We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a gorgeous meal!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow what a gorgeous meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had read quite a few positive reviews about Azar on trip adviser so decided to try it for ourselves....it did not disappoint!!! The decor is very modern Moroccan and feels very plush. We had a set meal of 9 mezzes between us and 2 tagines for main and then a selection of Moroccan deserts, all the mezzes and the tagines were delicious (especially the lamb) the desert was not to our taste but made very well. Overall including drinks it cost 2 of us 900 dirham which for the quality and quantity of food was really good value. You must eat here if you visit Marrakesh!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    237
    132
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Stuffed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went here for my parners birthday whilst staying at the Adam Park
We shared the mezze starter which included all the starters on the menu. Realistically this would have been sufficient but as we had opted for the fixed price meze, main course and dessert we then had to attempt a lamb and a chicken tagine between us. We asked for a doggy bag for the dessert! Excellent meal at about £65 including a drink each. The restaurant was a bit quiet considering it was a Friday but we ate about 8 ish so may be it would become busier later. Would revisit if ever in the vicinity again

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Typical Arabic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Crossing Morocco and Lebanon, the Food is amazing, from tajines to couscous links to houmous-Taboule (Lebanese), you have to try it! About the price (Average) About the ambiance (it depends the evening you're going to I recommended Friday and Saturday) about the service (nice and smiley) Enjoy your time. Sam

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“How could they...?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Take such a beautiful atmosphere with the concept of one of the finest cuisines in the world and make it so damned disappointing!? Its not that the food is bad, it isn’t… boring yes, but not bad per se. Presentation and plating is done by a 5 year old and portions of their mezzes sized for the same.
Nice live music, not too loud, belly dancers were there to entertain the tourists, and service was very good… wine list also good and well-priced.
But somehow, the place just misses being good. A shame, really…

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very good food. Excellent Mezzes. Would eat a meal of them! Nice decoration in restaurant. My only complaint would be the tables are extremely close together. It's difficult to get out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.