We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 3 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Issil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Issil to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Issil
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Circuit De La Palmeraie, Marrakech 1572 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #645 of 1,125 Marrakech B&B and Inns
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing 3 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We travelled here for a value short break in January and we absolutely loved this place. It's star rating does not do it justice. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the food and drink excellent. Rooms basic but clean. Gardens beautifully kept. Nice area and easy access into Marrakesh centre. Since then we stayed at the 5 star Riu Tikkida Palmeraie and this hotel is so much nicer than that!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    244
    79
    39
    29
See reviews for
214
205
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Royal Decameron Issil on the 6th - 13th July 2013 and we had a lovely time.

We were fully prepared for the language barrier from reading the reviews on trip advisor, but as we both know a teeny bit of French we got on ok.

When we arrived we had a warm welcome and drink from the Hotel staff and were shown to our room which was probably the furthest away from the main complex. We were actually offered a room by the pool a few days in by the Reception staff which we thought was a lovely gesture, but we politely declined as it was actually quite nice to have a distance from the disco etc at night as it could get a tad noisy.

We did a couple of trips while we were there, we didn't have a problem finding a travel rep as the Receptionist at the hotel gave us a British tour company details as soon as we arrived. We did the half day in Marrakech (more than enough, especially in 44 degree heat!!) and also an authentic meal in a Moroccan restaurant. We felt we were bumped on the restaurant trip as it cost a lot of money for what it was, and the hotel actually did a better Moroccan night food wise anyway!

Food wise, I had a bit of tummy trouble but my partner was fine, could have partly down to the heat as even our Rep said when we were over there they were having a bit of a heatwave! There were a couple of moody waitresses in the Restaurant who really didn't seem like they wanted to be there but I managed to get one of them to crack a smile at me eventually!

The entertainment was something to be desired, it usually began with a mini disco in the main lobby from 9 - 10 (with the same music in the same order each day!!) then the crowd would move onto the Theatre for about an hours performance, then onwards to the disco until 1 am. We tagged along one night to see what it was all about but it wasn't to our taste shall I say!

I don't have any real negatives to report really, we didn't feel any hostility from the people in the hotel or in Marrakech itself, but we could have been lucky. Whilst we were on our trip in Marrakech a lady on the trip accidently took a picture of one of the 'water men' and he came up to her demanding money. It's a shame but actually a lot of places in the world are like this, accidently snap a picture of pretty much any locals and they will be demanding your cash!!

Would we return to this place, probably not, probably not because our attitude is that there are so many places in the world to explore, why keep going back to the same place?
All in all I would recommend this place to fellow travellers, maybe not those who want a 'British' oriented holiday as you just won't get it here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the venue for 10 days in mid July - with scorching temperatures. Since Marrakech has a dessert climate 43+ degrees is quite doable and the hotel is built in Kasbah style which means the rooms stay pleasantly cool - even if one switches the airport off at night.
Animation team is a mix of local and French - they barely speak English - the same goes for most of the staff. I like it - but if you don't speak any French it might be hard. Both staff and animation team are quite professional and very friendly.
The garden the hotel lies in is maticulate and I really admire the small army of (male and female) gardeners who are constantly at work to keep it that way.
Service is fine - but they only go out of their way on your last day :-)
My husband and daughter really liked the food - for me it might have been a bit more fragrant. The centre of Marrakesh is only 5-10 minutes away by taxi or shuttle bus. It is easiest to take the shuttle bus (free) into town than barter a decent price for a taxi back. Most we paid was 60 Dirhams.
Do try the Hammam on the hotel premises, not overly cheap - but for €60 per person you get pampered for two while hours and the scrub treatment allows you to tan beautifully! Again, lovely staff, they gave my daughter a manicure for free, which was greatly appreciated since she has learning difficulties and to her this meant a huge "I'm a big person" experience.

I have decided out of the North African countries I've visited (Egypt, Tunisia and Morocco), I liked this location the least. The people in the city were a bit too focused to getting my money and not always in the most charming way. Could well be that Marrakesh is not a very good representative for Morocco as a whole and it certainly had nothing to with the hotel and staff. They were just the ticket for a restful stay in the sun.



Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have just come back from 7 nights at this hotel and had a fabulous time. We took our 3 year old daughter and she had so much fuss and attention as the staff love the children. Limited English spoken as most of the guests are French but we got by and had a great time. Great location to see all the Marrakech sites. Taxis quite cheap and they will take you to all the local sites so worth paying them to take you as worked out less then £30. We took a horse and carriage ride which our daughter loved and saw the old Marrakech and new part which is great for eating out. The hotel had a great selection of food everyday and I'm a vegetarian but plenty to eat and children are catered for also. I would definitely go back to the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is lovely. The evening bar staff are brilliant, friendly and helpful as are the waiting staff.
The food is superb, catering for everybody.
I totally agree with Quizor on the language.
Nobody talks to you so you don't know what's gong on in the hotel, but we like are own company and got by fine. The entertainment staff mostly asked us to join in with the aerobics and games etc.
3 of us travelled my mum, my daughter and myself, we got by very well and enjoyed every minute of it. We are very polite and they appreciate that. We quickly learnt how to say thank you in Arabic and they replied in English. Its not hard to order what you want in French.
The reception staff could improve quite a lot, one guy was very helpful and that's it. I felt if they had got somebody from the hotel to explain to us how things worked we would have felt a bit easier
The Arabic people at the market are nice and friendly.
We would go back and quite possible if the price stays sensible to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent two weeks here over the April/May school holdiays & had a really great time. The weather was exactly what we went looking for; always a bonus to go home with a healthy tan, especially when you leave and go back to rain & gloom!
The hotel is set in beautifully kept grounds and is a nice comfortable size in a safe friendly environment, with everything based around a central complex which houses the reception (Turia was always helpful & had a beautiful welcoming smile), restaurant, bar & lounge and leads out onto the outdoor pool (Anas the lifeguard was great with the kids & always smiling & helpful) & poolside bar. All this allows the kids to have the feeling of a bit of extra freedom, as they can circulate with their groups of friends and are still never far from sight. The mini-club was superb thanks to it's dedicated and passionate staff; special thanks to Camille & Seb, who were innovative, patient & lots of fun. We are French speakers, so this certainly made all the difference, even though the staff were only to happy to make an effort to speak English. The restaurant was good, with a plentiful varied selection including some really delicious local dishes available on a daily basis. The rooms were big and cleaned every day.The bathroom was a little dated, but apart from the shower head not moving, everything else was very adequate. The beds were very comfortable! All the staff, without exception, were very pleasant & always helpful. Top marks would have to go to the Entertainment team (Youness, Lucie, Camille, Seb, Estelle, Tarek deserve a mention) who provided; mini club, sports, cultural activites etc. there was a great balance and you never felt obliged to particpate and were quite happily left alone. If you did want to join in, I would recommend Lucie is for sports. I found muscles I had forgotten existed :) I also admit to having a good old boogie to some great 80's hits one evening & it's not often one gets that type of opportunity at home!
Getting out into Marrakesh is a must! Don't be put off by first appearances in the busy areas like Place Jemaa-el-Fna & the souks. They are a myriad of colour and bursting with variety; the term organised chaos often came to mind. The Majorelle Gardens are well worth the visit.
All in all a great good time was had and we came home with happy memories and we would certainly go back!

Room Tip: If you are looking for peace and quiet, request to be in the bungalows rather than the buildings. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

To get some thing straight first, this is not an international hotel, they cater for the French! Everything is in French and everyone speaks French so unless you have that language it can be a bit difficult. Expect all hotel trips to be in French and it has to be said they were not to keen to take Brits. We had the greatest difficulty finding a company offering English tours but we did eventually. There are loads of poolside activities but again all in French, if you have kids they will certainly feel left out of things .

The hotel covers quite a large area of ground with rooms away from the main complex in small self contained blocks. Ours was quiet and away from things but some are very close to the theatre and night club so this needs to be watched. The room was a good size and clean and quite well painted, no luxury but adequate. The bathroom was clean apart from some mould around the shower guard and fittings which were quite old. Cleaning seemed to be done at different times of the day and towels were delivered at another time, getting enough towels was not always easy. Our room had free air conditioning which worked well and a small patio area.

