We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace in a chaotic city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Linda

Save Saved
You added Riad Linda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Linda
93 Derb Jamaa | Derb Jamma, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A haven of peace in a chaotic city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

From my first contact with Linda to enquire about staying in the riad, to our pick-up at the end of the holiday, I cannot recommend this riad enough. We stayed as a group of 8 people and booked the entire riad for our exclusive use. I could go into an enormously long review but it may be easier to have it in list form:

- The riad is in a brilliant location very near to Jemaa el Fna but on a side street so it is wonderfully peaceful. I would definitely book the airport transfer, we would not have found it on our own. When you first arrive it feels like it's in the middle of a maze but you get used to the streets very quickly and by the end of the trip we could make our way back with ease.

- All the rooms look exactly as they do on the website and have sizeable bathrooms. The whole building is wonderfully clean and rooms are a good size - the Douiria suite is enormous! Everyone commented on how comfortable the beds were. One thing to note is that you can be awoken by the morning call to prayer from the nearby mosques, but that only really adds to the atmosphere of being in Marrakech. Some of our group slept right through it!

- There is nothing quite as nice as being able to sit with a glass of wine either in the salon area downstairs or on the roof terrace. It is a great space to relax after the chaos of the main square.

- The riad staff - Rachid, Wadeer, and Fadilla - were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. Fadilla made a lovely breakfast every day, Rachid very kindly walked us to a restaurant (having booked our table) on the first night, and Wadeer stayed up very late to let us back in when we'd been out for the night! There is always someone in, and you can book anything through the staff - we arranged to go to the Atlas mountains through Rachid, who suggested a trip suited to our needs. Linda herself is lovely, providing masses of information before our arrival.

- I'd recommend having dinner in the riad at least once during your stay - Fadilla makes an amazing lemon chicken tagine! We ate on the roof on a beautiful summer's evening, with the table lit by candles within lanterns, and it was just perfect.

Overall we had a great stay and would definitely recommend this riad.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and nicely decorated - the Douiria suite is the largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodedge_11, Owner at Riad Linda, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & I will share your very kind comments with our lovely, hard working team. Hope you will all come & stay with us again soon.

Linda Lyons
Owner
Riad Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    32
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
63
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I am a little late leaving this review but anyway, we had 3 fantastic nights at Riad Linda at the end of May (myself and 3 girlfriends) and can highly recommend staying here if, like us you wish to be central to everything and have a real Moroccan experience. The Riad is great for a group as you can also book the whole Riad if enough of you.
It was the first time visiting for all of us and we were made to feel very welcome by Rachid, Wadeer and Fatila (not sure if names are spelt correctly...). All our rooms were great, breakfast was lovely each morning on the sun terrace and it was wonderful lounging on the sofas with a nightcap after a busy evening out and about. (We did get some drinks from the supermarket and were able to store in the fridge which was fab)
Linda provided some really useful information prior to travelling and was more than willing to answer any questions. I would definitely book the airport pick up as there is no way on earth we would have found it on our own!!
We did have the best of both worlds while we were there as we did get away from the chaos of the square during the day by visiting the amazing La Mamounia hotel to laze by the pool. I think it cost around £120 each for a day pass which included the most amazing lunch and afternoon tea. It is definitely worth splashing out if you can.
We also spent a day at Beldi country club which was also a beautiful place, and day passes can be bought with or without lunch. It was about 20 mins outside of the centre but was also well worth it and much cheaper.
We all loved Marrakesh and would happily stay at Riad Linda if we return.
Thanks everyone for your hospitality, look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Room Tip: A room upstairs is probably quieter but we had rooms on both floors and were all happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodedge_11, Owner at Riad Linda, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Linda Lyons
Owner
Riad Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My trip to Marrakech was at the beginning of June. I went there and surprised my friend who was a guest there. Linda made sure my friend did not know I was coming and her staff, Rasheed, Wadii, & Fahdillia (not sure if I spelled their names correctly) also kept the secret. Wadii collected me off the taxi and off we went. The Riad is located down small alleys but close to the Souks. It is a beautiful brightly colored place. We stayed in the Orange Room which was plenty big enough. The staff made sure we were comfortable and basically let us do our thing. When I left I was concerned for my friend as she uses a wheelchair when she needs to but Wadii whisked her off each day for tours, shopping and meals. Thank you all for taking good care of her! Breakfast was served each day and was delicious! I am so glad that she chose your Riad to stay in!

