We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind Hosts, Lovely Building, Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Awinati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Awinati to your Saves list
Riad Awinati
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Kasbah, Rue du Mechouar n0 255, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kind Hosts, Lovely Building, Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We had a really difficult time finding Riad Awinati. A taxi driver dropped us off outside of the medina walls and off we went with roller bags in tow. Luckily, two kind young men helped us find the riad, but without them, we'd have been lost. Once there, however, it becomes clear what a great location this place is actually in--close enough to the main square to walk but far enough away for peaceful nights. The couple who run the riad were wonderful--so kind and helpful--and our room (the turquoise) was nice. Breakfasts were basic but okay. Overall, a good place to stay in Marrakech run by two truly wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the riad our first 2 nights in Morocco. Our hosts were very welcoming and extremely helpful. We ate dinner on their rooftop deck (a great place to relax) 2 nights, and the food was some of the best we ate while in Morocco. I definitely recommend staying here. It was a peaceful oasis in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. La Kasbah is a bit more calm than around the square.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Riad Awinati in March and absolutely loved it! In décor and amenities Awinati is comparable to other riads I have seen and stayed in. It is conveniently located in the Kasbah district which is a short and relatively simple walk to Djemaa el Fna, the souks and most of the other sites. However, what made Awinati a real gem was the hospitality and service of its caretakers Halima and her husband. They were always available and more than willing to help, from the tea we were offered upon arrival to the suggestions and guide they provided. My girlfriend and I actually had a 24 hr flu during our week stay and Halima went out of her way to help us by preparing special meals, bringing us a constant supply of bottled water, and making trips to the pharmacy (on her time off!!) I can’t say enough about Riad Awinati and especially about the people that make it such a great place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We have stayed at the Riad Awinati for 5 nights in the middle of May. This place is wonderful, is located in a very convininet location, in the Kasbha only few minutes from the main attractions. They gave us the nicest room, a lovely suite wit a canopy bed, a little sofa and a typical bathroom with a very large shower. The room was very clean and tidy. We want to thank very much Halima and her Husband Nour for taking such a good care of the Riad and the guests as well as Mohamed, the night porter, very kind too. But especially Halima, she is the best, so sweet and kind, she prepared for us every morning a wonderful breakfast on the terrace, and we were always late!!! What we will never foget is her "Lemon Taijine"!! we had dinner once and she prepared a woderful dinner just for us, a maroccan salad, very nice and fresh, the best taijine we have had in all our trip and an orange salad with cinnamon, the table was decorated with flowers and candles, very romantic. We really suggest you to have dinner there at least one time. We really hope to be back soon, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

A decent walk from the main square (20 mins), in the kasbah at the very south end of the medina. Near the Saadian tombs.

Great place, the room was lovely, light and spacious, the manager was fantastic - very accommodating. It was cheap. Great roof terrace. Easy to find, main road. Pretty quiet, could hear the call to prayer, but only if I was awake and not very loud.

No one speaks particularly good English, but good enough for most things.

Was a bit annoyed that they gave us a twin room when I had requested a double. And they thought we booked through someone, when I had I booked direct with the owner. However we mentioned our surprise and the guy went and checked and then offered us the double downstairs, which the owner was in (leaving the next day). On balance we declined, the room looked darker, less private and we wanted to get changed and get going! So stayed in the twin.

Our room looked like a kids room, with cats on the bedspreads, and the beds were hard as rocks. Seriously, were they concrete?? but that was the only complaint! It was light, airy, lots of shelving (in a cupboard, so could shut away the mess), bathroom was nice, the only riad we stayed in where the bathroom didn't smell! Lots of room to put things in the bathroom as well, decent shower in a separate cubicle, lots of towels, face cloths even!

Breakfast was OK, no fresh OJ though, disappointing in the orange capital! Pastries were great one day and stale the next. But those were the only complaints there.

The riad itself wasn't as ornate as others. Seemed quite new.

Offered to pick us up from the train station for 15 Euro, which I thought was very steep, so we declined (knew where we were going by then) and got a big taxi for £5. Took their taxi to the airport for 15 Euro and probably shouldn't have, it was only 15 mins. But it seemed easier and we weren't sure on prices / distance.

All in all, for the price, I would thoroughly recommend, as long as you are aware that you're a little way from the square.

Also, had a great meal at Kosybar - pricey (London prices), but a break from cheap Moroccan if you need it and serves alcohol! Nice wine, great food. Moroccan, sushi and western. Highly recommend. Kitchen doesn't open til 8 and worth booking.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

From an unassuming street in the Medina, we entered the magnificent Riad Awinati. We could not have imagined how stylish, beautiful and relaxing Riad Awinati would be within. The courtyard is beautiful with typical Moroccan lanterns and a stunning water feature.

We visited this Riad in the July heat and were warmly welcomed with an ice cold freshly squeezed orange juice and the magnificent Chambre Perle was a delight with a luxurious private bathroom with local soaps and other toiletries. We were very pleasantly surprised by the high qaulity of fixtures and fittings with designer furniture from a French designer based in Marrakech. The beautifully carved ceiling with a heart in one corner is a work of art. Great attention to detail has been paid by the owner in the decoration of the Riad.

For those wishing a lovely tan, the sun terrace apart from offering wonderful views of the Atlas montains is a lovely place to relax and have a lovely breakfast with fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, local baked pastries and either French coffee or typical local mint tea.

Riad Awinati is situated only 10 minutes away from the Koutoubia Mosque and the Djemma El Fna so perfectly located for access to the activities of the medina.

This is a place to cherish, to relax in, be inspired by and remember forever.

We have no hesitation in recommending this Riad to anybody wishing a lovely stay in Marrakech

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Awinati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awinati

Address: La Kasbah, Rue du Mechouar n0 255, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Awinati 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awinatu is a nice and relaxing place, placed in the Medina of Marrakesh.The riad is composed of 2 double rooms and 3 suites, each equipped with a bathroom in tadelakt with shower, toilet and closet and a reversible air conditioning hot/cold.lounge with fireplace, TV and DVD.we are a short walk from Saadian tombs and the royal palace in the famous district of the Kasbah, and a few minutes from the big square Jamaa el fna and souks (markets). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Awinati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Awinati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.