We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, thank-you πŸ˜€” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmanda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Karmanda to your Saves list
Riad Karmanda
Sidi Youb | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #539 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay, thank-you πŸ˜€”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at this Riad for 4 nights. We had an enjoyable stay, the staff were all very friendly and helpful, giving us directions and advice in where to visit and helping us with our flight times after the times changed. We had a lovely meal on the first evening and would recommend it to any guests. The breakfast was lovely and made specially every day. Our room was a little small but wasn't a huge problem as we spent time relaxing in the courtyard and on the terrace. Great riad at excellent price. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Riad Karmanda for 7 nights during our trip to Marrakech and I was very disappointed in every way. We arrived after a busy flight at 8pm to be met by the cook who knew nothing about our stay.She made a call, guided us to our room and advised that the manager would be with us shortly.He never appeared and we were starving after our travels.By this time another gentleman was on reception who knew nothing of our arrival and then checked us in. The following morning the manager was in but he did not even greet us.He simply told us that we were in the wrong room and must move all our belongings. The room we moved to was awful.No shower on the wall, blocked drains and the toilet didnt flush!. We were shipped out for someone staying a couple of nights which it turns out later down the line were confused with ourselves. The Riad also arranged an expensive excursion for us which turned out not to have an english speaking guide at a cost of 35 euros each, on arrival at our destination we had to pay a separate guide followed by a charge for the boat ride, lunch with a choice of 3 things and then to end a long day we were all thrown off the bus in the middle of Marrakech with no idea where we were
We felt very singled out in this Riad and this appeared to be because we were not French although we did try our best with what knowledge we do have.
Awful experience and ruined our hard earned holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Location is good, only 10 minutes walking to the main square. The riad is quiet and is decorated with elegance. We met with Ahmed in the skirts of Marrakech and showed us a place to park the car. At the Riad, we were given a map and were told about places of interest and what to avoid. We were also given a telephone number we could call at any time should we get lost, so someone from the riad could come and fetch us. Ahmed gave us a very warm farewell too, has he joined us by the car park. Very Good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This place was far superior than expected the manager and staff are very friendly and nothing is a trouble. The meals and breakfasts are great and I they have beer and wine chilling in the fridge that's not expensive.
I got up before my friends most morning and the cook would ring me a coffee with a friendly bonjour as if reading my mind for the need of caffeine. The two young woman who keep the place spotless never stop laughing and this is very infectious and we often found ourselves laughing over nothing.
A five minute walk up a long straight road and your into the centre of the market square.I would e finally come here again it's cheap and convenient in every way.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in this riad for 4 nights in January. A bit difficult to find, in a narrow pedestrian pathway, with no exterior signs directing you to it. Location is good if you do not mind walking 10 minutes to the main square.
The riad is quiet and is decorated with understated elegance, nothing flashy out of place.
We had a problem with the WC when we arrived and the staff immediately called a plumber and repair was done in no time. Plumbing is a bit problematic, which seems to be the case in most places in the old city.
Reception was friendly but non-intrusive, and open 24/7. We were given a map and were told about places of interest and what to avoid. We were also given a telephone number we could call at any time should we get lost, so someone from the riad could come and fetch us.
Breakfast cooked by Mina was excellent; good coffee, wonderful bread, pancakes, jams and pastry and sometimes eggs.
On the last day we left our luggage at the riad until late afternoon and we took a tea before leaving. Staff did not charge us but we left a small tip for this. Wanted to be more generous, but unfortunately they did not have change, so we paid just with coins.
A very warm farewell too. All in all a nice stay in a place with a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in this riad for 4 nights in January. It is located down a rather unattractive pedestrian pathway with a falling down building to one side and is unlit, so tricky at night, but the location is very close to the square and to the souks. Once inside the front door a beautiful riad and oasis of calm awaits. The staff are the main asset of this riad and are extremely helpful and friendly. We were told by Ahmed all about the places of interest in Marrakech and given a map to help us find our way around. Mina the cook prepared lovely breakfasts for us each day of croissants with jam, eggs and pancakes. Ridouane kept us entertained in the evening supplying us with wine and nibbles and ambient music on the stereo. Our room Berbere was located on the ground floor and therefore a bit noisy if anybody was sitting on the sofas chatting in the evening, but we were offered another room on arrival and had declined it as I didn't want to tackle the stairs every day! The only other problem with the room was that if I was having a shower and somebody turned the tap on in the kitchen, my water vanished and i would have to wait for them to turn it off to continue, but this is an old building with old plumbing. The roof terrace was a nice place to relax in the sun. Overall, we paid only €39 a night for the room, so in my opinion good value for money, and worth booking for the staff alone. Thank you staff at Riad Karmanda!

Room Tip: Berbere room on the ground floor is a bit noisy if people are sitting chatting, as is the room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here and were slightly disappointed to be honest. The riad is not as nice as the photos suggest and after staying in 8 riads in morroco (3 in marrakesh) I feel it is overpriced in comparison to the others as we stayed in less expensive riads that were nicer.
Staff friendly enough but breakfast was disappointing. Very dirty pool. I know it's December but it could be cleaned up a bit.
Card machine not working on check out (seems to be a recurring theme here!) so cash only. No change available which again seems to have happened before.
Nice enough but I wouldn't choose to stay here again as better riads in better locations for the money plus not having change to give us is a bit naughty!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmanda

Address: Sidi Youb | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few steps from Jemaa El Fna square, in the heart of the artistic and trade center of the medina, Riad Karmanda opens its doors into a home of charm and serenity.6 rooms, restaurant, SPA (hammam, massages and beauty care), organizing city tours and excursions, airport transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Karmanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmanda Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.