We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Awinati

Save Saved
You added Riad Awinati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Awinati
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Kasbah, Rue du Mechouar n0 255, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Quiet, clean, charming personnel and beautiful... an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
35
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We loved staying in this riad which with 5 rooms in total was not too overrun with other guests. Located in the kasbah you feel you get a taste of the life as lead by the locals even though this means that you are a 15 minute walk removed from Jemaa el-Fna. We found this to be a plus rather than a minus. At night we often took a taxi back - be prepared to pay a 'prix fix' of about MAD 30. A lot of drivers refused to put their teller on for us - the privelege of being a tourist! But at €3 or £2.5, a similar trip at home would be at least 3x as much, so we did not mind paying this once or twice. The riad is very well located for walking around, regretably not in, the Royal Palais and its grounds and visiting the Saadian Thombs as well as the Palais Bahia (a must!). Rooms are nicely furnished and clean. A roof terrace provides welcome respite after visiting Marrakech which can be a bit taxing in the heat. Having been to Marrakech before when we paid more for a tourist hotel with no charm whatsoever, we found the price/quality ratio for this riad more than acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimão
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We´ve just flew back from Marrakesh and I must say that we liked very much the Riad. Everyone at Awinati (owners and staff) where very nice and always tryring to make our stay in Marrakesh perfect. The Riad is very nice and I only can point two things that prevent me to call it perfect: the location and the heat in the room.
About the location, it´s in the Kasbah, wich means that you have to walk about 20 minutes to get to Djema El Fna square. This can be seen as a disadvantage to some persons, but it wasn´t so bad for us, as we took the chance to know the surrondings pretty well. Nevertheless, don´t forget that you are in the Kasbah, which may seem a bit heavy to the persons who are not usted to arabic cities. We got out every nigths and had no problem whatsoever.
About the second item, our room (on the ground floor, facing the patio) was very hot. Even with the air conditioning working, we were sweating a bit. Please mind that the Riad only accepts payment in cash (no credit or debit cards are accepted).
On the overall, I should say the Riad is very good and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

The owner of the riad,Abi did everything possible to make our stay in Marrakesh such an enjoyable experience. He was always just a phone call away day or night should we need to ask him for help or advice . The riad is staffed by Abi's family who adopt the same helpful attitude as he does. His niece ,Zaza did the traditional moroccan cooking which was truly delicious. We only ate ouside of the riad one of the four nights we were there. The service was first class and we were made to feel special. We certainly felt the riad offered excellent value for money.Abi took time to chat to us about the moroccan culture and lifestyle . The riad and its staff in our opinion was faultless. We have never stayed in a more hospitable hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

The taxi picked us up at the airport on time as arranged by the riad but cost 150 dirhams, this was a bit off as should hav cost around 50!.
Riad was nice and good vvalue for money and hosts couldnt do enough for us, rather than right an essay I will list the good/bad points.

GOOD POINTS

Kind and attentive Hosts
Clean/Nice Rooms
interesting lively location
good price

BAD POINTS

smell of sewage permeates riad when it rains.
very poor english
food was awful
plumbing is primeval

When we arrived at riad we were met by ABI, he then presented us with bill and insited we pay immediatly, we refused and advised we would pay at end.

Another issue we has was on the 3rd night of our stay we were asked to change rooms as they had a plumbing issue, this we did not mind as thee things happen so we moved all our things to the new room, when we got there we asked if we could stay in the new room for the rest of week, this was agreed. We went out the next morning to oasiria and upon our return we found our room empty and all our stuff gone, they then advised they had moved us! we were annoyed as they had not asked us despite us leaving at 10 am and waving goodbye to them, they had my mobile but did not call. We complained about strangers going through me and my daughters things and moving them all to another room but they could not see what our problem was.

Aside from this incident they were lovely but did have a rather cavalier attitude to customer service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globule76, Owner at Riad Awinati, responded to this review, September 8, 2010
I want to underline that welcoming by Abi, the manager, was impossible because he was in Italy on holidays with his children

About your luggage, it could have been nice to advise you but Fatimzara is a very kind person and I am sure, she just wanted to be helpful.

I am very surprise about your comment for the quality of the food and that you would rather eat at Mac Donalds than our Moroccan traditional dishes. Since the opening of the Riad Awinati, we are used to have pretty good comments concerning our cook Fatimzara and the quality of dishes (tajine, couscous etc.).

Marrakech’s taxi drivers managed to set a price for everyone (150 dh) due to the airport transfers delays.

From my point of view, 45€ per night for a 24sqm en-suite room breakfast included in center of Marrakech, during high season, is an excellent quality/price ratio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We had a really difficult time finding Riad Awinati. A taxi driver dropped us off outside of the medina walls and off we went with roller bags in tow. Luckily, two kind young men helped us find the riad, but without them, we'd have been lost. Once there, however, it becomes clear what a great location this place is actually in--close enough to the main square to walk but far enough away for peaceful nights. The couple who run the riad were wonderful--so kind and helpful--and our room (the turquoise) was nice. Breakfasts were basic but okay. Overall, a good place to stay in Marrakech run by two truly wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the riad our first 2 nights in Morocco. Our hosts were very welcoming and extremely helpful. We ate dinner on their rooftop deck (a great place to relax) 2 nights, and the food was some of the best we ate while in Morocco. I definitely recommend staying here. It was a peaceful oasis in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. La Kasbah is a bit more calm than around the square.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Awinati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awinati

Address: La Kasbah, Rue du Mechouar n0 255, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Awinati 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awinatu is a nice and relaxing place, placed in the Medina of Marrakesh.The riad is composed of 2 double rooms and 3 suites, each equipped with a bathroom in tadelakt with shower, toilet and closet and a reversible air conditioning hot/cold.lounge with fireplace, TV and DVD.we are a short walk from Saadian tombs and the royal palace in the famous district of the Kasbah, and a few minutes from the big square Jamaa el fna and souks (markets). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Awinati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Awinati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.