
I would highly recommend!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    244
    136
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great food, belly dancers for entertainment and a bar downstairs that played music. Excellent value for money and right in the heart of Marrakech too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A place with excellent food, good service and decent ambience. It's the food that makes Azar well worth a visit, we started with 8 mezzes (be warned they are large) then went on the have mixed grill, shawarma (the Iron Man reference had the kids very excited) and the beed fillet (x2). All fabulous. By time we had worked our way through everything we were so full we could only manage to split two deserts amongst four. We rolled out of there happy and stuffed. If we went again we'd probably only have a single mezze each although it'd be hard to know which ones to miss out on. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre and overly stylish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place just thinks it's a bit cool. The chefs are good, perhaps very good, but the decor is a bit naff, the chairs are awful little bowls and rather hard to get out of, and it's excessively dark. Add in the unexpected and unwanted intrusion of loud music and belly dancers, which did a pretty good job of emptying the restaurant, and it's really not all it's cracked up to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was recommend Azar by a friend and I was not disappointed! We booked a table for 8.30pm on the day and when we arrived we were greeted by the friendly staff. The building and interior are spectacular, the lift to the downstairs bar is fantastic (you will have to go to find out why ;))

It is expensive, but the food was incredible, me and my boyfriend decided to treat ourselves to a fancy meal (we are young graduates so don't have much money)

We had 3 courses each and a bottle of wine and in total in came to 725dh, it was worth every penny. The presentation of the food was immaculate and the attention the staff gave you was great, you never had an empty glass!

The atmosphere was relaxed, friendly and fun, it was not pretentious in the slightest! They didn't rush you with your food and the smiles and politeness of the staff seemed genuine...it seemed like a fun place to work as the staff were joking around with each other.

If you do have the budget for a treat in Marrakech, go here, you won't be let down!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.