We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad! Highlight of the trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baba Ali

Save Saved
You added Riad Baba Ali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Baba Ali
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Derb Baba Ali | Moukef, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Riad! Highlight of the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and absolutely enjoyed our stay at this Riad. The service is outstanding. Youssef greated us with tea, brought our luggage up, offered to help with planning ( taxis, restaurants, clubs, directions) and was always there to great us in or out. The rooms are not that big but very clean, modern with a some Moroccan authenticity. It is very calm inside, which is so welcomed whenever you come back from walking in the crazy streets. There is a nice pool ( small) which we dipped in twice, and a nice terasse to have breakfast or sunbathe.

Location is nice, about 15-20 minutes from the Jeman el fna by walking. This was totally fine as part of the experience is walking through the streets of Marrakech and getting to know the city.

Whole experience was very enjoyable and we felt like they truly liked having us. Personal and premium service. I even received a beautiful bouquet from the staff on my birthday!!

I would highly recommend this Riad!!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    22
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Riad Baba Ali. The first day, Hassan came to meet us where the taxi dropped us off, otherwise it would have been be hard to find the riad on our own. Once we knew the location, it was easy to navigate the city. It is a beautiful, clean, and relaxing place tastefully decorated. It is exactly what we were looking for. Hassan was welcoming, helpful and accommodating. He really made our stay in Marrakech much more enjoyable. We would definitely recommend this riad.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

went back to morocco for vacation then decided to have a wuick rest in marrakech, so i picked Riad Baba Ali nd was the best decision i've ever made, everything was jst perfec the room SAFI was luxirious nd very comfortable....liked the breakfast as well...can not stop talking abt Riad Baba Ali and the staff....wanted jst to thank hassan handred times coz of his hospitality nd the warm welcoming ....so i can say that i had a blessed stop at marrakech city coz of hassan nd Riad Baba Ali in general THANK U

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My friends and I had a great stay at Riad Baba Ali. The Riad is absolutely beautiful, specially the roof terrace and a little swimming pool, an oasis of calm which is very much needed after walking the streets of Marrakech. Clean and comfortable rooms with very nice bathrooms. We stayed in Zagora room, very pretty. Excellent Moroccan Cuisine. The staff was really helpful, specially Hassan is a great host and provided the best hospitality we could have imagined. He helped us to find our way around, suggested places to eat and ensured we were able to enjoy our stay in Marrakech to the full. You can ask him what ever you need and he will try to help you. We would recommend anyone to stay in this Riad and treat yourself.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Believe me, if You will ever be Hassan's guest in this hotel, you will remember those vacations for rest of your life :) I had a really great time, and after I felt totally rested. Rooms were big, and full accomodated, with everything what can be needed on vacations. Room service - great! Breakfasts - great! Manager - PERFECT! Last year i thought that this year I am going somewhere else, there is a lot of pretty places to see. After one week in Hassan's hotel, I know that I just don't want to go somewhere else, I have started collecting money for Maroko again :)!
See You soon my friend :)!!

Room Tip: Talk to Hassan if You need ANYTHING, he will just fix it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was travelling with my friend and was pleased to be able to book a Twin room, 4 nights B&B. The riad is tucked away in a quiet alley and is a heaven of peace. Its deco is delightful, fresh, very tasteful and charming and all rooms overlooking a pretty courtyard &the pool - just what we were hoping to find in the beautiful city of Marrakesh. Our room was clean and we liked the personal touches such as lovely Moroccan style glass jars with shampoo/shower gel, the nice thick raspberry colour bath towels and the copper bathroom sink and copper towel rails.
The staff was very friendly and so helpful and really made our stay enjoyable. Hassan was always very welcoming and friendly. It was our first time in Morocco and he was a fantastic source of advice, always patient with us, answering all our questions and giving us useful tips.
The location of the riad is in a quiet alley off the main street but i enjoyed hearing in the distance the buzz of the town from the top roof terrace. We also liked the fact that it was a slightly away from the more touristy area. ie. about 10 min walk to 'La Maison de la Photography' and about the same to 'Le Musee de Marrakesh' and 'Koranic school' which are not to be missed. Its about 15 min walk from the main square; Yes we did get lost on our first day (despite Hassan’s map!) and yes the local children knew we were tourists! However, we were 2 girls visiting the city and we never felt unsafe walking back to the riad. I am so glad we stayed in this not-so-touristy part of the old town and got the best flavour of the real old ‘Medina’. It was a different experience to my usual holiday (mostly been camping/self catering/All Inclusive in UK &Europe) but for us it was a very good experience.... and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms including 1 Twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This riad is as beautiful as it looks on the pictures. However, the location has to be the worst in Marrakech. Youngsters/kids hanging outside pestering you for money and even threatens you if you don't give them what they want. Also if you looking for somewhere where you can have a nap during the day, this riad is not for you. My husband & I stayed there for 4 days. We would usually be up, have breakfast and go out whole day and come back late afternoon hoping to have a couple of hours nap before going out in the evening. However, this was impossible as there is one particular staff (female) who talks very loud and it's non-stop! She can go on and on and for hours!!! She is totally inconsiderate to the people staying at the riad. Sometimes it gets even louder- like she is having a heated argument. For this reason and because of the very bad location of the riad, I would not go back.
On a positive note, the 2 other staffs Maroune et Halima were very nice & polite. The bedroom was nice- although there was one afternoon when there was no hot water and had to have a freezing cold shower. The staff didn't know what was wrong and didn't even apologise for the inconvenience.
We stayed in 2 different riads during our stay in Marrakech. I will chose the other one over this riad without any doubt.
Last but not least, be careful with your bill!! Double check it as we got overcharged. We were charged for a taxi transfer which we never used - €15 and the quote for the room were much higher than the quote I was confirmed by Venere.com but we couldn't be bothered to argue and paid.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Baba Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baba Ali

Address: 74 Derb Baba Ali | Moukef, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baba Ali 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from Medersa Ben Youssef and the museum of Marrakech, after to have probably crossed the carrying ones bread, at the bottom of the derb Baba Ali “name celebrates in our imaginary”, you will find the door of your Riad. Strike, then… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Baba Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Baba Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.