We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Linda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Linda to your Saves list
Riad Linda
93 Derb Jamaa | Derb Jamma, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“In the heart of the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Riad Linda's location of 5-10 minutes walk from La Grande Place means that you are swept into the hustle and bustle of day to day Marrakech on arrival- at first overwhelming but within 24 hours the noises, smells and sights become very familiar. The riad is accessed down narrow passage ways - expect to be approached by local children, to step aside for mopeds, to hear cockerels crowing and to dodge round skulking feral cats. Do not be deceived by first impressions of walking down these alleyways to the riad - it is very safe. On arrival at the riad all is calm, clean and welcoming after the initial melee. The riad is simple but fresh and the furnishings and fittings have been chosen with care and empathy. We had 3 rooms and the beds in all rooms were very comfortable . The bathrooms are mainly simple , roomy 'wet rooms'. We had organised an evening meal at the riad for our arrival and it was a perfect introduction to Moroccan cuisine - salad, tagines, bread and delicious local oranges to follow.The riad staff are very hospitable , gentle people and wanted us to have a very positive experience of Marrakech and Morocco. Rachid the manager speaks English perfectly but he is not always at the riad. The housekeeper and young lad, who is there every evening as well as mostly through the day, do not speak English or French but this did not cause any difficulties as we found ways to "talk"to each other. Light sleepers beware - take a good set of earplugs or put the air conditioning on as fully as possible to generate a constant white noise to block out the early morning noises of - the call to prayer ( there is a mosque in the nearby alleyway); wailing cats, barking dogs , crowing cockerels. We enjoyed our stay at Riad Linda - great location , quickly became our home for the stay and our thanks to the staff for making our stay easy and hassle free.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    33
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
67
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Traditional Moroccan house (‘riad) with rooms arranged around an interior courtyard and a rooftop terrace. Restored and operated by a British couple, it combines local craftsmanship and decorative features with modern comfort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We had a lovely time at Riad Linda. Its a nice small Riad in the Medina - not far from everything in Marrakech. We have done the whole sightseeing by walk - it was a easy to find everything. On the roof of the Riad we had some nice relaxing hours - enjoying brakfast, sunshine and blue sky.
Thanks to Linda and her staff that we could enjoy our time in Marrakech again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

I travelled with my daughter (in her twenties) for a special break in Marrakech, having never been there before. I was completely unprepared for the shear madness of the place, but from the moment we were met by the driver at the airport right until the moment we were ushered into a taxi 3 days later, we were made to feel truly welcome and like friends by the Riad staff. The driver took us as far as he could towards the Riad on arrival, then picked up Waheed who walked us with our cases the rest of the way - past the madness of the souks and down the narrow Derb (watching out for donkey carts and motorbikes!). On arrival, Rachid welcomed us and Fadela had prepared a wonderful chicken tagine. We had the pink double room, which although basic, was very comfortable with an excellent shower. The next morning, I met Linda (the Scottish owner - who was there for a few days herself), who gave me some tips which proved very useful. The Riad terrace is a very pleasant place to sit, and we got great weather in which to enjoy it. The building has been recently renovated and Linda is a proud owner indeed. As our holiday progressed, we became more and more glad of our little retreat only a few minutes from the square. It meant that we could take the sensory overload of this city in bite-size pieces, punctuated by small rests back at the Riad. The souk experience is not to be missed, the haggling (even for a taxi ride) becomes quite enjoyable after a while, and the calls to prayer become quite soporific after the first crazy one during the night (at 5am every day!!). We learned to dodge the hordes, the animals, the bikes and cars, and the carts with dexterity. But beware of some of the people in the square who will demand money for any type of interaction and will herd you into their restaurant/souk/henna sitting at every opportunity - advice is just not to get into a conversation unless you want to buy something. We loved the little kids hanging outside the riad next door and the smells which waft past while relaxing on the terrace, and Fadela's plentiful breakfasts were just fabulous. And on our last day, a taxi was organised to take us to our next hotel (which believe me, would not have been easy to do on our own), and the guys gave my daughter flowers as it was her birthday. A truly memorable holiday - thank you, Linda, for sharing your home.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Don't be put off by the approach to the Riad Linda, inside, all is very tranquil.The rooms are comfortable, the proximity to "the square" is great and the staff were all really helpful. Rachid was great in organising our room for us, and gave us lots of very useful local info. Fadila cooked a lovely meal for our first evening and breakfast was very enjoyable. I am not certain how Wouddi 's name is spelt, but he was always there to help and was brilliant making our breakfast on our last morning at 6.30am for us to catch the early Ryanair flight to Luton.
We had an interesting and very enjoyable trip Marrakech and the Riad Linda gave us a great retreat from the intensity of the Madina.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

concierge and housekeeper/cook spoke no english or french but were as helpfull as they could be.rooms very comfortable and all ensuite with hot water.roof terrace great for sitting about with a drink. walk from the square a bit daunting with thousands of people,motorbikes,donkey carts,beggars,horse drawn carriages and "guides".
riad manager spoke english and arranged trips.we were 7 people and our cost was the same as one room in the meridien hotel which was 20 minutes away from the action.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We (two adults and two teenagers) had a great stay in Marrakech staying at the Riad Linda. The Riad is perfectly situated, just five minute’s walk away from the Djemaa el fna, and a real oasis from the hustle, bustle and heat. Riad Linda was tastefully decorated; comfortable beds, very clean and we were prepared for the day with a filling breakfast on the roof terrace. Wahid (the concierge) and Fasilla (the maid and cook) didn’t speak any English and little French but we were able to get along just fine with smiles and gesticulations.
Marrakech has changed both in terms of its size and attitude since we last visited nearly 20 years ago, we were not hassled by people wanting to be our guide and able to walk around the souks at will. We always felt safe and embraced by the city.
We really enjoyed our stay and would love to go back in the future and explore more of Morocco.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Linda

Address: 93 Derb Jamaa | Derb Jamma, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As featured in Time Out Marrakech 2014. Beautiful centrally located riad with great service & friendly English & French speaking staff.Our 6 bedroom riad is a lovingly restored traditional house peacefully situated in a very welcoming area in the heart of the medina a few minutes walk from Place Djemma el Fna and the souks. We offer warm welcome & an authentic Marrakech experience. All our double / twin bedded / family rooms have air conditioning / heating and are en-suite. Our spacious first floor suite also has its own Moroccan shower room. All towels and linen are supplied. All rates are inclusive of breakfast. Our large, sunny roof terrace has tables for breakfast or dining under the stars, also sun loungers and our lovely Bedouin tent for relaxation. We offer our guests a range of services such as dinner in the riad, booking restaurants, trips to the Atlas Mountains, hammam and shopping trips and cookery lessons. There is free wi - fi available throughout the riad. Airport transfers are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Linda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Linda Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Linda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.