We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most charming and chique oasis in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Adore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Adore
97 Derb Tizougarine | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most charming and chique oasis in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

I traveled with my Husband and a Group of friends throughout Morocco covering from Fès to the desert, after all the adventure the Riad Adore was an oasis of peace and comfort for all of us. The decor is chique and minimalist, while conserving the Moroccan charm. We had dinner at the rooftop overlooking the Medina with the fireplace lit, it was an exquisite experience! The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and ultra clean. The staff is super friendly and helpful, they bent over backwards to assist us in any way. Finally the location couldn't be better. It is at the heart of the Medina and we could easily walk everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
122
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cdeseda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

I have traveled quite a bit, and have stayed in very nice hotels, so I was used to a certain degree of unpretentious luxury I feared I wouldn't find in Marrakesh. Thankfully, we find the Riad Adore. The Riad describes itself as an "oasis" and this description couldn't be more fitting. Located in the medina, the Riad is a short (less than 1 minute) walk to one of the souk areas. However, once you enter the beautiful wooden doors you are transported elsewhere. From the clean scent of jasmine upon entering, to the friendly greeting by Mohammed and Amaal (two of the Riad's employees), to the details when you're in the bedroom, this Riad was wonderful. The food was also delicious! I highly recommend setting aside one night to have dinner in the Riad's terrace. The pictures also don't do it justice - it is so much more beautiful than you imagine! The owners have done an impeccable job of creating such a magical place. We liked it so much we will be staying there once again on our next trip to Morocco.

I also wanted to add that it is luxurious, yet simple. Nothing ostentatious or pretentious. I really enjoyed that. If you are looking for a place to stay, look no further.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We (mother and daughter) recently stayed (sans husbands) for three nights at the newly opened Riad Adore and it was quite simply brilliant! Don't be put off when you first get out of the taxi and see fairly dark alleyways ahead - we soon realised just what a good part of the Medina this was, with street lighting, a constant police booth not far away and an easy walk to the souks and the square. Be ready to gasp as the door in the blank wall is opened and you step from the small alleyway into a beautiful, stylish and welcoming home/hotel.
Stuart, the owner, and his brilliant team, including Amal and Mohammed, were always (discreetly) around to advise, book trips and generally take any potential hiccups out of our short trip. I have been to some friendly hotels but have never experienced such genuine concern and keenness to help as we experienced at Riad Adore. We had read that a frequent complaint about Riads in the Medina is noise - we are light sleepers but were never bothered by any noise at all. To be able to return to such peace and tranquility and a dip in the heated spa after a day in the souks - or on a camel! - was indeed a luxury. There is an amazing book and dvd collection although we never found time to use it apart from some guides on the city. Daughter was pleased to be able to continue some essential work with the wi-fi laptop provided. Our room was beautiful with en suite shower and bath tub all in local tadelakt stone. Lovely fine cotton sheets and perfect weight duvets.
Breakfast was delicious - freshly made pancakes, croissants, sometimes omelettes, yoghurt, fresh coffee and pressed orange juice and any number of jams - all served on the beautiful roof terrace.
Booking was simple - email to Christian. Well worth getting the taxi - so nice to know the price is sorted and the driver knows where to go rather than negotiating a price when you are still trying to sort out the currency.. We had an excellent meal at the Riad on the first night which saved us venturing out for the first time in the dark. Amal booked restaurants, a trip to the Atlas Mountains, a few hours camel riding and the glorious session at the Bains De Marrakech which meant we had more time to wander round the museums and souks.
We thoroughly recommend this hotel - perfect for any age and any occasion.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We planned to visit Marrakech and found this riad by chance on the internet. Our choice to stay at Riad Adore was strongly influenced by the glowing reviews read here on Trip Advisor. We stayed at this newly opened riad for four nights in late February and had an amazing experience. The reviews here strongly reflect our own experience, everything was perfect. The rooms were immaculate,comfortable and very stylish. The staff were serene and very attentive (especially the night manager Mohammed), and the owners couldn't be more helpful by advising us on the best restaurants in town and even booking tables for us every night. If you are planning to visit Marrakech, Riad Adore is the only place. It should definately feature in the "Hip Hotels" books.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from an idyllic four night stay at the riad adore, a pretty new riad right in the centre of town. It was an absolutely amazing trip, and we would not hesitate to recommend the riad to anyone looking for a little luxury, peace and comfort in the madness of the Marrakech medina.

