We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 590 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

4 days in Marrakech searching for some authentic food & nice restaurant .. We found this gem on our last evening - thankfully as we may have blown our budget quicker than we did!! Great atmosphere, really yummy food & wine was nice too. Quite pricey and they had ran out of a number of things (Lamb Tagine, Flag Lager, the house wines) .. With that aside we had a wonderful meal and evening ...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    221
    51
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Trendy restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is quite a trendy restaurant. The decoration is modern but we felt a bit tight with a table on each side almost touching ours. At 10pm, dancers offered a show which was quite entertaining. The food and wine were good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow what a gorgeous meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had read quite a few positive reviews about Azar on trip adviser so decided to try it for ourselves....it did not disappoint!!! The decor is very modern Moroccan and feels very plush. We had a set meal of 9 mezzes between us and 2 tagines for main and then a selection of Moroccan deserts, all the mezzes and the tagines were delicious (especially the lamb) the desert was not to our taste but made very well. Overall including drinks it cost 2 of us 900 dirham which for the quality and quantity of food was really good value. You must eat here if you visit Marrakesh!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Stuffed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went here for my parners birthday whilst staying at the Adam Park
We shared the mezze starter which included all the starters on the menu. Realistically this would have been sufficient but as we had opted for the fixed price meze, main course and dessert we then had to attempt a lamb and a chicken tagine between us. We asked for a doggy bag for the dessert! Excellent meal at about £65 including a drink each. The restaurant was a bit quiet considering it was a Friday but we ate about 8 ish so may be it would become busier later. Would revisit if ever in the vicinity again

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Typical Arabic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Crossing Morocco and Lebanon, the Food is amazing, from tajines to couscous links to houmous-Taboule (Lebanese), you have to try it! About the price (Average) About the ambiance (it depends the evening you're going to I recommended Friday and Saturday) about the service (nice and smiley) Enjoy your time. Sam

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.