We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day out in Marrakesh, by an amazing pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manzil la Tortue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Manzil la Tortue to your Saves list
Manzil la Tortue
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Km 12, Douar Gzoula, Ouarzazate Road | Commune Al Ouidane, Marrakech 40002, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best day out in Marrakesh, by an amazing pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

we are staying in a Riad in la kasbah, a fantastic house in the medina! and just brilliant to get a feel for the old ways of the town. Arriving last Tuesday we have explored the souks! the Atlas Mountains and the Majorelle Gardens, but today we wanted to lie by a pool relax, eat well and soak up some rays. After much research we discovered this amazing place, offering a large swimming pool, great food and tranquility. Our riad tried to reserve us a place with little success, so I dropped them an email and had confirmation that a reservation was made and that they would expect us from 11 am. Manzil la Tortue was a morroccan delight, out in the middle of nowhere, an amazing place, we were greeted by Fouad Housni, a lovely man who instantly made us feel welcome, he provided us with a towel, a great hat, and a lovely bed, we were overwhelmed by the place, shortly after our arrival we were asked to make our meal choices, which is part of the deal, the pool, and the great food. we chose well, choosing to cook our own meal food at the table which was fun and part of the ambiance and uniqueness of the place.
I would highly recommend the place to anyone, it has been a fantastic day, don t be nervous about the long track off of the main round, our taxi driver knew the place, but I suggest you get collected from your Riad by Fouad, then you will have no problem, in the end our taxi was the same as Fouad had suggested of 480dh for the two of us. our whole day, cost us just over a £100, but it was fantastic value and a brilliant day. The thoughtfulness of the day didn't end with paying, we were given a very cold leaving drink, a crepe and a freezing cold flannel, the extra touches make all the difference .

Room Tip: We went here for a day out, but it was brilliant, great place, fantastic place and brilliant host
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fouad H, Propriétaire at Manzil la Tortue, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Hello from Manzil La Tortue,

And thank you for taking time to write down these kind words! It's been a pleasure to welcome you, and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Take care,

Fouad & his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    16
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
41
42
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

after a long day ,coming from Agadir i stop one night in to this quiet isolate and silence place,eat a very nice moroccan food ,nsync to the last breath of the afternoon .then a little conversation ,with friends,before hit the bed ....then ohhh very nice the room ... clean and soft sheets i sleep like a babe then the next morning the day surprise me ..with abundant green and land...funny while you arriving to the place you don't spect to find all this wellnes,and beauty ..but once you in it then you realise how nice would be your day days or week,in Manzil la Tourtue

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManzilLaTortue, Propriétaire at Manzil la Tortue, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello Ivanzito,

Thank you for your message, I'm really glad you could enjoy the quietness of Manzil La Tortue.
We had a really nice evening with you, and we hope to see you again some day!

Take care,

Fouad and his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

we only spent a couple of days with André and Pascale, but we absolutely adored their little piece of paradise. We couldnt have wished for a more pleasant, more beautiful, or more delightful place to stay. Pascal and André made us feel very welcome, the food was to die for, the pool absolutely the most wonderful, the tents were very comfortable and luxurious, etc etc. After busy, loud, energetic Marrakech, its was the best place for some days of lazy hanging around the pool. We loved it! Definately a place where we hope to return soon! André et Pascale, merci beaucoup pour tout, bisous, Mart, Gisella & Timo

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManzilLaTortue, Propriétaire at Manzil la Tortue, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello Gisela,

Thank you so much for your message, it was really nice to have you here, and we do hope to see you again some day in Manzil La Tortue.

Best regards,

Fouad and his team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was my second stay at Manzil, and now under new ownership it is just as good as last year. As it was the start of the season is was very quiet (beautifully quiet), great food, great pool and cosy rooms. I was the only guest which made the service even better. I almost felt guilty when the chef was cooking just for me! I have been to the city centre many times, and if you want to visit Marrakech frequently then this hotel may be a little far for some people. Having said that taxis can be arranged easily, and take about 30minutes.
If you are looking to get away from it all, relax by pool and enjoy good food then Manzil is recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We spent a day here before flying home in the evening. The approach road is an experience but worth the bumps! We were made very welcome and the owner was lovely and informative. We were given a lovely 3 course lunch, it has good clean showers and changing rooms, fantastic sun beds and a massive pool (for the brave - it isn't heated). Great way to unwind after a few days bustle of the city whilst waiting to fly home.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bir Jdid, El Jadida, Morocco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We returned here after a year to find it under new management. The camping area still shares all the facilities with the hotel, the staff and new management are still great. But the prices have doubled!!!
There are still sites, and I know, hotels, offering the same standards. Closer to Marrakesh and easier to reach.

Room Tip: Still lovely but you can do better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManzilLaTortue, Propriétaire at Manzil la Tortue, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking time writing your feed-back. It was great to meet you at Manzil La Tortue during your stay and we do hope to see you again some day.

Please allow us to mention that prices are exactly the same as before, there has been no increase whatsoever. And even WiFi, which is usually paid, was free during your stay.

Best regards,

Manzil La Tortue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Just had a days stay here , Pascal was friendly and obliging took time to show us the tents and gardens .Had a fantastic lunch around the circular hot plate tables , cooked chicken lamb beef and all upon the hot Plancha added our own spice mixes provided by our host. We only met a few of the staff on our 7 hour stay but they all made us feel welcome . If camping is your thing then this is up market glamping make no mistakes you won't be roughing it here , it is off the beaten track but that makes it even more of an oasis

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manzil la Tortue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzil la Tortue

Address: Km 12, Douar Gzoula, Ouarzazate Road | Commune Al Ouidane, Marrakech 40002, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manzil la Tortue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Manzil la Tortue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manzil la Tortue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.