From the first, everything was painless and easy. We booked through Cristian, on email. He explained everything clearly and we were able to arrange a taxi from the airport (which was waiting for us right on time) and an evening meal at the riad, as we arrived after dark and, having not been to Marrakech before, weren't keen on having to figure out directions as well as somewhere to eat straight off the plane.

We were met at the riad by Mohammed, who very kindly explained a little bit about the city, a few things that we really needed to see, and then gave us a quick tour of the building. The riad is tucked away in the side streets of the medina, and as a guide told us the next day, the anonymous blank walls of Marrakech really can hide wonders. It is very sympathetically restored, very clean and very beautiful. Everything is calming, soothing and peaceful. In the evening the lamps provided romantic lighting, the fountain was on and the riad was warm but not hot.

We stayed in the Bahia Suite, which was very spacious (an enormous bed!) with room for lounging during the day, and a beautiful and very well designed en suite. There was an ipod docking station, tv (with uk tv channels) and dvd player, plus a very well stocked library of dvds, books and guidebooks just outside for times when you just fancied staying in (plus a notepad and wi-fi for checking emails, if you can't bear to tear yourself away from the real world).

The dinner we had when we arrived was absolutely delicious - three courses of excellent morroccan food (moroccan vegetable soup, chicken tagine and fruit tarts), which was accompanied by moroccan wine. There is also an honesty bar so you can have a few drinks whenever you fancy. Breakfasts were equally good - served on the roof terrace, with fresh fruit, excellent coffee, and various other interesting things including pancakes one morning, and donut-like treats another. You can also get a lunchtime snack, though my husband and I were out each lunchtime so didn't take advantage of that.

The riad is excellently located for the medina, the souks and the place jemma al'fna. Although getting lost is part and parcel of the experience, because the riad is just off one of the main streets, once you've find your way there you know you're nearly home. It is quite lovely to go through the hustle and bustle of the medina, wandering through the shops and then return to the riad for perfect peace, and a little bit of a relax in the sun. There is a plunge pool which can be used, although we preferred to just laze on the roof terrace, and also a small hammam.

The staff at the riad were all absolutely lovely and very helpful. The owners also were very friendly and helpful, and were kind enough to organise a guide for us for our first morning in Marrakech, which was really great. Although exploring is good, I don't think we would have found everything the guide showed us without him, and he was a source of excellent local knowledge.

In terms of tips for Marrakech, we would recommend keeping an eye on opening times - some of the sites close at about 11.30 until 2.30, and often, after a long breakfast and a little shopping en route, you don't get to them until about that time. The food in the Place Jemma Al'Fna is good, but don't expect any bargains! Going to the KosyBar for sundowners and watching the storks is great, and we would also recommend the tour bus which you can pick up outside the Koutoubia Mosque for getting a view of the new town if you don't have long enough to explore it properly.

We will certainly be back in Marrakech again, and we will definitely be staying in the Riad Adore. The only thing is, no doubt it won't be long before this place is number one in the tripadvisor chart, and by then we might need to book a few months in advance!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

Stayed in this beautiful newly opened Riad in Marrakech. A totally relaxing experience in the heart of the Medina. Thank you to all the staff who looked after us so well and especially for the most glorious breakfast on the roof terrace.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Stayed for a night in a Suite at Riad Adore in December and was blown away at how stylish and comfrotable the place was. I have seen a lot of riads in Marrakech but I would definitely stay here again, it is a great size and has a nice roof terrace. Loved all the personal touches like restaurant reccommendations and information in the rooms, great selection of dvds and books to borrow, i-pod docks etc. The English owners are lovely and have great taste. It is in a very central and safe location. Delicious breakfast and lovely staff.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Adore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Adore

Address: 97 Derb Tizougarine | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Adore is a cool, chic, contemporary hotel in the very best area of the Medina, close to the souks, the monuments and the main square. Newly restored by the celebrated architect Christophe Simeon, Riad Adore offers guests discreet luxury and first class service in the very heart of Marrakech. This sparkling new riad is light, bright, calm and peaceful. The modern Moroccan inspired decor evokes all the charm of traditional riad style while providing all the creature comforts desired by the discerning traveller.The charming and attentive staff cater for guests every need and English speaking managers ensure that a stay at Riad Adore surpasses every expectation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Adore Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Adore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Adore to your Saves list