We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baba Ali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Baba Ali to your Saves list
Riad Baba Ali
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Derb Baba Ali | Moukef, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Riad itself is beautiful and incredibly clean. The staff were lovely and served us mint tea upon our arrival. They were always more than willing to answer questions we had and arranged day excursions and our taxi back to the airport. We had dinner there twice, and the food was delicious and copious. Breakfast is crepes and bread. At the end of one of our evenings, we were invited to have some shisha and talked with other guests.

It is difficult to find, as it is in alley way and there is no indication of how to get there. There is not even a sign on the door. It takes a little navigating to find- but once you find it, its easy. Local children helped us find the place. We were traveling as two single woman, and felt safe walking back there at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    27
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
27
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The cleanness, food and service is superb! Marwan, the receptionist and guy in charge, is the most friendly person on earth. I have read the reviews before going, and it looks like lots of riads are nice, but from my personal experience this was superb!

Everyone on tripadvisor complains about the area where all the riads are, but that is Marrakesh, its not specific to any riad! And again, if you don't like the Marrakesh holiday type, just don't bloody go!!

Marrakesh comments aside, this is a very beautiful riad with the best clean and friendly service ever. Lunch or dinner is a bit Europe-price, but it is tastier than any thing u will eat outside for the same price!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorverton, Devon, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Despite having to pick our way through some major sewer works, it was well worth it. Maroune and his staff are so friendly and welcoming, willing to help with any arrangements. The riad is beautifully furnished with with breakfast on the terrace in good weather and near the indoor pool otherwise. Dinner is a great bargin---we ate there every night but one. Can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duren, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nicely decorated riad with terrace and a little swimming pool. Splendid food and lovely staff. We truely enjoyed dinner by the pool and the long conversations with the staff. Very well appointed and charming room. The fact that the rooms could not be locked could possibly present an issue for some people but I don't think that anybody should be worried =) Nicely set in the middle of the medina of Marrakech and very good price/value relation! Until next time - in challah!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in this riad for two nights. We stayed first riad l'Oisoua du paradis but it was not good as this riad. Maroune welcomed us. He is such a helpful and nice person. You can ask him what ever you need. The riad is clean and really nice. The roof terrasse is perfect. We had breakfast there. OUr room was Quarzate and paid 45 euros per night.
The area is a bit rough. MAroune drew us a map to get to the Jma El FNa square but still got kinda lost. A guy came to us and wanted to show the way,but took us to a dark place and asked for money! my Guy refused to give money and argued. he eventually left because he saw walking towards two other tourist to get help. The first time was a bit hard to get to the square, but then after it was easy. You just have to get used to it.

You just have to look confident and keep you r voice strong. Thats all. IF you look or say you are muslim they will even respect you more and they will not take you to wrong small roads.

This riad is really nice, I am not regretting it. I paid more for the riad we stayed before, it was a easier route the square but it was not nice as this riad baba ali. I am regretting kind of a but why I stayed there!

Maroune is also a very helpful guy, who works in riad Baba ali. He makes this riad special!
Whatever you need, he will try help you.

Room Tip: Quarzatate on the first floor is good. You will have a bit of wifi in that room still because it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed 1 week in january,visiting Marrakesh and play golf. Exellent location in the middle of the Medina .I had the room on the top of the riad ,gorgeous room,very clen,nice,large and very quieter. I have breakfast and lunch every day,the food is excellent ,prepared by a great chef
" Halima "very sweet lady,always a happy face.
The host "Marouane" a very nice young man, who speak a excellent english. you can asking anything, is always happy to serve you.
I definitely recommend the Riad Baba Ali.
xxxx

Room Tip: I love the room on rooftop of the riad with a beautiful patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this riad for 3nights. We had to get used to the fact that you have to wander trough a small maze before you can enter the riad. But it turns out you'll remind it quite easy (3 rights, 1 left). It's true that there are allways some children hanging around and they will always try to 'help' you, by showing the way although you know it yourself. We never gave them money, always told them when they were coming along that it wasn't necsesary and just ignored them. Seemed to work, because we never had problems with them.

Beside this, the riad is a very nice play to stay. You won't notice anything from the hussle and bussle of busy Marrakech. Our room was realy cool, quiet and dark at night. It looked and was also very clean.

The staff was very polite and kind every time and nothing was too much asked. One night, we wanted to go to a restaurant, but we only had the adress. So we asked the owner of the riad to call a cab. He offered to bring us, because going by cab would be expensive and would take some time because of a complicated route. We told him it was to much, but he insisted. So we agreed and we took of. We rode trough Marrakech by night with two scooters (a friend of him came too) trough a maze of alleys and finally arrived at the restaurant. When we finished we just had to ring him and there they were again! It was a very cool experience and way more then he needed to do.

So, to sum up: if you just have the guts to tell the kids at the door no, you will have a wonderfull time with a more then friendly owner and staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Baba Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baba Ali

Address: 74 Derb Baba Ali | Moukef, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baba Ali 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from Medersa Ben Youssef and the museum of Marrakech, after to have probably crossed the carrying ones bread, at the bottom of the derb Baba Ali “name celebrates in our imaginary”, you will find the door of your Riad. Strike, then… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Baba Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Baba Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.