We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Arabic Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Typical Arabic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Crossing Morocco and Lebanon, the Food is amazing, from tajines to couscous links to houmous-Taboule (Lebanese), you have to try it! About the price (Average) About the ambiance (it depends the evening you're going to I recommended Friday and Saturday) about the service (nice and smiley) Enjoy your time. Sam

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    236
    131
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“How could they...?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Take such a beautiful atmosphere with the concept of one of the finest cuisines in the world and make it so damned disappointing!? Its not that the food is bad, it isn’t… boring yes, but not bad per se. Presentation and plating is done by a 5 year old and portions of their mezzes sized for the same.
Nice live music, not too loud, belly dancers were there to entertain the tourists, and service was very good… wine list also good and well-priced.
But somehow, the place just misses being good. A shame, really…

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very good food. Excellent Mezzes. Would eat a meal of them! Nice decoration in restaurant. My only complaint would be the tables are extremely close together. It's difficult to get out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dinner at AZAR - Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went for dinner at Azar, some Italian friends suggested us the restaurant. It was amazing ! Excellent Libanese food in a charming place , smartly furnished , with a nice performance of two beautiful dancers. Price correct.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After looking up reviews on here, I decided to go to Azar with my boyfriend on our last night in Marrakech. I made sure we booked a day in advance because we'd had trouble getting a table at other nice restaurants. It did fill up around 9pm so I'm glad we did book. The decor is beautiful, it really is a nice restaurant. The staff were friendly and the food was delicious! We went on a Friday night so there was entertainment at 10pm. 2 belly dancers danced for about 20mins. It was good fun. After our meal we went to the upstairs bar where you can smoke shisha. The only let down was that once we got upstairs, we were given a drinks menu but no-one came up to take our orders. We were upstairs for about 45 mins when someone finally came to ask for drinks! By that time we had already called for our taxi and wanted the bill. She was quick on getting the bill! Apart from that, I would recommend this restaurant and would definately go there again. It also serves alcohol which is great!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.