We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Rue de Yougoslavie, Marrakech, Morocco
212 (0) 524 43 09 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 581 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $26 - $46
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We tried a few mezzes for starters. Excellent eggplant, chicken wings, and sausages.

Main course; I had chicken and lemon tagine which was great and the wife had skinny fries and a steak which was cooked perfectly.

Great decor which is enough to visit this place alone but the dancers at the end topped thins off.

Great service from really helpful staff as well. Reasonably priced.

I'd highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    159
    37
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Success to disaster Sat 24 Nov 2012”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had the restaurant Azar recommended so we had good hopes for a nice evening. We were told there would be some nice entertainment. We arrived in a very nice restaurant setting with a nice interior even though the area/streets seemed little rough. We were greeted and seated by a very nice lady who seemed to be responsible and she acted very professional and service-minded. The clientele seemed nice and so was the ambience. The food was nice with many small plates for starters. So we very happy and in a good mood. Or so we thought.....

Then started some live Moroccan music with a singer and a band which was immensely LOUD. In the beginning, we thought it was a mistake that the music was so loud and that they would adjust it. But they didn’t. We asked many time to have the music volume turned down but it seemed the guy in charge refused. The music was louder than any cabaret place we have visited also considered the relative small size of the restaurant floor meaning everybody was close to the band. After 20 min our table were annoyed and we were not able to conduct a conversation. After 0.5 hour I had headache and so did my friends.

We asked for how long the band would continue and we were informed they were not sure. We wanted to leave but stayed out of courtesy of our friends. We asked again the waiter if they could kindly reduced the volume since we had headache and could not speak together. It seemed the man in charged refused with apparently no understanding of his customers needs. The table next to us left an hour into the music because it was so loud. When the music finally stopped after 2 long hours we had strong headache and our Saturday dinner was destroyed. Only a handful of people seemed to enjoy the local music (I think the moroccan people) whereas the majority of the people being tourists found it very disturbing.

So from initial success to LOUD disaster. And what poor restaurant management on the part of the man in charge. We will not come back.

V. C.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregory c c, Directeur général at Azar, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Madam,
We are sorry for this trouble even if the food and the service seemed to please you.
It was a special party with one of the most famous morrocan singer. We had during this evening many Moroccan which made party . Every weekend we make dicover the oriental music to our guest , (because we think that if you travel to a country it's for discover his culture , his music ) and we never have trouble with our clients . We have also a lot of morrocan people who come to Azar because every week end they can listen oriental songs that they can't hear everywhere .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
1 review
“Azar Restaurant 15-Nov-2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fashionable, good atmosphere, good food.
we enjoyed the opportunity to mix Lebanese and Moroccan cuisine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nøtterøy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bling bling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you are looking for a bling bling look and good food, put your high heels and smart dress on, and book a table here. I had my birthday dinner her with 14 people and all I heard around the table was yuuuuummmmmi....not very expensive either.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“$78CAD, Very pricy place for the portion of food and crowded seating arrangement.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

As outlined in the tittle we paid $78CAD at the AZAR for two, which turned out to be a bit of a disappointment overall. I like to list the overall price to give you an idea as to what you can expect once you make an entrance.

The atmosphere here is truly spectacular. That is clearly evident when you walk in. With it's dimm lighting and sheik furniture it sets an environment where you are greeted into a romantic evening. However you will quickly find that some seating areas especially around the bench and table seating along the wall has no privacy and by peak dinner time you are looking into the eyes and food of the folks sitting next to you involuntarily.

We had 1 bottle of water, 1 virgin mohito, Small spread of vegetables with a great dipping sauce. Main; calamari and the Syrian chicken shawarma. The food was tasty. The portions were very small but being that it's a high end place we likely made the mistake of coming here when we we're actually hungry from exploring the city. We topped the evening off with a Mint flavored shisha, or nargile as the turks call it. The Nargile was a bit of a dissapointment as well, and it wasn't tended to very well but having had the best of the best in Turkey I think our expectations were a little high.

While we were outside having shisha around 930pm or so, the belly dancers started coming out. The French folks in the restaurant seemed drunk at this point and entertained but the belly dancers didn't seem to put on much of a show. Targetting particular tables that had the most people and seemed more intoxicated than the surrounding people.

Overall if you want a romantic evening with a light portioned meal, and a rather dark but romantic atmosphere with a relatively high price tag for the meal you get than this place might just be your thing to try out.

If you are hungry..seek local foods and more of an adventurer I would recommend looking around. There are plenty of places that you can sit down and have a great meal with a satisfying portion and not spend as much.

Take into consideration that we were on a budget and a recently married young couple on our honeymoon seeking a little but of adventure, romance, luxury if we can get it and were hungry from a day of trekking and explaring Marekesh. Cheers!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.