We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Jena & Spa

Save Saved
You added Palais Jena & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palais Jena & Spa
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Route de l'Ourika Km 8, Tasseltant, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Swansea, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have just returned from a four-night stay in the Palais Jena, Marrakech. Other reviewers have been critical of the distance of this hotel from the city centre but I loved it. Most hotels require a taxi ride to get to the centre of Marrakech, so being a bit further out is only a little more time consuming and a the cost of taxis is bit more, but this is not much of a problem as a couple of visits to the souk is probably enough and there are not a lot of other things to see in Marrakech. Radwan, who was on the reception desk, but I think was probably the assistant manager, was kind enough to drive us and another couple for an evening visit into town and then collect us again three hours later. This was provided as a free hotel service.
This hotel is at the side of a fairly busy road leading to the Atlas Mountains which you can see, although the dusty atmosphere makes visibility a problem. I don't like cities very much and enjoyed being out in the countryside. I had three fairly long walks from the hotel, enjoying the sights of the local farms and meeting a lot of very friendly local people. There is a village about a kilometre south of the hotel where you can buy most things, although the shops don't open very early in the morning.
The accommodation at Palais Jena is fabulous. The bedroom was large, with a very high ceiling and traditional tiled floor. The bathroom was also large, with plenty of hot water and frequently changed soft towels. The bed was huge, very comfortable, with fantastic cotton sheets and soft pillows. We had a small patio table outside the sliding door which let into the garden that surrounded the swimming pool. The gardens were beautiful and peaceful and the pool was crystal clear. There was a reasonably priced snack bar by the pool, which is where the continental breakfast was served in the morning. This is also a newer classy restaurant which is beautifully decorated and which has a great sound system. The restaurant food was good, not expensive, but I think you would find the menu limited if you were stopping for more than four or five days. I recommend the local Flag beer, which is cheaper than the recognised international brands but of at least as good quality.
All the staff were very friendly and very helpful. The service was excellent, but don't expect anything to happen quickly as the pace of everything in Marrakech is a lot slower than we are used to.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms facing out towards the pool are brilliant, but I would imagine that the quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Several members of my family from the USA and I stayed at the Hotel Jena in September 2013 while we were in Marrakech for a wedding. The rooms were large and comfortable, clean and we had a terrace on the garden. The hotel manager was always very friendly and helpful assisting us in organizing transport and excursions. The breakfast by the pool was very nice and the staff was always polite and welcoming. We were all very pleased with our stay at the Jena and I will definitely return to the hotel on future trips to Marrakech.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms on the ground floor on the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were sent here from another hotel and I'm so glad for the experience. The staff here are so helpful and accommodating. When we arrived, a tea service was delivered within minutes. We were made to feel very welcome--not an intrusion as we felt in the previous hotel. Yes, it is a bit of a drive from the main square; but it's nice to get away from the hustle and bustle. If you don't speak French the spa can be a bit of a challenge, but manageable. The hamam experience was terrific--just know that the massage afterwards is an additional charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights, after initial small problem with the room , the owner took over and we were placed in a beautiful suite. Everything you could want . The breakfast is lacking in choice but what is served up is very well presented. The staff bend over backward to make sure you are happy, Karam the waitress is a real gem, permanently got a smile . The owner is very hands on and also goes out of his way to help your stay go well.
Restaurant prices are good, food very nice . Limited choice for vegetarians though .
The only downside to this hotel is its location, about a 15 minute drive into the city . Taxi drivers will take you cheaply but the return was always a lot dearer. There are buses each hour (number 25) but we were warned of overcrowding and pickpockets .
The hotel is superb just needs picking up and moving a lot nearer the city .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I returned with my family yesterday from a week at the Palais Jena in Marrakech. The staff are very friendly, rooms clean and a good size. The menu was limited but the food was good quality. I would certainly use the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The hotel is very cozy and the accomodation is 4+ stars. The Customer care is very warm and helpful. They have a well staffed SPA, with a comprehensive menu of treatments in offer The .Restaurant is ofering a quite variety of Morrocan and European cuisine. I did enjoy it very much and I would highly recomend it to the Marrakesh visitor.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room next to the Parking lot. Is a quiter spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Great value for money! Loved every minuite of it and wish we could have stayed longer.

Lovely rooms, great breakfast, and the staff were fantastic, really going out of their way to ensure we had a great stay.

However, I would just say that if you do not have a car, pay attention to the location as it is slightly out of town.

I will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palais Jena & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Jena & Spa

Address: Route de l'Ourika Km 8, Tasseltant, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 182 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Jena & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palais Jena & Spa, a 4 star hotel to the group Jena Resorts.The hotel contains 24 rooms and 7 suites luxuriously decorated.Facing the Atlas Mountains on the road to the Ourika Valley, only 10 minutes from downtown Marrakesh and 15 minutes from the place Jamaa El Fna and the airport. Its Spa reflects the peacefulness and warmth of the Atlas Mountains, its exceptional location convey the outstanding quality that is a mirror of its design. Heated pool, sauna (eucalyptus Steam bath), Hammam, skin care, stone therapy and bio massages, haircare and beauty… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Palais Jena & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Jena And Spa
Palais Jena Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Jena & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.