We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good all round holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Issil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Issil to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Issil
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Circuit De La Palmeraie, Marrakech 1572 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #561 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
maidstone
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good all round holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I visited this hotel from May 20th for one week, the hotel is of a good standard, and the food is exceptional. The two things I must address for other travellers are, it is a predominent French speaking hotel, we were a group of 5 English ladies and we were the only English people in the hotel, although they try their best to communicate in English it can be quite difficult to understand. the other point I feel I have to raise is I am registered blind and although this may put me at a disadvantage, the pathways around the resort or hotel are of a cobbled nature, very uneven, making it sometimes difficult to keep your balance, especially ladies in heels, one of the ladies, sighted, in our group did fall on these pathways, so please be careful.
he hotel entertainment team work very hard, organising games etc throughout the day and shows in the theatre at night were worth a viewing all bit it in French you could work out what was happening.
When we arrived we were asked to pay taxis, for which we knew nothing about, apparently these are local taxis that are not included in your holiday cost. The currency is a closed currency so exchange can take place at hotel, but be aware you may struggle to change back any unused money.
We attempted the shopping area of Marrakesh, and to be honest I don’t think I have ever been so traumatised in my life; I would be sure before you attempt this,
Weather was very nice during the day but must stress that from around 5pm the wind seemed to get up and this made it cold in the evenings so make sure you take a cardi for evenings.
Overall we had a lovely holiday and there was nothing that you could not overcome to enjoy a holiday to the full.

Room Tip: try and book bungalow or ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    226
    70
    32
    21
See reviews for
194
188
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
snowwhite
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Really have nothing bad to say about this hotel itself. Language barrier only real problem. Animation team didn't bother with us. I've been to Morocco twice before and this was the first time this happened. But the good stuff was very good. Room lovely, bathroom massive, facilities good. Do take your own travel kettle as no tea/coffee in room. Cleaned nicely, clean towels daily. Restaurant very good, themed nights, loads of choice, wine acceptable but no beer in dining area. Entertainment was good. Nightclub, well had to visit it once, dancing to Boney M was like time travelling. All inclusive drinks til 2am in club which was a bonus. Only drawback was the different alcohol staff put in cocktails meant we mixed our drinks unknowingly. Cocktail machines poured mixers and staff added alcohol, so be warned! We eventually asked for chosen cocktail and stated either rum or vodka. Moroccan mint tea was delicious, even bought myself a teapot and glass set. Hotel is miles from anywhere. There is a shuttle into main square but it's not for the English! It's funded by the French company, we hopped on it anyway but had no idea where to pick it up from so got a cab back. Cabs are 100 Durham approx £8 but 150 Durham £12 in the evening.
Spa was lovely, don't book on the first day, we were quoted 60 Euro for Hamaman, body massage and facial, next day it was offered to us for 50 Euro. The lovely girl that comes to pool from spa will give you a free trial, don't be afraid she really won't charge you. Also great way of getting your sunscreen on your back-! Overall a decent place, I would recommend it for the peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Any I think as they are all in little blocks surrounded by gardens, no noise problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have just returned from the Royal Decameron . The Complex is very Nice , with nice gardens , very clean and tidy . The rooms are nice ( a little tired ) but a good size with large balcony and air conditioning that really does work . They do not have tea and coffee making facilities or a fridge for cold drinks in the room ( but i think thats a very English thing ) The swimming pool area is very nice with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas and has a pool bar offering hot and cold drinks and snacks.The animation team work very hard both day and night . The dining area and Lounge/bar area is very nice and always was spotless but for an all inclusive complex the drinks are very limited , Soft drinks, Beer , Whiskey , rum and pernod and cocktails from the machine that didnt taste nice The food in the dining room was tasty and fresh and we always found something we liked , but i think people with children may have a problem with food
We enjoyed our stay but felt very isolated, This is a French complex , the complex was full , But had 6 English people in Total , our group of 3 and 3 other girls . Everything is in French , Imformation , Entertainment , Reception , waiting and bar staff . 2 members of the animation team who spoke a little English did come a speak with us and apologise as everything is in French .But everyone who worked at the complex was very polite , and tried speaking with us . This is not the fault of the animation , Reception waiting , bar staff or anyone in the complex , This was the fault of Lowcost holidays who did not mention on the internet that this complex is for the French only . So if your like us who only know merci bonjour i would comment that this is NOT for people who Dont speak French .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rabat
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Impossible to sleep. They have rent the hotel to a latin television channel. so at 1 am. they was making terrible noise. they talk so lowd... and when you say to them plz make less noise they dont understand!
truks come in and out every 5 min. in short, it were a real mess. i dont recommend the hotel. they dont respect there clients!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Spent a week in early march with family including 16 month grandaughter. Weather improved as we arrived and was in 30s while we were there for a couple of days. Started badly as grandaughter needed a doctor at 1-30am on the first night. Reception were great and an english speaking doctor arrived in about 15 minutes, seemed more like 15 hours at the time. Doctor was very good and perscribed some medication to be taken later in the day. Reception insisted on sending a porter to pick up medicine and delivering it to us. Both cost of Doctor and porter were very reasonable. Grandaughter was fine after visit of doctor.
Food goood most of the time, bit annoyed that we had 2 Tajine nights very close together. We had Tajine for lunch near waterfalls on the second occasion and I could have killed for a few chips.
Hotel very relaxing buildings not imposing at all. Plenty to do, played mini golf and Petanque and used the indoor pool. There was also a resident nurse who changed a dressing for me (no charge).
Pool area good and you could move sunbeds into the gardens to get away from the pool. Grounds were very nice, you could even pick oranges.
Taxis outside were reasonable to get into Marrakech, about 15 minute journey. Would pick you up for the return journey as well.
Hired a minibus and guide from trip agents after some research on email with the hotel prior to our arrival. Went to waterfalls, about 2 hour drive with coffee stop. Well worth the cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very good value and the food was excellent throughout our stay. Staff are friendly and helpful but not too pushy if you dont want to join in on the poolside excercise or games. Lovely poolside area, with lots of unbrellas and loungers. The hotel is a little way out of the city (10 mins) so unless you are with the French tour company it will cost you 100 derams to get into town in a taxi at the front of the hotel. (£7.50). The city itself is amazingly different from European destinations so I would recommend it for the experience alone. The spa is lovely and I had one of the best massages I have ever had and a Hammam (Moroccan black soap and mud scrub).
On the drawbacks side - during the evening time after dinner when a relaxing time was required, the bar area is taken up with a disco each night which is very loud. It would be much better if there were a 'piano bar' or similar as an alternative area for those who don't particularly like disco music. Rooms are large and clean but only soap is provided - no shampoo or shower gel.

