We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Awinati

Save Saved
You added Riad Awinati to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Awinati
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Kasbah, Rue du Mechouar n0 255, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I thought this riad was pretty amazing. The workers that included Hyatt and Yassin were amazing. I think without them the experience would have been dull. They were quick to solve issues and spoke good clear english. I would highly recommend this riad.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 3 lovely nights, located in the heart of the Kasbah with all the charachter and life of Marrakech. Once you get to know the route its a good 15 minutes walk but well worth the experience, you get to see the really side of Marrakech. The owner helped us with Taxi transfers etc and was a lovely lady who also served a very nice breakfast up on the terrace.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stay for 3 nights in this riad, and its was very good.
Good breakfast and a very kindly hostess Nema.
Every day we had clean towels.
The loudness of the street was not in the riad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We booked for two nights in early January. Our first night there was a booking snafu so they arranged a room for us in a Riad around the corner and we moved to the Awinati the following day. The mint tea and biscuits they served us when we first arrived were a wonderful way to start. I recommend having the Riad arrange a transfer from the airport, especially if it is your first time in Marrakech, as the driver we got at the airport dropped us by the nearest gate into the Medina and told us we would have to walk! We arranged our next taxi through the Riad - way less stressful.

Breakfasts were great and the staff very helpful. It does help to speak at least a little French to make life easier - but that holds true throughout Morocco.

The Riad is located in the Kasbah area which is a slightly less chaotic than the area around the Djemma al-Fna but an easy walk away. The Saadian Tombs are a 5 minute walk away and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Quiet, clean, charming personnel and beautiful... an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We loved staying in this riad which with 5 rooms in total was not too overrun with other guests. Located in the kasbah you feel you get a taste of the life as lead by the locals even though this means that you are a 15 minute walk removed from Jemaa el-Fna. We found this to be a plus rather than a minus. At night we often took a taxi back - be prepared to pay a 'prix fix' of about MAD 30. A lot of drivers refused to put their teller on for us - the privelege of being a tourist! But at €3 or £2.5, a similar trip at home would be at least 3x as much, so we did not mind paying this once or twice. The riad is very well located for walking around, regretably not in, the Royal Palais and its grounds and visiting the Saadian Thombs as well as the Palais Bahia (a must!). Rooms are nicely furnished and clean. A roof terrace provides welcome respite after visiting Marrakech which can be a bit taxing in the heat. Having been to Marrakech before when we paid more for a tourist hotel with no charm whatsoever, we found the price/quality ratio for this riad more than acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimão
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We´ve just flew back from Marrakesh and I must say that we liked very much the Riad. Everyone at Awinati (owners and staff) where very nice and always tryring to make our stay in Marrakesh perfect. The Riad is very nice and I only can point two things that prevent me to call it perfect: the location and the heat in the room.
About the location, it´s in the Kasbah, wich means that you have to walk about 20 minutes to get to Djema El Fna square. This can be seen as a disadvantage to some persons, but it wasn´t so bad for us, as we took the chance to know the surrondings pretty well. Nevertheless, don´t forget that you are in the Kasbah, which may seem a bit heavy to the persons who are not usted to arabic cities. We got out every nigths and had no problem whatsoever.
About the second item, our room (on the ground floor, facing the patio) was very hot. Even with the air conditioning working, we were sweating a bit. Please mind that the Riad only accepts payment in cash (no credit or debit cards are accepted).
On the overall, I should say the Riad is very good and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Awinati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Awinati

Address: La Kasbah, Rue du Mechouar n0 255, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Awinati 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Awinatu is a nice and relaxing place, placed in the Medina of Marrakesh.The riad is composed of 2 double rooms and 3 suites, each equipped with a bathroom in tadelakt with shower, toilet and closet and a reversible air conditioning hot/cold.lounge with fireplace, TV and DVD.we are a short walk from Saadian tombs and the royal palace in the famous district of the Kasbah, and a few minutes from the big square Jamaa el fna and souks (markets). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Riad Awinati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Awinati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.