Room Tip: This isn't a room tip but be careful of the "monkey" guys. They will take your money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodedge_11, Owner at Riad Linda, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We're so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back & visit us all again soon.

Linda Lyons
Owner
Riad Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Thank you to all at Riad Linda who made our trip to Marrakech such a great experience. We stayed in The Douiria which was very spacious and very clean and comfortable.
From making the booking with Linda, who offered such good advice and tips, from arriving to Jemaa el fna to be met with the very helpful Wadeer, meeting Racheed , who assisted with any request we had, and Fatila who cooked a lovely breakfast every morning and who makes a mean lemon chicken! Not really any more we could have asked for.
We would have no hesitation to recommending this delightful, homely Riad!

Room Tip: Would recommend the Douiria - well worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodedge_11, Owner at Riad Linda, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We really appreciate your very kind comments. Hope to see you in Marrakech again very soon.

Linda Lyons
Owner
Riad Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Easy to find - right in the heart of the Medina - staying at the fabulous Riad Linda gives you a great base to explore the city.
It was 48 degrees C when we stayed - the Air Con in our room was brilliant!
Staff were great - very helpful - and provided a lovely breakfast.
A real flavour of Morocco - I've got no hesitation in recommending this little hidden gem to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodedge_11, Owner at Riad Linda, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. It is very much appreciated by everyone at Riad Linda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a lovely, relaxing stay in this beautiful riad. Only a few minutes walk away from the action, but such peace & quiet here. the sun was shining & all the staff made us feel so welcome & were always helpful & polite with a great sense of humour! The rooms were very clean, comfortable & most importantly cool. The air conditioning here works a treat, very important when you visit here during the summer months. we didn't do very much, lots of lounging about & relaxing & enjoying the cool terrace in the evenings. - a wee gem! Thank you all at Riad Linda

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodedge_11, Owner at Riad Linda, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was my first trip to marrakech & I was feeling a bit nervous & did not know what to expect. Rachid, wadii & fadila could not have been kinder or more welcoming. they made me a very refreshing glass of mint tea & i was made to feel very welcome. The riad is in a small derb just a few minutes walk away from the souks & the location is ideal. I could not believe how peaceful it was when I turned into the little derb. It was so lovely to be woken by bird song each morning. I also highly recommend the breakfasts on the lovely terrace each morning. The staff were alwys smiling & always made sure that iIwas happy & comfortable. A great place to stay!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Blue Room on the first floor which was light, airy & cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodedge_11, Owner at Riad Linda, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you will come back & stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Linda

Also Known As:
Riad Linda Hotel
Riad Linda Hotel Marrakech
Address: 93 Derb Jamaa | Derb Jamma, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful centrally located riad with great service & friendly English & French speaking staff.Our 6 bedroom riad is a lovingly restored traditional house peacefully situated in a very welcoming area in the heart of the medina a few minutes walk from Place Djemma el Fna and the souks.We offer warm welcome & an authentic Marrakech experience. All our double / twin bedded / family rooms have air conditioning / heating and are en-suite. Our spacious first floor suite also has its own Moroccan shower room. All towels and linen are supplied. All rates are inclusive of breakfast. Our large, sunny roof terrace has tables for breakfast or dining under the stars, also sun loungers and our lovely Bedouin tent for relaxation. We offer our guests a range of services such as dinner in the riad, booking restaurants, trips to the Atlas Mountains, hammam and shopping trips and cookery lessons. There is free wi - fi available throughout the riad. Airport transfers are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Riad Linda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Linda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.