We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cooking class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Anabel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Anabel to your Saves list
Riad Anabel
8 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 1,126 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I cannot judge the sleeping comfort because I didn't stay in this Riad, however it looked like a great place to stay. Comfortable rooms, quit neighbourhood, etc.
I participated in a cooking class of Habiba, the host of this Riad. During the day she takes you to a local (non-touristic) market, where you buy the ingredients for the meals you want to prepare. Then during the evening Habiba teaches you in fluently English how to make a delicious Moroccan dish. After 2-3 hours you can enjoy you're well deserved meal at the beautiful roof terrace of this hotel. It was a great experience and I can everyone recommend participation in this class.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
93
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful Riad in an excellent location. Well staffed by Habiba and her team. My sister and I were celebrating my birthday and received a lovely welcome and enjoyed one of habiba's cooking lessons which included a trip to the market. She also recommended a great tour guide which really completed our visit to morocco.
The Riad itself is kept to an incredibly high standard... Expect fine dining and fantastic service.

Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: The Rose Room was gorgeous. Brilliant choice for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Habiba is the most gracious hostess and she cares for the Riad Anabel as though it were her own. My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful mini-break in Marrakech. Having an oasis like this in which to relax after the hustle and bustle of a day out in this wonderfuly vibrant city was an absolute blessing. The Riad is spotlessly clean and smells heavenly. All of the rooms are decorated in traditional Morrocan style and all very individual. Habiba and her sister prepared the most exquisitely sumptuous breakfasts and dinners. We enjoyed two romantic candlelit dinners on the roof terrace. Habiba arranged our transport to and from the airport, gave us a mobile phone to use whilst out and about in case we got lost, and spent a great deal of her time advising us on the best monuments and attractions to visit.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first riad we stayed at on our three-week long Morocco vacation, Riad Anabel is a perfectly located (10 minute walk to the main square, Jmaa el Fna and close to both the Palais de Bahia and Badii), friendly and quiet place run by the competent Habiba and her lovely staff. We stayed in two different rooms - the Rose suite and Cannelle - while there. Both were thoughtfully decorated and moderately spacious with small sitting areas in addition to comfortable beds and well-equipped bathrooms (however, no doors on either toilet or shower rooms; curtains only). We slightly preferred Cannelle over Rose because of its configuration (and smell - the Rose suite smelled overwhelmingly like roses to us). Breakfasts were delicious and varied. The one dinner we ate at the riad was very good. Would definitely stay here again if our travels once again brought us to Marrakesh.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Difficult to find, but like an oasis in the middle of Marrakesh. Surrounding ok, interior great. Extremely welcoming and helpful staff, great marroccan breakfast, lovely decorated room. Might be a good idea to have a transport to/from airport organised.

Room Tip: Olive on 1st floor is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We have booked Riad Anabel prior to our arrival in Marrakech. We were stressed from busy working scheduled and overwhelmed by the vibrating city. Habiba, the owner, welcomed us with complimentary mint tea and home-baked biscuits. Her house smells like roses and she serves one of the most delicious breakfasts I ever had, offering all of Marrokko's early morning specialties at the highest quality. The room, especially Suite Olivier, is stunning: silver sinks, mosaic bath tube, wood-carved ceiling. The furniture is so pretty, it could come straight from a museum. What makes this Riad so special though is the people: Habiba is very caring and she organized our whole trip through Marrokko even when we were not her guests anymore. She gave us her personal laptop for check-ins, organized airport transfers and send one of her employees to the Riad we were staying during our last night (Riad Anabel was fully booked) to pick us up and take us to the airport. At 5 AM!! Honestly, if you go to Marrakech and you don't stay in Riad Anabel, you are making a terrible mistake.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Every nice thing you read about this riad is true. Stylish and cosy, good location, very very nice manager and staff. We have been traveling in Morocco for two weeks. This is definitely the best riad we thave stayed.

The riad is very popular so you need to book early.

Enjoy!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Anabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anabel

Address: 8 Derb Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,126 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Anabel is a Beautiful Guest House - B&B in the old and traditional Medina of Marrakech. Habiba will welcome you in a real familial and friendly way. Defintely helpful, she will provide services as cookery classes...etc...served with a fluent English, French and Arabic...Welcome to your home ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Anabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Anabel Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Anabel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.