We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Riad in an authentic part of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baba Ali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Baba Ali to your Saves list
Riad Baba Ali
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Derb Baba Ali | Moukef, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magical Riad in an authentic part of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We were only meant to stay for 2 nights at this Riad and go up to the mountains for 1 night but it was too beautiful to leave! We were in awe when we arrived at the tasteful decor and cool and calm interior. We were greeted by Marwane who looked after us with his big smile all the way through our stay, sitting with us for tea when we first arrived and drawing us a map with all of the best restaurants and sights. We would go on daily outings of about 4 hours then come back to the calm of the riad for some time to relax and a dip in the pool. It was so easy with our airport transfer and Marwane also booked our day trip to the mountains. we had a stunning dinner in the riad as well just my partner and I - heaven! It was so sad to leave and I will reccomend this riad to everyone who goes to Marrakech. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    27
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
27
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We travelled to Morocco in mid Feb this year and we were really unsure of whether to stay in a Riad or a big hotel in the main city area. Having found this riad from trip advisor reviews I must say that it lived up to its expectations and as soon as we arrived the staff (Maroune, Saloua and Mathieu) were very helpful in accommodating us. The weather was beautiful and the food and service in the Riad was just amazing! We all loved Maroune and the cooks and enjoyed all the dinners and breakfast we had in the Riad. For value for money I think this is the best Riad going but I'd say it is more suited to couples as it is a bit small if you are going with a big family. It is in the old city of Medina and will give you a great insight into the heart of Moroccan culture. Also, the photos they've put up are exactly how it'll look and even better if the weather is really good.

The only downsides to the Riad are that it is a bit hidden away and when we travelled there were roadworks going on right outside. It will take a bit of getting used to as you have to travel through a few alleys from the main path to get to the Riad. The biggest downside is the kids around the area who want to help you get to the main square (Jema el Fena) all the time and other places and after showing you they expect a lot of money. The best advice from the Riad was to make sure you don't ask them for any help even if you do get pestered every two mins when walking along. The square and souks isn't too far away- about 15 mins walk from the Riad. Everyone does seem to complain about the area however, it was very quiet when we went and most of the people were friendly. You have to remember that it isn't as luxurious as the main city but to get the best experience of the culture and living in Morocco you should stay in Medina and this would be the best Riad for service and food :) You also get free wifi.

The new city is only 10 mins away in a taxi if you feel like going out for something more modern but definitely try their main dishes and tea.

Room Tip: All the rooms are about the same and great value for money. Cleaned every day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Riad itself is beautiful and incredibly clean. The staff were lovely and served us mint tea upon our arrival. They were always more than willing to answer questions we had and arranged day excursions and our taxi back to the airport. We had dinner there twice, and the food was delicious and copious. Breakfast is crepes and bread. At the end of one of our evenings, we were invited to have some shisha and talked with other guests.

It is difficult to find, as it is in alley way and there is no indication of how to get there. There is not even a sign on the door. It takes a little navigating to find- but once you find it, its easy. Local children helped us find the place. We were traveling as two single woman, and felt safe walking back there at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The cleanness, food and service is superb! Marwan, the receptionist and guy in charge, is the most friendly person on earth. I have read the reviews before going, and it looks like lots of riads are nice, but from my personal experience this was superb!

Everyone on tripadvisor complains about the area where all the riads are, but that is Marrakesh, its not specific to any riad! And again, if you don't like the Marrakesh holiday type, just don't bloody go!!

Marrakesh comments aside, this is a very beautiful riad with the best clean and friendly service ever. Lunch or dinner is a bit Europe-price, but it is tastier than any thing u will eat outside for the same price!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorverton, Devon, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Despite having to pick our way through some major sewer works, it was well worth it. Maroune and his staff are so friendly and welcoming, willing to help with any arrangements. The riad is beautifully furnished with with breakfast on the terrace in good weather and near the indoor pool otherwise. Dinner is a great bargin---we ate there every night but one. Can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duren, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nicely decorated riad with terrace and a little swimming pool. Splendid food and lovely staff. We truely enjoyed dinner by the pool and the long conversations with the staff. Very well appointed and charming room. The fact that the rooms could not be locked could possibly present an issue for some people but I don't think that anybody should be worried =) Nicely set in the middle of the medina of Marrakech and very good price/value relation! Until next time - in challah!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in this riad for two nights. We stayed first riad l'Oisoua du paradis but it was not good as this riad. Maroune welcomed us. He is such a helpful and nice person. You can ask him what ever you need. The riad is clean and really nice. The roof terrasse is perfect. We had breakfast there. OUr room was Quarzate and paid 45 euros per night.
The area is a bit rough. MAroune drew us a map to get to the Jma El FNa square but still got kinda lost. A guy came to us and wanted to show the way,but took us to a dark place and asked for money! my Guy refused to give money and argued. he eventually left because he saw walking towards two other tourist to get help. The first time was a bit hard to get to the square, but then after it was easy. You just have to get used to it.

You just have to look confident and keep you r voice strong. Thats all. IF you look or say you are muslim they will even respect you more and they will not take you to wrong small roads.

This riad is really nice, I am not regretting it. I paid more for the riad we stayed before, it was a easier route the square but it was not nice as this riad baba ali. I am regretting kind of a but why I stayed there!

Maroune is also a very helpful guy, who works in riad Baba ali. He makes this riad special!
Whatever you need, he will try help you.

Room Tip: Quarzatate on the first floor is good. You will have a bit of wifi in that room still because it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Baba Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baba Ali

Address: 74 Derb Baba Ali | Moukef, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baba Ali 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from Medersa Ben Youssef and the museum of Marrakech, after to have probably crossed the carrying ones bread, at the bottom of the derb Baba Ali “name celebrates in our imaginary”, you will find the door of your Riad. Strike, then… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Baba Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Baba Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.