Room Tip: The resort is made up of small units of 4/6 bedrooms plus bungalows - we asked for one away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at Royal Decameron Issil during 1 week in February 2014, the hotel is a complete all inclusive hotel. The hotel is ok, not luxury, not spectacular,
Positive points: Great green garden, really splendid to sit and relax. The restaurant is good with large choice, also Moroccan specialties are offered. Free water bottles are offered in the restaurant.
Points to mitigate easily: the coffee machines in the restaurant had often break downs with spilling water, milk and coffee on the floor. Cleanliness of the room could be much better. The choice of all in drinks isn't large and often already prepared hours before offering.
Negative points: staff at reception wasn't helpful/friendly at all. The animation is only in French, they avoid people with another language! Kid's animation was suspended at the time we were there, even if animators were in the hotel. Animation around the pool is extremely loud; the covered pool isn't a nice place: moisture on the walls and an extremely loud air-conditioning system and no lightning during evening time. We had no air-conditioning on the room, only an electric heater. The bathroom needs replacement, old and completely used; the shower is in the bath but not made for people greater than 1m70. The room is also dated, with complicated electricity system, when you switch off lights; you also switch off your contacts, so you stop charging batteries etc. during night time. The all-inclusive formula is more a full pension including drinks, outside dining hours you hardly can get some decent food. Yellow bathing towels are completely worn out; you hardly can dry you 1 time. The hotel isn't child friendly at all, nothing available for small children. The restaurant is opening his doors only at 7pm (19h) in the evening, which is late for young children or we you have eaten around 1pm. Last annoying part: although an all inclusive hotel for everybody, everybody received the famous plastic all-in bracelets, why? No idea! Some parts of the hotel have trouble of noise pollution during night (disco and barking dogs in the neighbourhood). There is some margin for improvement.
The hotel is ok when you bought it cheaply or to visit Marrakech. Some travel companies offer free shuttles to the city centre. Taxis in front are expensive, just walk a short distance and you'll find one at half price.

Room Tip: Depends if you like animation, or if you don't mind to go a sleep late
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Issil

Address: Circuit De La Palmeraie, Marrakech 1572 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #561 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Decameron Issil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Issil Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Issil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.