We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad- absolutely perfetc” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Baba Ali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Baba Ali to your Saves list
Riad Baba Ali
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Derb Baba Ali | Moukef, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Riad- absolutely perfetc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We've stayed in a number of riads in Morocco; this was far and away the best. It was absolutely perfect and the price was unbelievably cheap for what you got.

The design and decor were magnificent; the service impeccable; the terrace perfect for sunbathing; the food was reasonable, freshly-cooked and delicious; and the staff were very helpful.

We have read the one negative review below, regarding the location. Baba Ali is very convenient for all the sights of Marrakech and is near Djeema al Fna. yes you have to walk home through the medina, which is just the same with every other place in marrakech- if you don't like it, don't come to Marrakech. There really could be no better place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    31
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
31
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London ,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The Service was Excellent …The Riad was Excellent …our Trip as a hole was Fantastic
As a Family we enjoyed every minute of Morocco and to make our stay even more special the riad and service its self was amazing, we were welcomed and we really felt as the riad was our home. From playing cards under the stars at night in the terrace to a family meal in the dining room every moment was Memorable .

Thank you Mathew, Halima and Abidu who all looked after us and made our trip a hundred times better . We will be definitely coming back as a family to this riad the next time we visit morocco hopefully making even more amazing memories,
Mahdi :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We made arrangements with Mathieu via email two weeks prior to our arrival date, the response and reply was second to none to all our enquiries and concerns. On our arrival in marrakech there was a mini bus waiting to take us to the riad as promised.

First impressions enroute to riad - "what have we got ourselfs into"
Second impression - how will be find our way to and from the riad as it has many allayways"
Third impression - "WOW..... what a place exactly as described and a GEM in the middle of marrakech"
The last impression toppled everything and we soon forgot about our 1st and 2nd impression. which didnt really matter at all as the riad itself was stunning, staff very helpful and courteous food absolutly delicious which was cooked by Halima our chef. We liked her cakes sooooo much that we requested 6 to be made so we can bring it back to UK for friends and family.

Our guide and very helpful Abadi was always in hand for what every reason you might need him. He showed us around on our first day, went shopping, done negociations, helped carry our child, he basically did everything and we are truly gratful for that.

All-in-all its a must stay riad if your looking for a stunning riad, wonderful staff and brilliant location and some privacy.

Mathieu took care of organising excursions for us and as always taxi arrived promptly with a english speaking driver which helps! (and not forgetting air conditioning)

My extended family have already asked for details of the riad which they plan to visit in Sept.

Thank you Riad Baba Ali and its staff for a memorable holiday

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

We had a very bad experience with the environment of the hotel. We didn't feel safe in the area and had trouble when we got back to the riad at night. Unfortunately the staff of the hotel wasn't very helpful. Apart from that, the riad itself is nicely designed and the rooms are new and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

This Riad is really beautiful and a lovely oasis of calm from the madness that is Marrakech. We also had 2 meals there and they were really nice. The breakfast is lovely and the rooms are really comfortable. Highly recommended with really lovely and friendly staff!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

I have done plenty of research with regards to the best places to stay in Marrakesh. Initially wanted to stay at Les Jardine Mandaline , however due to low availability i have been promptly contacted the Riad manager – Nadia , who was kind enough to offer 3 nights at parent Riad - Baba Ali instead and 1 night at Les Jardine Mandaline.
As it turned out it was a great place to stay .The Riad is a beautiful and a quiet place stay in the mad city. Nadia arranged our pick up from and to the airport (15 Euro each way), which was brilliant as we wouldn’t have been able to find the Riad ourselves. Riad is located in the Marrakesh’s El Moukef district, right in the heart of the Medina and aprox 15 min walk to Jemma El Fna. The decor is a mixture of European / Moroccan style, immaculately clean and extremely quiet. The pictures on the website don’t do it justice.
Upon arrival to the Riad we have been greeted by Mohammed who kindly took our bags and showed us the room. We stayed is Quartazare room located on the first floor overlooking the courtyard. Everyday we have been served with lovely continental breakfast on the roof terrace. We ate out most of the nights, except one when we decided to have a dinner at the Riad. Lemon chicken Tajine & peach lamb tajine prepared by the chef (sorry don’t know her name) have been absolutely delicious!!!! We have had an opportunity to met main manager Mathieu who has been extremely helpful and organized our excursions to the 3 waterfalls in the Atlas Mountains. Overall I have enjoyed the stay at the Riad and would come back again.

Marrakesh has been rather interesting experience with plenty of culture and heritage. The disappointing aspects have been the people especially the shopkeepers in the Souks who are looking for an opportunity to rip you off. If you decide to negotiate and go in at a lower price, they will simply not show any interest and let you leave the store (and on few occasions become very sarcastic). As for the restaurant service – we ate at Cafe Argane – right on the Jemma El Fna Square. The place looked busy so we assumed that the food must be good?? Well... not only it was overpriced for what it was but the service element is almost nonexistent (we had to wait for 10 min before the waiter showed us the menu)!!!

Place to visit: Jardine Marjorelle & Setti Fadma cascades in Altas Mountains
To eat & drink: Cafe Arabe

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I only got back today after a thoroughly fantastic, relaxing break, but wanted to tell everyone how great this Riad is!

The service is exceptional, on arrival we had a driver waiting, we then got greated by Mohammed who showed us down the windy ally ways with a warm smile! We shamefully speak no French and so we managed to get by on lots of smiling and nodding! The whole riad was spotlessly clean and everything you hope and imagine a riad to be.
Nothing was too much trouble, in this crazy city you can be slighly overwhelmed at first, and Mohammed went to change our money up for us to get us a better rate, which was SUCH a big help!
Breakfast is delicious, local and fresh every morning, prepared as soon as you say Good Morning, and not a moment sooner! The whole team are constantly on hand, should you need a hand with anything..........can't rate this place enough!
The pool is such a lovely relief when the heat gets unbearable, and i still can't beleive how peacefull it felt once you stepped inside..... a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of the souks! ( but really only on your doorstep!!)

The photos on here don't do it justice!

I literally wouldn't change a thing about Riad Bab Ali.
Top Marks!!!

Enjoy - i will be very jealous!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#212 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#261 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#136 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Chouia Chouia
Riad Chouia Chouia
#206 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Fabiola
Riad Fabiola
#245 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Charai
Riad Charai
#211 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baba Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baba Ali

Address: 74 Derb Baba Ali | Moukef, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baba Ali 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from Medersa Ben Youssef and the museum of Marrakech, after to have probably crossed the carrying ones bread, at the bottom of the derb Baba Ali “name celebrates in our imaginary”, you will find the door of your Riad. Strike, then… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Baba Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Baba Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.