We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amskal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Amskal to your Saves list
Riad Amskal
Sidi mbarek | n° 129 sidi mimoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #788 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Perpignan, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fantastic staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

stayed at this riad for4 days, pay attention to the photos as the rooms are smaller than you see in the photos, it is located in the old part of marakesh which to us was perfect very real and everyone very friendly, dont be worried about the small lanes as after first trip out easy to find your way back, the riad is immaculatly clean thanks to the hard work of Nadia and Mohammed I cannot praise these two enough, nothing is too much trouble for them, they are a pleasure to know, working so hard to give you all the information, help they can. Please realise these two work for wages not like european wages so tip them well as they rely on this, and honestly deserve all you give them, if you were in a hotel in europe you would tip so do the same here, I was disgusted to hear that tourists when we were there] left without paying their bill SHAME ON YOU! These guys have to pay that out of there meagre salary so please respect them. The only down side was small things like broken toilet seat which is the responsibility of the owner to fix not the staff who as I say are absolutly fantastic, THANK YOU SO MUCH Mohammed and Nadia for your kindness I feel honoured to have met you

Room Tip: in winter the suite on the top floor best as opens up onto roof terrace, but in summer take a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    14
    2
    10
See reviews for
8
31
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

So, it was a balmy February evening... we landed in Marrakech.
We got a taxi to the entrance of the Medina, although its not really the main medina...
The riad was relatively easy to locate, however, in the dark, it was a bit creepy, walking through the twisting alleyways..

Our room was a bit dingy, but clean enough... The shared bathroom was small, and quite unlike what we had seen in the photos... Not to be too critical though...

The staff was friendly and attentive, breakfast was nice... mmmm fresh orange juice. and a nice crepe and sundry..

Marks out of ten... seven.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooglede, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Riad is very clean, situated in the Medina and thus close to some of the more important interesting places in Marrakech. Breakfast was enjoyed on top of the Riad with a marvellous view over the outskirts of the city. Mohamed was exceedingly helpful and very kind. Diner (not included in the price, of course, but fairly cheap) was typical Moroccan, very tasty and wealthy.
One minor issue was that, at least our room - located on the first floor - was very small, and devoid of any window.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I certainly would not recommend this riad. The cleanliness of the room was very poor-especially the smell of rotten eggs in the room/bathroom, which was very strong. As we were leaving very early the next morning we were assured we would have breakfast, however all we received was a glass of orange juice. The final negative point is that for us, two female travelers, we were extremely uncomfortable walking in the area. The riad is very difficult to find, down some pretty creepy alleys. The only upside was that the attendant that was present during the night was very nice, bringing our bags to the taxi in the early morning, as we were uncomfortable walking in the area on our own. Pay the extra few euro and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This Riad had awful customer service: almost nobody spoke English, or Spanish like advertised. A note about security is that it is down a very creepy alley that had me worrying about my security every time I walked down it, and that no cars can get to the Riad. Breakfast was lacking, crepe, English muffin, cup of tea and cup of orange juice. We rented out their "nicest" room, with a bathroom and A/C, and we paid for it, which wouldn't have been so bad if the experience was what they said it would be. The room had A/C but it leaked on the bed all night and now my sister is sick because of it. Also one of the lights in the room exploded above her head and fell out of the fixture. The room consistently smelled of rotting eggs and the door wouldn't really close all the way.
A plus is that the room had a/c, the girl who cooked the food was very nice.
I wouldn't have made so much of a fuss if they had given me some kind of a break on the 122 euros that we were charged for 4 nights we stayed, but alas, they did not and would not even consider it. So we were forced to pay the full amount and left very angry and unhappy.
Please for the sake of your happiness during your stay in Marrakesh, stay away! Find a different Riad, I know there are better ones out there.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room from this Riad, that will automatically improve your choice =]
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We were given a room downstairs without windows. The doors were going directly to reception and breakfast place. There was no toilet or bathroom in the room at all, you had to use the public one.. Not what it said on the website at all.
Totally dissapointed, that we still had to pay for the half of the stay even though we found another hotel and only spent one night in this Riad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here on our last night in Morocco, having stayed for one night elsewhere in Marrakech and then a week in Essaouira. We arrived back in Marrakech in a rain storm, and this riad is down a road that a taxi can't get down! Luckily a local guy helped us find the place. A very short walk to the central square in Marrakech, and easy to get to the bus that took us to the airport the next day. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Amskal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amskal

Address: Sidi mbarek | n° 129 sidi mimoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #788 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Amskal is a small charming riad nestled against the walls of the Mamounia gardens. This is a genuine small Moroccan House with all the modern comfort. The district is the new Royal Palace and large riads belonging to celebrity. From its terrace view is completely unobstructed on one of the most green places of the Medina.Samira, the owner retains a warm to the marrakchia and is small care for its clients. Place stove you will discover all the flavours of its tajines and other pastillas or Moroccan salads which it has been the secret (on order). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Amskal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amskal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.