We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool contrast from medina restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 537 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Cool contrast from medina restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We dined at azar on our last night in marrakech, it was our first trip into the new town of marrakech, great to see the contrast between the old town- medina- and new town, how beautifully preserved the medina is, no brand/chain names in sight but once into the new town Sofitel, Hilton, Pizza Hut! But it was well worth it to dine in this restaurant. Very cool space and furnishings and atmosphere.

We had the mezes style menu, very good especially the felafel. Service was all round good, only gripe was they left our bottle of wine out of reach, some restaurants do this but the service needs to be attentive to top up, unfortunately wasn't the case and ended up getting up to get the wine ourselves! After dinner we headed upstairs to the bar for cocktails and to watch the show, great after dinner entertainment.

Well recommended restaurant, we booked dinner for 8.30pm but as I think others have advised book later as this is when it livens up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    244
    137
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fab Fab Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a great time! Food was delicious and the service was spot on. I even went to the bathroom twice just so I could go down in the lift filled with flowers and grass. It’s so cheap too! We literally had a 3 course meal with wine, coffee and a shisha and it came to just over £125.00 for the two of us. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place, decent food, great decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The food here was good. It's not superb for vegetarians, we had the mezze & cous cous, not amazing compared to other food we had in Marrakech, but I would recommend this place for the live music, the decor and the overall ambience with other diners just catching up with friends over a long lazy dinner.
Dinner tends to be late, we went at 22:30 and that was very busy, we left at midnight and it was still VERY busy with people still eating and ordering.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Azar is an excellent restaurant. High quality Lebanese food, very tasty, decent portions and excellent staff. We didn't enjoy people smoking inside the restaurant but this is the norm in Morrocco. Pricing was steep for Marrakech (at least London prices) and due to this, all the customers were tourists. We had 4 mezzes (no mains) and soft drinks and our bill for 2 was around 350 MAD. The ambiance was also very nice. Overall, worth it for treat when in Marrakech. The restuarant opens at 8pm and does not get busy until around 10pm. They have a singer after 11pm but we didn't not stay until this time. Would have given the highest ranking if more reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lavish Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We decided to go to this restaurant after reading the reviews on tripadvisor.
What a great choice!!!
A trendy design even for the smallest details, a very professional service, an elegant comfort and mostly a delicious food!
We opted for a Lebanese menu "Min kel chi" and we didn't regret it at all!
At 22h00 two perfectly trained bellydancers came in to the tune of "Raks Africa" by Paul Dinletir. The entertainment continued with a Moroccan singer who performed live accompanied by an orchestra of three elements.
We enjoyed our after dinner with a very good shisha to end the soiree at 01h00 am!

I would def suggest it to people with high expectations about entertainment, ambiance and food quality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.