We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavish Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Trento, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lavish Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We decided to go to this restaurant after reading the reviews on tripadvisor.
What a great choice!!!
A trendy design even for the smallest details, a very professional service, an elegant comfort and mostly a delicious food!
We opted for a Lebanese menu "Min kel chi" and we didn't regret it at all!
At 22h00 two perfectly trained bellydancers came in to the tune of "Raks Africa" by Paul Dinletir. The entertainment continued with a Moroccan singer who performed live accompanied by an orchestra of three elements.
We enjoyed our after dinner with a very good shisha to end the soiree at 01h00 am!

I would def suggest it to people with high expectations about entertainment, ambiance and food quality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    236
    131
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute, and were surprised to get a table. Upon arrival warmly greeted, but a bit concerned as the restaurant was pretty empty at 8.30pm - although it gradually filled up during the evening. We skipped starters and went straight to the mains, chicken, steak, sea bass and lamb - all beautiful. Service was spot on throughout and the wine and cocktails reasonably priced. Deserts of profiteroles, fruit and pastillo were equally as good. 2 belly dancers that arrived just after 10 made for a night to remember. It's a taxi ride or 20 minute walk from the city but well worth it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Best Restaurant we ate at in Marrakesh. great food, lovely romantic setting, One of the few places that also does sheesha. Is reasonably priced, about £35/£40 pp for 3 course!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

4 days in Marrakech searching for some authentic food & nice restaurant .. We found this gem on our last evening - thankfully as we may have blown our budget quicker than we did!! Great atmosphere, really yummy food & wine was nice too. Quite pricey and they had ran out of a number of things (Lamb Tagine, Flag Lager, the house wines) .. With that aside we had a wonderful meal and evening ...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Trendy restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is quite a trendy restaurant. The decoration is modern but we felt a bit tight with a table on each side almost touching ours. At 10pm, dancers offered a show which was quite entertaining. The food and wine were good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.