There is one main restaurant but you can get snacks at the inside and poolside bars. The food is plentiful and looks great but two of us had upset tummies for the whole of our stay there despite taking all the usual precautions with water , salads, ice etc. There were lots of sauces and maybe these contained things we were not used to or maybe not a lot of trouble was taken in the preparation, I say that because even the things cooked fresh like eggs or omelettes for breakfast were if you were not careful undercooked.

We paid for full board and have no complaint with that at all. You can drink and eat as much as you want and the restaurant staff are happy to help and very efficient.

Our Holiday was for ten days in April so the temperature was still not too hot, some cloud and some rain. The large, modern outdoor pool was too cold for all but the most thick skinned but the indoor heated pool was great, warm and relaxing. Plenty of sun beds but be warned some crafty guests get out early and reserve beds, not good when the pool area gets busy as despite the number of beds they soon fill up.

The grounds are extensive, attractive and well cared for, pleasant to walk in and quite safe.
The reception staff are not over helpful, they have Internet which you pay 30DR per 30 mins for but to access this you need to put money in a machine. The hotel never has any change for this and are not helpful in getting you any. It is not difficult to get the impression that the staff will be helpful to a point but would rather you weren't there. An example is that you ask how much a taxi should be from the hotel to say the market, they tell you the 100DR which you will pay if you use the large taxi outside the hotel, they do not tell you to ignore this, get a peti taxi and pay a maximum of 40DR, not helpful. While on the subject of taxis, always go for the small peti taxis, be prepared to bargain and if you don't get your price walk away, there are plenty who will take you. From the hotel to the el Koutoubia mosque is around 40DR if you bargain. This gets you to the centre of Marrakech and most places you will want are walking distance from there. Once hired we found the taxi drivers cheerful and helpful and quite good drivers in these very busy streets.

Back to the hotel, Poolside drinks promise a lot, exotic sounding cocktails with lovely ingredients, in reality some spirit of your choice sloped into a plastic cup and toped up with coloured liquid, the colour seemed to vary depending on who dispensed the drinks. Even the traditional mint tea was insipid and rarely hot. Poolside snacks were available thought the day and seemed to satisfy the kids.

In Marroco you will want to get out and about to the souks and markets, there is plenty written about this but to summarise how I see it, everyone is out there to extract as much money as possible from you, the methods may vary and range from friendly barter to downright threatening, be prepared and do not relax your guard.
Don't be fooled by the guides who take you on trips out, they get a percentage from the places they take you, they will not give you good advice.

For some reason we are told that bargaining for an article is good fun and something to be entered into with that attitude, that's one viewpoint, the other is that you are a money pit to be plundered to whatever depth you allow. Unless you really want something don't bother. The people you will be bargaining with are for the most part selling a load of tat, it is not usually genuinely made locally by the ladies you see in small collectives working away, it comes in crates from China. These people will put the onus on you to name a fair price, you will not want to offend them and will offer more than you want to pay, they will be offended anyway and you will offer more, welcome to rip off Marroco that's how it works. Assume everyone is after your hard earned cash and if your happy with that proceed.

Two things to watch with great care, first in the markets you will see the heavily tattooed or sometimes completely veiled Henna Ladies, do not let these people near to your lady party members, you do not want dirty needles stuck into your skin unbidden! It happens and they can be very persistent and will often approach you in numbers.
Next watch out for the violent thieves who dress in the red traditional costumes. You will see that if you take a picture they want money and are not above chasing you and your party surrounding you and threatening, once again especially the ladies.

You may think the descriptions a little extreme but I prefer to say they are realistic. That is not to say that you can't have a great time and soak up the atmosphere, the noise and the colour but always be on guard, lots of those around you live in poverty and they make their living out of you. This is a hard country, there is no safety net for the poor or homeless, they are on the streets and you are on their streets. It's a great country to visit, our hotel was for the most part pretty good and we had an enjoyable stay, if you are happy in a French speaking environment and if the rather sloppy attitude of the staff does not bother you then you will enjoy the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Decameron Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Issil

Address: Circuit De La Palmeraie, Marrakech 1572 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #645 of 1,125 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Decameron Issil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Issil Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Issil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.