We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing winter sunshine family break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Issil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Issil to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Issil
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Circuit De La Palmeraie, Marrakech 1572 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #561 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing winter sunshine family break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Spent a week in early march with family including 16 month grandaughter. Weather improved as we arrived and was in 30s while we were there for a couple of days. Started badly as grandaughter needed a doctor at 1-30am on the first night. Reception were great and an english speaking doctor arrived in about 15 minutes, seemed more like 15 hours at the time. Doctor was very good and perscribed some medication to be taken later in the day. Reception insisted on sending a porter to pick up medicine and delivering it to us. Both cost of Doctor and porter were very reasonable. Grandaughter was fine after visit of doctor.
Food goood most of the time, bit annoyed that we had 2 Tajine nights very close together. We had Tajine for lunch near waterfalls on the second occasion and I could have killed for a few chips.
Hotel very relaxing buildings not imposing at all. Plenty to do, played mini golf and Petanque and used the indoor pool. There was also a resident nurse who changed a dressing for me (no charge).
Pool area good and you could move sunbeds into the gardens to get away from the pool. Grounds were very nice, you could even pick oranges.
Taxis outside were reasonable to get into Marrakech, about 15 minute journey. Would pick you up for the return journey as well.
Hired a minibus and guide from trip agents after some research on email with the hotel prior to our arrival. Went to waterfalls, about 2 hour drive with coffee stop. Well worth the cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    226
    70
    32
    21
See reviews for
194
188
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very good value and the food was excellent throughout our stay. Staff are friendly and helpful but not too pushy if you dont want to join in on the poolside excercise or games. Lovely poolside area, with lots of unbrellas and loungers. The hotel is a little way out of the city (10 mins) so unless you are with the French tour company it will cost you 100 derams to get into town in a taxi at the front of the hotel. (£7.50). The city itself is amazingly different from European destinations so I would recommend it for the experience alone. The spa is lovely and I had one of the best massages I have ever had and a Hammam (Moroccan black soap and mud scrub).
On the drawbacks side - during the evening time after dinner when a relaxing time was required, the bar area is taken up with a disco each night which is very loud. It would be much better if there were a 'piano bar' or similar as an alternative area for those who don't particularly like disco music. Rooms are large and clean but only soap is provided - no shampoo or shower gel.

Room Tip: The resort is made up of small units of 4/6 bedrooms plus bungalows - we asked for one away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at Royal Decameron Issil during 1 week in February 2014, the hotel is a complete all inclusive hotel. The hotel is ok, not luxury, not spectacular,
Positive points: Great green garden, really splendid to sit and relax. The restaurant is good with large choice, also Moroccan specialties are offered. Free water bottles are offered in the restaurant.
Points to mitigate easily: the coffee machines in the restaurant had often break downs with spilling water, milk and coffee on the floor. Cleanliness of the room could be much better. The choice of all in drinks isn't large and often already prepared hours before offering.
Negative points: staff at reception wasn't helpful/friendly at all. The animation is only in French, they avoid people with another language! Kid's animation was suspended at the time we were there, even if animators were in the hotel. Animation around the pool is extremely loud; the covered pool isn't a nice place: moisture on the walls and an extremely loud air-conditioning system and no lightning during evening time. We had no air-conditioning on the room, only an electric heater. The bathroom needs replacement, old and completely used; the shower is in the bath but not made for people greater than 1m70. The room is also dated, with complicated electricity system, when you switch off lights; you also switch off your contacts, so you stop charging batteries etc. during night time. The all-inclusive formula is more a full pension including drinks, outside dining hours you hardly can get some decent food. Yellow bathing towels are completely worn out; you hardly can dry you 1 time. The hotel isn't child friendly at all, nothing available for small children. The restaurant is opening his doors only at 7pm (19h) in the evening, which is late for young children or we you have eaten around 1pm. Last annoying part: although an all inclusive hotel for everybody, everybody received the famous plastic all-in bracelets, why? No idea! Some parts of the hotel have trouble of noise pollution during night (disco and barking dogs in the neighbourhood). There is some margin for improvement.
The hotel is ok when you bought it cheaply or to visit Marrakech. Some travel companies offer free shuttles to the city centre. Taxis in front are expensive, just walk a short distance and you'll find one at half price.

Room Tip: Depends if you like animation, or if you don't mind to go a sleep late
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have just had the fortune to visit this hotel and I must say that I was really surprised after reading some of the vindictive reports. It is set in beautiful grounds, though the old pebble paving should be made smoother under foot along the walkways as some modernising is needed. For the price it is excellent value for money. The whole hotel was very clean even though a little dated.
The food was delicious and varied. Very French, which we like, and the pastries were scrumptious. We had no problem with the language as there is always someone who could speak enough English to understand what we wanted. If you tried with school French, the staff appreciated this and tried their best to help. All in all I found the place relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: all rooms very similar. upper floor so as not to hear footsteps if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very picturesque hotel, rooms set around lovely gardens. Cleanliness excellent, food excellent, staff excellent (reception, bar, restaurant, entertainment, massage, cleaners). predominantly French speaking (as is Morrocco), but all staff responded positively to a smile and attempts to communicate. Hotel approx. 2 mile from centre of Marrakech (walkable). For a relaxing and friendly holiday could not recommend more. Lovely swimming pool, great indoor pool.

Room Tip: Negotiate taxi fares before accepting ride, some taxi drivers may try to confuse you with dirhams to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

C'est La vie by Khaled is the song that reminds me of my memorable trip to Marrakech!!
First time travelling solo which was daunting in itself. But all my fears had evaporated once I was greeted by the hot and sunny weather!
The hotel was lovely....although tough with the language as their english is very limited and I only knew bits of arabic and french.
Food was lovely...room was clean and comfortable. All leisure activities were in french but knowing I was English they made an effort to include me in the poolside activities.
Downside apart from the language barrier...there is no shuttle service into the city so had to rely on the petite taxis.
Would recommend this hotel if you know fluent french otherwise it might be a struggle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

nice hotel, good food, not so good wine. Rooms are ok and clean. The hotel is far from the city center (medina)) and if your tour operator doesn't have a navette you must take a taxi. The reception was not very kind neither very helpful.The animation team was very nice. We spent new year there and we don´t recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Issil

Address: Circuit De La Palmeraie, Marrakech 1572 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #561 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Decameron Issil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Issil Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Issil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.