We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riad Al Janoub: Stunning Boutique Riad - Marrakech

Saved Save
You added Riad Al Janoub: Stunning Boutique Riad - Marrakech to your Saves list.
courtyard and entrance
courtyard and entrance
courtyard and entrance
first floor balconies
salon and entrance
salon
roof terrace
Marrakech
|
Guest Room – 
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
travelbug...
Liverpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home lovely Riad with exceptionally helpful staff,relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Thoroughlly enjoyable stay at the Al Janoub, Brahim and Amina made the stay even more enjoyable. Very good value for money.About 30min walk to the Jemma Al Fama square. Not too noisy although down a busy alley way .Amina's food was really good but a bit pricey , you could eat at a good restaurant for the same price.
Owners James and Carolyne Pickering were very helpful as well. They were very flexible and very easy to deal with.Carolyne gave us very helpful tips.
This was our second visit to Marrakech. We stayed at Ansagna resorts Riad Lydines previously which was very pricey. The rooms were bigger at the Al Janoub and the lay out of the Riad was more practical for a group.
Stayed with friends a group of nine. Would certainly like to visit again with my family. Our 21 yr old daughter loved the experience.
Would certainly recommend to anybody.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Riad itself the service and the price
Liked least: There wasa sewage smell from time to time / airport pick up was expensive
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
London
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Dandydees
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Riad, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 6 nights. The decor is wonderful and it's lovely and peaceful whilst being in the midst of the hustle and bustle. All the rooms are beautifully fitted out, full of traditional furnishings. Very comfortable bed, rooms have iPod speakers and everything is of a great quality. Roof terrace is a real sun trap plus the shaded area is perfect for lounging about with a book. 15 mins to the souk, slightly less to the square. Walking distance of good restaurants and 20 mins walk from Majorelle Gardens. Amina is the housekeeper and would heartily recommend asking her to cater for you at least once. Her cooking is divine, the best food we ate in Morocce

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Terrace, lovely housekeeper and decor
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Cheltenham
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
3 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
London
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
London
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
sunnydevo...
Paignton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow, a warm welcome and lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We booked this riad stay via the internet, it really is as lovely as the reviews say it is, booking was simple and payment easy to arrange as the owner allowed you to send via paypal
We arranged a transfer from the airport and to be met with a meal as we were flying in on a later flight, glad we did this, the journey from the airport is exciting, driving in Morrocco is very different to London, Hassan helpfully pointed out the supermarket and cash point nearest the Riad.
Amina the housekeeper is a wonderful cook and her tagine was a welcome meal on our arrival, we started the next day refreshed and having enjoyed a traditional breakfast ready to explore the medina.
The Riad on a map is close to Bab Yacout one of the gates in the city wall, letting you enjoy being surrounded by normal life.
Walking around Marrakech we found a number of unsolicited advisors who would tell us we were going the wrong way (despite not knowing where we were going) we followed advise given to us, politely declining whilst still walking, you may be told that something is closed, again, we generally ignored this information and found that it wasn't the case when we got there.
We found a homing point in the souk that was well signposted by the owner and easy to find which helped us find our way around.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Amina's tagine and breakfast
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$83
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Carolyn Pickering
+447778782787
Speaks English, Arabic
Listed since : Nov 2009
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 59 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing