We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amskal

Save Saved
You added Riad Amskal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Amskal
Sidi mbarek | n° 129 sidi mimoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #716 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This Riad had awful customer service: almost nobody spoke English, or Spanish like advertised. A note about security is that it is down a very creepy alley that had me worrying about my security every time I walked down it, and that no cars can get to the Riad. Breakfast was lacking, crepe, English muffin, cup of tea and cup of orange juice. We rented out their "nicest" room, with a bathroom and A/C, and we paid for it, which wouldn't have been so bad if the experience was what they said it would be. The room had A/C but it leaked on the bed all night and now my sister is sick because of it. Also one of the lights in the room exploded above her head and fell out of the fixture. The room consistently smelled of rotting eggs and the door wouldn't really close all the way.
A plus is that the room had a/c, the girl who cooked the food was very nice.
I wouldn't have made so much of a fuss if they had given me some kind of a break on the 122 euros that we were charged for 4 nights we stayed, but alas, they did not and would not even consider it. So we were forced to pay the full amount and left very angry and unhappy.
Please for the sake of your happiness during your stay in Marrakesh, stay away! Find a different Riad, I know there are better ones out there.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room from this Riad, that will automatically improve your choice =]
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    10
    2
    7
See reviews for
6
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We were given a room downstairs without windows. The doors were going directly to reception and breakfast place. There was no toilet or bathroom in the room at all, you had to use the public one.. Not what it said on the website at all.
Totally dissapointed, that we still had to pay for the half of the stay even though we found another hotel and only spent one night in this Riad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here on our last night in Morocco, having stayed for one night elsewhere in Marrakech and then a week in Essaouira. We arrived back in Marrakech in a rain storm, and this riad is down a road that a taxi can't get down! Luckily a local guy helped us find the place. A very short walk to the central square in Marrakech, and easy to get to the bus that took us to the airport the next day. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Pros:
- free wifi
- reasonably clean
- top room with own terrace
- guarded parking about 400 m from the riad

Cons:
- cold - bottom room with separate bathroom (not heated) accessible through very cold lobby
- poor breakfast (bread, jam, tea and watered coffee)
- not accessible by car
- most of the rooms without windows

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Amskal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amskal

Address: Sidi mbarek | n° 129 sidi mimoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #716 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Amskal is a small charming riad nestled against the walls of the Mamounia gardens. This is a genuine small Moroccan House with all the modern comfort. The district is the new Royal Palace and large riads belonging to celebrity. From its terrace view is completely unobstructed on one of the most green places of the Medina.Samira, the owner retains a warm to the marrakchia and is small care for its clients. Place stove you will discover all the flavours of its tajines and other pastillas or Moroccan salads which it has been the secret (on order). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Amskal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amskal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.