We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Issil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Issil to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Issil
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Circuit De La Palmeraie, Marrakech 1572 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #564 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A good surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We're back from a short stay in this hotel.
The hotel is located in "La Palmeraie", a short taxi ride (100 MAD) to Place Djema El Fna.
There are buses that take you for free from the hotel to Place de la liberté a 20 min walk to downtown.
The gardens are well tended. The rooms are large and clean (an extra chair in the room would be useful though). Don't forget to bring your own shampoo/conditionner (only soap is provided)..
The outside pool is not heated but the kids went in easily. The inside pool is big and heated.
The food is good (meat/fish/local specialties), the drinks are "original" brands (real coke, fanta, sprite..).
The entertainement is in French but the staff is very welcoming to all kids and adults.
Overall , we had a nice stay and would gladly go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    225
    70
    32
    21
See reviews for
194
188
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our first time in Marrakech and were impressed by the reviews. The hotel is a short distance by taxi from the busy city and offers a welcome relief in its tranquility. The hotel sits in in wonderfully tended gardens (more gardeners than Kew!). All of the staff were fantastic and friendly, language was no barrier, although our French is limited. Great variety and quality of food, and plenty of it. Rooms are large and comfortable and are clean and well kept. Reception were helpful in booking a guide and taxi to get into the city, which was worth the money. If you want an amazing day trip to the Atlas Mountains we can recommend Legendes Evasions, which we booked in England. Just one tip make sure you have several 10 dirhams coins if you need access to the wi-fi. It costs 30d for half an hour and change was almost impossible to get from the hotel. This was a great short break in a very good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I read with some concern some of the other reviews but my concerns were completely unfounded.

Yes the hotel is largely occupied by a French tour company - however there were other English people there during our stay. And yes the staff speak French-as is the case with the country as a whole. We found the staff to always be friendly and helpful and we were able to get by with a few words of French and some gesticulating! To be honest I was more embarrassed at my inability to speak any language other than English rather than irritated by them speaking to me French. In Morocco generally French is spoken-there is limited English spoken so if you're not going to like that don't go!

The hotel is very nice and in lovely grounds-a welcome retreat from the madness that awaits beyond the gates! The rooms are quite basic but very clean and the beds were very comfortable! The pool area was lovely but I imagine the pool feels small in the height of the summer. The food was great-usually always some traditional Moroccan fare along with the usual chips etc. My husband is vegetarian and always managed to eat well-if you're a fussy eater you may struggle a bit. I've never been anywhere where the all inclusive soft drinks are Coca Cola, Sprite, Fanta etc (by which i mean branded soft drinks) and the servings of spirits are generous to say the least (and not watered down!).

The entertainment is in French-we're not that bothered about the entertainment when we go away-but the tour reps are happy to include you if you want to be included. They are also more than happy for you to use the ping pong, mini golf, tennis etc.

Overall I'd highly recommend it. It's close enough to the centre to not have to pay a massive taxi fare to get in, but is far enough out to have lovely grounds and feel relaxing. Go with an open mind and a few words of French and you'll be fine!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

On entering the grounds of this hotel I was amazed at how beautiful it was and reception was very nice with comfy seats to the side. As I had just arrived I was in need of the loo so used the facilities in reception. The flush was broken so you had to hold it in place to flush the loo and when I was washing my hands I found the tap was not connected to the base?!
We were then taken to our room along a long corridor and, on entering, first impressions were ok until I went into the bathroom. The bath had a large chip in the enamel and the glass shower panel was glued to the bath so you had to climb into the bath to turn bath taps/shower on so you got soaked with cold water before getting out of the way. Also the hair dryer didn't work and a 4 star hotel should really provide a bar of soap at the very least!
The bed was like sleeping on bricks, very uncomfortable and the noisy corridors at night will keep you awake until quite late.
I can't fault the food; it was fantastic. And the staff in the restaurant were really lovely.
This hotel's grounds were beautiful and the facilities were really nice.The pool area and bar were comfortable and the seating around the grounds were great.
The hotel mainly caters for the French and find the English really hard to understand.
This is a very money-orientated holiday and locals will try to charge you 3 times the worth of any item, so don't pay it.
So to sum up food fantastic, grounds fantastic, restaurant staff helpful but the room a major let-down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Having read the comments and speaking only pigeon French I was a little nervous about our short stay here, however found the staff to be so sweeet and accommodating that it really wasn't a problem at all. Yes, we couldn't fully get involved in the entertainment, but Butlins for the French is not my cup of tea at all so nothing lost! In fact one of the entetainment staff joined us for dinner one night to make us feel more at welcome and practice his already excellent English.

The room are OK - the bathrooms very tired and not somewhere you want to spend much time being honest. An urgent refurbishment would be needed in my opinion.

Good location and the food was excellent for the standard with good choice. The bar also made excellent coffee and mint tea (better than the machines in the restaurant).

I would rate this hotel as a 3 star UK standard due to the rooms.

Room Tip: Away from the main hotel area as noise from the guests travels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have just come back from a week here and though most of the staff were very friendly and the food was ok it was not a great experience. Reception staff were never particularly friendly or helpfull when we had problems
Our main complaint is with the animation team, on the first day when they realised we were English they ignored us then in the evening we were enjoying a drink in the lounge and watching TV a member of the animation team switched off the tv and told us to move as they were having a French quiz we politely declined. On complaining to the manager he said the team are bought in by the tour company and not his responsibility.
Things did improve slightly but if you want a holiday with good entertainment and conversation with guests and staff DONT GO HERE
The one saving grace was Assil who gave out the towels he was always friendly/polite and willing to help

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arromanches-les-Bains, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Though it's a big hotel, the quality is good and the people are very friendly. A large variety of food every day which wasn't bad at all. If you're going to Marrakesh, this is one of the hotels to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Issil

Address: Circuit De La Palmeraie, Marrakech 1572 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #564 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Decameron Issil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Issil Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Issil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.