We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Jena & Spa

Save Saved
You added Palais Jena & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palais Jena & Spa
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Route de l'Ourika Km 8, Tasseltant, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very mixed experience of the hotel. Some of the staff were really friendly (breakfast and lunch) but the evening staff were not very helpful including the ones at reception. The rooms were clean. The breakfasts were nice, no food was wasted in your normal buffet style. I would note that on the dinner menu there is no vegetarian options, so we were offered the lunch menu but at the dinner price (double!). We booked through an external company and I would note that we were told we would get a free treatment each and tea and pastries, however we were offered neither. The hotel also booked us a taxi for the evening and the driver dropped us on the outskirts of where we were going and then asked local boys to take us to the restaurant and they demanded additional money out of us (obviously!). We explained this to the hotel when we returned that evening but they weren't bothered and just kind of shrugged and smiled. Not very comforting after we relied on them to get us a reputable taxi company! On a positive note, it was clean, the pool was nice and the hotel was not overcrowded. We paid to have a treatment each and it was very good. The breakfast staff were very friendly and keen to talk to us. We went on an excursion organised by the hotel, which was really good. It is a good basic hotel but I would be aware of their limited english, menu options, and the location is about 20mins out of town so you will need taxis to go out for dinner/shopping etc

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I had an enjoyable stay at Palais Jena. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bed is comfortable, the bathrooms are nice and big, and it was cool and quiet. The employees are all very nice too, and more than willing to help you with any requests. The resident cat is also very sweet and affectionate.

Breakfast was decent, but like other reviewers have said, it was nothing to look forward to--although there is a nice assortment of breads and pastries. We did eat dinner one night at the hotel, and it was okay, but a bit pricy for what it was. I would suggest ordering to your room from the "snack menu" for a cheaper, but still fulfilling option. They also had a substantial drink menu, but for Marrakech drink prices.

The pool is small, but very welcoming on a hot summer day, and the gardens were also very nice and inviting. The "spa" is reasonably priced and an interesting experience, but it's not what I expected, so I wouldn't suggest booking the hotel solely for the spa. The spa attendant was a very sweet lady, though.

My only critique of our stay, and this really isn't the hotel's fault as they make their location clear, is the disparity in prices for transport to and from the city. With the hotel's transportation, which is provided by two guys not directly affiliated with the hotel, it costs 100 MAD anywhere you go (plus the tip). The drivers are very friendly (and willing to take you on excursions if you so choose), but we quickly learned this transport was overpriced as we decided to try the public taxis twice and paid significantly less: 5-10 MAD a person. We took a private taxi back from Jemaa el Fna for 70 MAD as well, but I believe we still overpaid for that too.

FYI: It took us a while to figure out why the taxis weren't stopping for us, so if you do decide to try and get a public taxi into the city, you have to stand on the side of the street outside of the hotel and flag the taxi down. If they have room, they will stop and they all go straight to the main square with the locals. You may have to wait a little while because they are full later in the morning. Though it may seem awkward to flag down the cab and sit with 6 other people in a 5-person car, it really is worth the price and the experience. They are insane drivers, and you will arrive in no time.

Room Tip: We had a second floor garden room, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We've stayed there from 31/03 to 4/4/2014. The hotel is great - very clean, nice atmosphere, very friendly staff - not all of them can speak English but they will find a way to help you out! One of the lampshades in our bedroom was broken but working with some adjusts, but that was nothing, really. The breakfast was delicious - and they served us extra butter and the delicious bread every day. The meals were delicious and the portions were fairly big. The prices were also ok. The staff woukd always help us to get a cab to go to the medina everyday. Just mind what you order to be delivered to the room. Every request adds 18DHR to your bill - whether you order an extra blanquet or a beer, everything will cost you an extra 18DHR. And there's Mimi, the sweetest cat. She belings to the manager and is always around. We loved her! If one day we go back to Marrakech we will defo stay there again! Thanks everyone for everything! Cristina and Martin Azzopardi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is out of town which has the advantage of being away from the bustle of the Medina. We were lucky to find the services of a very reliable driver Abdul who drove us everywhere we wanted to go throughout our stay including a day trip up into the Ourika Valley and to the Supratours bus station for our pre-booked trip to Essaouira and collecting us at times convenient for us, each time for 100dh - much cheaper than similar taxi fares at home! This meant we got the perfect balance between the frenetic town and the more relaxing days out.

We enjoyed our stay - the hotel facilities and staff were very helpful. Look out for Mimi, the hotel cat who is quite a character.

Breakfast was good, particularly the coffee. We ate at the hotel on a couple of other occasions, once from the restaurant menu and once from the bar menu and these were perfectly good.

Only problem was sleep deprivation - not from the road outside our ground floor room but from a baby crying continuously all night in an adjoining room for three nights. Not the hotels fault but this did seriously disturb our sleep, just bad luck on our part.

We would recommend the hotel and if you can secure the services of Abdul for your stay its definitely a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We visited this hotel as a family of four

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and went out of their way to accommodate us and make our stay pleasurable. The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard and the facilities were good.

You get to use the shuttle bus into Marrakesh once but taxis into the town are cheap and if you want a taxi, there was always someone at the hotel who would flag one down for you.

As far as the distance from the Medina is concerned we were happy to be staying and relaxing away from the busy city centre

We stayed in February of this year and we had a spate of warm weather where we enjoyed relaxing by the pool where we even had a swim.

To sum up if you want to experience a different culture by visiting Marrakesh and are looking for comfortable clean accommodation with good food and friendly welcoming people then this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel to stay. The staff are very helpful .
The rooms are great.
A couple of things that needs to be looked at, a daily shuttle to the medina and vegetarian dishes. But if you said that you are vegetarian, they would do something for you.
I really enjoyed my stay. And would return next time i go to Marrakech.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Me, my boyfriend, mother and her partner stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The room was comfortable and quiet. The heating was needed but this is because it was colder than expected at this time of the year. Not the hotels fault of course. The room was cleaned daily. The food was nice but not big portions. You can order dinner form the bar menu or set 3 course menu that changes daily. The breakfast consisted of eggs, yoghurts, bread, pastries. It made a change to the usual fry up and definitely kept us full till lunch time. It made a nice change to be honest. We found the staff friendly and approachable from the management down. Whilst most people may not find cats to be a problem, there is a hotel cat that you may see in reception or the restaurant. The Hotel location is too far from main places of interest if you wanted to walk. They do have a good reliable taxi service though and this will cost you €15 each time you go or 150Dhs. The free shuttle is only available for 1 retuirn trip leaving the hotel at 11am and returning at 5pm. The fitness and leisure facilities down stairs is an added bonus even though we did not get to use it. We used the wifi in the hotel. It wasn't too bad but did drop off sometimes, especially in the rooms. All in all it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Jena & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Jena & Spa

Address: Route de l'Ourika Km 8, Tasseltant, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Jena & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Jena & Spa, a 4 star hotel to the group Jena Resorts.The hotel contains 24 rooms and 7 suites luxuriously decorated.Facing the Atlas Mountains on the road to the Ourika Valley, only 10 minutes from downtown Marrakesh and 15 minutes from the place Jamaa El Fna and the airport. Its Spa reflects the peacefulness and warmth of the Atlas Mountains, its exceptional location convey the outstanding quality that is a mirror of its design. Heated pool, sauna (eucalyptus Steam bath), Hammam, skin care, stone therapy and bio massages, haircare and beauty… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Palais Jena & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Jena And Spa
Palais Jena Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Jena & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.