We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Farah

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Farah
9, Derb Laadam | Rue Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #412 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Holland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spend 4 nights in the Riad with 14 ladies. We had the Riad totally private which was very convenient. We arrived in the evening. Bouchra did welcome us and showed us around. To be honest the first impression was doubtfull, it was dark and it smelled a bit humid. but after a day it was ok (maybe we did get used to it). The rooms are simple but ok. some rooms are better than others. The beds are small and hard. The bedsheets are simple. I think it is easy to improve on this point with some nice blankets. And better mattresses.
We had some lunches and diners in the Riad which was all very tastefull. The 2 cooking women are very friendly.
On the roof there is a roof terras. Unfortunately we had some rain and therefor the mattresses were all wet. The covered part of the terras was ok, but a part was under cathair from cats passing by. They also like this riad to stay in :-)
In short, we had a very nice time. We felt at home. Bouchra did arrange all we wanted, like a guide for the Medina. She is a very kind and helpful person!
If you go with a group of people I should certainly recomment this Riad. It is only 5 minutes walk to the square and 2 minutes to the Soukh. Very easy!

Room Tip: The white room is the best. And if this one is occupied, take the red room. Both 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were a group of 17 people in our 30s travelling to Marrakech for 5 days to discover the city and to celebrate a birthday. The offer for our stay was based on the accommodation incl. breakfast + airport transfers + touristic taxes + birthday dinner including local musicians.
I found the Riad on the Internet in December, and I have been in touch with the landlord, Mr Coulaud, several times prior to the trip. Mr Coulaud is a lovely man, he has done his best to help and to reply to all my questions in the best manner – he even took the time to call me on my UK mobile to clarify the points I was not sure about, I really appreciated the gesture!
According to the plans, when we arrived at the airport, the transport was waiting for us. Once we arrived at the Medina, a lady showed us the way to the Riad which is only a few minutes away from Jemaa el Fna. At the Riad, Bouchra warmly welcomed us and she showed us the premises. Then, Lamiina offered us some lovely pastries and mint tea. The Riad itself is beautiful, really quiet and peaceful, it is hard to believe you are in the city centre! All the en-suite bedrooms are spacious, nicely decorated, and they are all equipped with air-conditioned. There is a little (!) swimming pool in the inside courtyard and there is also a fantastic roof terrace – Personally, I was able to go there in the evenings only, it was far too hot during the day! We had dinner twice at the Riad (first evening + birthday dinner) and we all loved it. I advise you strongly to eat at the Riad at least once, Lamiina is a fantastic chef. Bouchra and Lamiina are super nice and really helpful – do not forget to tip them, they are really worth it! My friends and I had booked some excursions/hammam and Bouchra kindly helped us to get in touch the agencies and she even agreed on the meeting points etc. Some of my friends wanted to buy the same tableware we had for dinner, and Lamiina went to the market for them and bought everything – how nice is that?!
We all had a great time, our stay at the Riad will remain unforgettable, and we would be happy to go back there in the near future! Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: I think the room close to the roof terrace are quite hot because of the location. If you tend to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Riad Farah for two nights and would recommend it highly. Our emails prior to arriving were always promptly and personably answered by Karim. We were met in Dejema el Fna by lovely Bouchra who was very friendly and welcoming. The Riad is in an ideal location very close to the Dejma el Fna. When we arrived she gave us the tour of the Riad and then served us beautiful mint tea and pastries. The Riad is just beautiful, each room is decorated differently and all are really beautiful. It was a lovely quiet relaxing haven away from the mayhem of Marakesh. We stayed in the Berber bedroom. It was lovely, but the bed was a bit short, and I think it had a plastic mattress protector. I see on their website that it is the room favored by kids! Maybe it is supposed to be for kids. We had our choice of room, but we really liked that one. Our two nights were not consecutive, as we did a desert trip in-between, but Bouchra let us leave our bags there, which was just fantastic. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This Riad was just excellent! It was convienently located in the Medina and a few steps from the famous jemaa el fena place. Spacious, clean, with a pool inside and a great terrace !! They even offer Moroccan cuisine for breakfast and dinner !!This Riad is a haven of peace and tranquility in the middle of the City !! Welcome from the staff was warm and they really care about your stay. They were of great advices and tips for a Fabulous and Geniune Experience !!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My wife and I and 6 brothers and sisters stayed for five days at Riad Farah in early October, 2011. We had the whole place to ourselves and it was marvelous! The house is very conveniently located approximately 2 blocks from the main square in the medina and all the action. We were arriving from the Sahara via car and the staff met us outside the Medina gates and escorted us to the house and welcomed us with tea and cookies. The staff was fantastic, very accomodating, and cooked a wonderful breakfast each morning. They also arranged a side trip to Essouria and reservations at nearby restaurants. The rooms are beautiful and very stylish and the courtyard is a great place to sit and relax and unwind. We did everything regarding the reservation online with the owner, Jean-Michel, and he was a pleasure to deal with. We recommend Riad Farah wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed at riad Farah for a long weekend and we had an amazing stay.
There was a warm welcome with Tea and cookies. The whole stay was very well organized by the riad manager and the breakfast and wonderful dinners were provided by the riad chef.
The rooms were nice and clean and the little sitting locations and the roof terras were nice too.
If you look for a nice and quiet spot (an oase) in the middle of Marrakech this is the place to be.
Kr Suus

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Riad Farah is a perfect place to stay on a trip with friends. We stayed there with 14 friends and it was perfect. Staff is very friendly and helpful (and can make delicious dinners!). Breakfasts were very gngood and staying in the Riad would be no problem on the rooftop. Sun, drinks and playing games in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Farah

Address: 9, Derb Laadam | Rue Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #412 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few strides from the Djema El Fna square you will be surprised by the brightness, calm and comfortable feeling of intimacy that liberates the Riad Farah. Completely renovated in the tradition in 2008 this charming Riad has 6 bedrooms, all decorated in different style and all equipped with reversible air conditioning and their private bathroom with toilets. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Farah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Farah to your Saves list