We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baba Ali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Baba Ali to your Saves list
Riad Baba Ali
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Derb Baba Ali | Moukef, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Riad Baba Ali. The first day, Hassan came to meet us where the taxi dropped us off, otherwise it would have been be hard to find the riad on our own. Once we knew the location, it was easy to navigate the city. It is a beautiful, clean, and relaxing place tastefully decorated. It is exactly what we were looking for. Hassan was welcoming, helpful and accommodating. He really made our stay in Marrakech much more enjoyable. We would definitely recommend this riad.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    27
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
27
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

went back to morocco for vacation then decided to have a wuick rest in marrakech, so i picked Riad Baba Ali nd was the best decision i've ever made, everything was jst perfec the room SAFI was luxirious nd very comfortable....liked the breakfast as well...can not stop talking abt Riad Baba Ali and the staff....wanted jst to thank hassan handred times coz of his hospitality nd the warm welcoming ....so i can say that i had a blessed stop at marrakech city coz of hassan nd Riad Baba Ali in general THANK U

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My friends and I had a great stay at Riad Baba Ali. The Riad is absolutely beautiful, specially the roof terrace and a little swimming pool, an oasis of calm which is very much needed after walking the streets of Marrakech. Clean and comfortable rooms with very nice bathrooms. We stayed in Zagora room, very pretty. Excellent Moroccan Cuisine. The staff was really helpful, specially Hassan is a great host and provided the best hospitality we could have imagined. He helped us to find our way around, suggested places to eat and ensured we were able to enjoy our stay in Marrakech to the full. You can ask him what ever you need and he will try to help you. We would recommend anyone to stay in this Riad and treat yourself.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Believe me, if You will ever be Hassan's guest in this hotel, you will remember those vacations for rest of your life :) I had a really great time, and after I felt totally rested. Rooms were big, and full accomodated, with everything what can be needed on vacations. Room service - great! Breakfasts - great! Manager - PERFECT! Last year i thought that this year I am going somewhere else, there is a lot of pretty places to see. After one week in Hassan's hotel, I know that I just don't want to go somewhere else, I have started collecting money for Maroko again :)!
See You soon my friend :)!!

Room Tip: Talk to Hassan if You need ANYTHING, he will just fix it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was travelling with my friend and was pleased to be able to book a Twin room, 4 nights B&B. The riad is tucked away in a quiet alley and is a heaven of peace. Its deco is delightful, fresh, very tasteful and charming and all rooms overlooking a pretty courtyard &the pool - just what we were hoping to find in the beautiful city of Marrakesh. Our room was clean and we liked the personal touches such as lovely Moroccan style glass jars with shampoo/shower gel, the nice thick raspberry colour bath towels and the copper bathroom sink and copper towel rails.
The staff was very friendly and so helpful and really made our stay enjoyable. Hassan was always very welcoming and friendly. It was our first time in Morocco and he was a fantastic source of advice, always patient with us, answering all our questions and giving us useful tips.
The location of the riad is in a quiet alley off the main street but i enjoyed hearing in the distance the buzz of the town from the top roof terrace. We also liked the fact that it was a slightly away from the more touristy area. ie. about 10 min walk to 'La Maison de la Photography' and about the same to 'Le Musee de Marrakesh' and 'Koranic school' which are not to be missed. Its about 15 min walk from the main square; Yes we did get lost on our first day (despite Hassan’s map!) and yes the local children knew we were tourists! However, we were 2 girls visiting the city and we never felt unsafe walking back to the riad. I am so glad we stayed in this not-so-touristy part of the old town and got the best flavour of the real old ‘Medina’. It was a different experience to my usual holiday (mostly been camping/self catering/All Inclusive in UK &Europe) but for us it was a very good experience.... and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms including 1 Twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This riad is as beautiful as it looks on the pictures. However, the location has to be the worst in Marrakech. Youngsters/kids hanging outside pestering you for money and even threatens you if you don't give them what they want. Also if you looking for somewhere where you can have a nap during the day, this riad is not for you. My husband & I stayed there for 4 days. We would usually be up, have breakfast and go out whole day and come back late afternoon hoping to have a couple of hours nap before going out in the evening. However, this was impossible as there is one particular staff (female) who talks very loud and it's non-stop! She can go on and on and for hours!!! She is totally inconsiderate to the people staying at the riad. Sometimes it gets even louder- like she is having a heated argument. For this reason and because of the very bad location of the riad, I would not go back.
On a positive note, the 2 other staffs Maroune et Halima were very nice & polite. The bedroom was nice- although there was one afternoon when there was no hot water and had to have a freezing cold shower. The staff didn't know what was wrong and didn't even apologise for the inconvenience.
We stayed in 2 different riads during our stay in Marrakech. I will chose the other one over this riad without any doubt.
Last but not least, be careful with your bill!! Double check it as we got overcharged. We were charged for a taxi transfer which we never used - €15 and the quote for the room were much higher than the quote I was confirmed by Venere.com but we couldn't be bothered to argue and paid.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

First of all to say: if you are travelling through Marocco, how could you possibly expect streets and environment and people's behaviour like in Europe? If you do, then stay in new town, in all-inslusive hotel or just stay home. If you do travel to broaden your horizone, then the best place to stay in Marrakesh is in old town, souk-area, el-moukef, where this Riad is located. The streets around the Riad are dirty and chaotic and it does need some time to get used to children begging for or expecting money for any advise you may or may not have asked for, but if you know how to behave (don't ask them, never give them money, stay calm but with strong voice; if you do get lost, rather ask a shopkeeper) then you will fall in love with the busy street-life! We were travelling as two single Girls but never felt unsafe, if you do behave ok and if you do dress respectfully, like not showing your underwear on the streets and not wearing the shortest skirt you have (like some tourists do). It seems kind of complicated at first to get out and back to the hotel, but with one explanation of very helpful staff-member Marwan, we didn't have to ask anyone a single time and never got lost. It was about 10 minutes walking to Main square.

and if you do arrive at this Riad coming from busy and noisy streets, you will feel like in heaven. It is right away cooler than outside and also very quiet. It was absolutely clean and beautifully decorated and the staff was helpful and very kind. Due to some tours we had to get up early in the morning but Marwan never hesitated to help and support us, prepared breakfast even at 5 in the morning with fresh orange juice and such. The only thing i missed in the room was a bathroom door, as it depends who you are travelling with and you might want some privacy. But other than that the stay was fabulous and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Baba Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baba Ali

Address: 74 Derb Baba Ali | Moukef, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baba Ali 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from Medersa Ben Youssef and the museum of Marrakech, after to have probably crossed the carrying ones bread, at the bottom of the derb Baba Ali “name celebrates in our imaginary”, you will find the door of your Riad. Strike, then… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Baba Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Baba Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.