We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 581 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very good food. Excellent Mezzes. Would eat a meal of them! Nice decoration in restaurant. My only complaint would be the tables are extremely close together. It's difficult to get out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    159
    37
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dinner at AZAR - Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went for dinner at Azar, some Italian friends suggested us the restaurant. It was amazing ! Excellent Libanese food in a charming place , smartly furnished , with a nice performance of two beautiful dancers. Price correct.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After looking up reviews on here, I decided to go to Azar with my boyfriend on our last night in Marrakech. I made sure we booked a day in advance because we'd had trouble getting a table at other nice restaurants. It did fill up around 9pm so I'm glad we did book. The decor is beautiful, it really is a nice restaurant. The staff were friendly and the food was delicious! We went on a Friday night so there was entertainment at 10pm. 2 belly dancers danced for about 20mins. It was good fun. After our meal we went to the upstairs bar where you can smoke shisha. The only let down was that once we got upstairs, we were given a drinks menu but no-one came up to take our orders. We were upstairs for about 45 mins when someone finally came to ask for drinks! By that time we had already called for our taxi and wanted the bill. She was quick on getting the bill! Apart from that, I would recommend this restaurant and would definately go there again. It also serves alcohol which is great!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous New Year's Eve Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked Azar for NYE as it was one of the few places in Marrakech with a website noting a NYE event and boy was it a good one! We arrived and were greeted by a camel and a friendly doorman. The decor was very modern Moroccan. It was a set 5 course meal for 125Eur pp that evening, but worth every penny. We ate a delicious French meal - duck ravioli, st. jaques carpacccio, lobster risotto, filet of beef, hot chocolate + creme brule. Just divine! The Moroccan red wine we had was 350 dirham and quite tasty. The evening entertainment consisted of belly dancers, Moroccan singers and sparklers and horns for midnight! There is also a nightclub downstairs, but it was very empty as the party was continuing upstairs in the dining room well past midnight. We'd definitely come back here again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisons-Laffitte, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“food and place: just excellent !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

spend one wonderful evening at the Azar restaurant. The food was great, the place is nice and trendy as I do like: cosy, room for all tables, and the restaurant is not huge... just enough to get some people and not too big to become another tourist attraction...

As we did not check before, we were surprise by some local music and local dancers... but a so good surprise: in a couple of minutes almost all tables staring to dance with the girls, or when the singer start with some famous Spanish musics !! just one of this amazing moment of life, that you would like to never ends !!

It will be my "required evening" each time I will stop in Marrakesh from now on !! Just a fantastic place to go ...

Price: very low for the quality and the atmosphere... just go for it ! (or I would say at the right price ;-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.