We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wish we could have fitted more of the Mezzes in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 567 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just wish we could have fitted more of the Mezzes in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We arrived a little early on a Tuesday evening and the place was pretty empty which worried us a bit. We needent have worried though...

Had some of the tastiest starters here (certainly the best we've had in Marrakech) - the Mezzes are delicious!

We tried the chicken wings in garlic, lemon and corriander, the chargrilled haloumi and Kebbe (minced lamb with pine nuts) and loved them all - the juice of the chicken was so good we finished off most of the bread too, to finish it off!.

Mains were good too. My partner's lamb tagine went down well although the spit-roast chicken I ordered actually came IN lebanese bread rather than WITH it but some of the tastiest chicken sandwiches i've ever had.

The huge restaurant had filled up a bit by about 8:30 and is clearly popular with locals and tourists.

Probably a bit on the pricey side but certainly worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    153
    37
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Order the mezzes, it's a great sampling of 19 dishes. Comfy booths, great wine and the belly dancers are gorgeous.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We tried a few mezzes for starters. Excellent eggplant, chicken wings, and sausages.

Main course; I had chicken and lemon tagine which was great and the wife had skinny fries and a steak which was cooked perfectly.

Great decor which is enough to visit this place alone but the dancers at the end topped thins off.

Great service from really helpful staff as well. Reasonably priced.

I'd highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Success to disaster Sat 24 Nov 2012”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had the restaurant Azar recommended so we had good hopes for a nice evening. We were told there would be some nice entertainment. We arrived in a very nice restaurant setting with a nice interior even though the area/streets seemed little rough. We were greeted and seated by a very nice lady who seemed to be responsible and she acted very professional and service-minded. The clientele seemed nice and so was the ambience. The food was nice with many small plates for starters. So we very happy and in a good mood. Or so we thought.....

Then started some live Moroccan music with a singer and a band which was immensely LOUD. In the beginning, we thought it was a mistake that the music was so loud and that they would adjust it. But they didn’t. We asked many time to have the music volume turned down but it seemed the guy in charge refused. The music was louder than any cabaret place we have visited also considered the relative small size of the restaurant floor meaning everybody was close to the band. After 20 min our table were annoyed and we were not able to conduct a conversation. After 0.5 hour I had headache and so did my friends.

We asked for how long the band would continue and we were informed they were not sure. We wanted to leave but stayed out of courtesy of our friends. We asked again the waiter if they could kindly reduced the volume since we had headache and could not speak together. It seemed the man in charged refused with apparently no understanding of his customers needs. The table next to us left an hour into the music because it was so loud. When the music finally stopped after 2 long hours we had strong headache and our Saturday dinner was destroyed. Only a handful of people seemed to enjoy the local music (I think the moroccan people) whereas the majority of the people being tourists found it very disturbing.

So from initial success to LOUD disaster. And what poor restaurant management on the part of the man in charge. We will not come back.

V. C.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregory c c, Directeur général at Azar, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Madam,
We are sorry for this trouble even if the food and the service seemed to please you.
It was a special party with one of the most famous morrocan singer. We had during this evening many Moroccan which made party . Every weekend we make dicover the oriental music to our guest , (because we think that if you travel to a country it's for discover his culture , his music ) and we never have trouble with our clients . We have also a lot of morrocan people who come to Azar because every week end they can listen oriental songs that they can't hear everywhere .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
1 review
“Azar Restaurant 15-Nov-2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fashionable, good atmosphere, good food.
we enjoyed the opportunity to mix Lebanese and Moroccan cuisine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.