We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 563 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We went there quite early ( around 7.30pm ) and we were worried that it wasn't any good cos there was no one else in this place.

But it turned out to be fantastic night, probably the best restaurant we have been to during our stay in Marrakech. Food was very fresh and tasty. The mocktails were amazing :) not to mention the outstanding dessert and the belly dancing!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    153
    36
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fave restaurant in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent three nights in the city and this was our favorite night spot by far. The decor is trendy/cool, the live music was unbelievable, and the food was great. It's a nice change from tagines and couscous.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere -- OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went to Azar for a Christmas day meal (Marrakesh does not celebrate Christmas...) and while the ambiance, service and space is really cool and fun, the entrees (Cous Cous Royale and Mixed Grill) were comparatively average, although portions were large. The Appetizers we ordered were good (Kibbeh and Chicken Wings) as was the dessert (cottage cheese with dates, almonds, honey etc.). They also had belly dancers and hookas with a bar on the second floor. Outdoor seating looked good - except was too cold in the winter.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent all around, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We ate here twice in a row during our visit in December 2012.
Lovely decor, interesting ambiance, our server was helpful and attentive. The vast selection of Mezze is impressive. We tried about 9 of them and loved them all. The mains were just as delicious. We had cous cous, grilled brochettes and a perfect steak.
The price is very reasonable as well for what you get. There was a live guitar performance one night, and live belly dancing the other night, both very professional, tasteful and well done.
This was by far our best dining experience in Marrakech.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“great little chill out zone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

found this on the way back to our hotel. Entered the place as it looked promising, and it didn't let us down.
Right from the charming waitress right to the chilled atmosphere in the lounge.
Only sat in for few nibbles (great olives) and a couple of beers. Relaxing end to a hectic day around marrakesch.
Recommend it,!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.