We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmanda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Karmanda to your Saves list
Riad Karmanda
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sidi Youb | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #555 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“December Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Us 6 stayed for 2 nights at the end of December. The rooms was lovely, clean and tidy. It was nice to have robes available for us to use as well. Coming from our tour in the sahara desert back into marrakesh, we had no idea how to get to the riad, our guide contacted the riad and someone came to pick us up which was great. The gentleman also gave us great tips especially where to go or not go in terms of buying gifts and tagines at a cheap price. We really appreciated it.

Only two negative points about this raid, a couple of my friends had a massage at a great price and they told me the room was really cold and not heated. Also, they requested us to pay for our rooms the night before because their card machine didnt work, which was also mentioned in another review which I wasn't surprised when they requested us to pay in cash. However when we provided cash, they didnt have change to give us back. I would expect them to have some form of change for their customers if their card machine is out of use.

Overall, we did have a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I sadly lost our son earlier in the year and so decided we needed to 'escape' christmas and go somewhere completely different where we could 'lose' ourselves in a different culture. The day before we were due to fly, we had our passports stolen. We contacted all of the riads and tour companies we had booked and promptly cancelled. ALL of them cancelled without charge EXCEPT this riad. I understand that we had booked a non-refundable suite but they took the money from my account 11 days before we were due to check in! In fact it was within minutes of me emailing them to explain our situation.
To make matters worse, our hotel room is now advertised elsewhere on the internet so please please understand that if you stay in the Marjorelle suite on the 31st Dec it has already been paid for so you will be paying them twice for the same room!
I apologise if this seems like a rant but I suppose I try and see the good in people that is sometimes just not there.
This Riad is very popular and they had plenty of opportunity to re sell our room given the circumstances and the notice they were given.
Please think twice before giving your debit card details to a hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hadikamaria, Gérant at Riad Karmanda, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear customers tripadvisor

We hope that you will not hold account of this criticism.
In fact, these customers have booked a non-refundable room on booking.com and asked us many times to change their reservation (by reducing the number of nights) was accepted as their reservation was non-refundable and non-changeable means .
Here you can see booking.com conditions :
Applicable Cancellation Policy Please note, if cancelled, modified or in case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged.
Applicable Deposit Policy The total price of the reservation will be charged on the day of booking.
We confess to some doubt on the good liver those customers who still reduced the number of nights to finally cancel.
In addition, these customers could come up with a simple identification with a voucher from us.
Our riad offers refundable reservations for customers who are not sure they can come to the riad or aillant afraid to have a problem before leaving.
I must say that I was expecting this review following a number of very threatening emails from this person (who I would like to clarify, never stayed in our Riad).
This is why I offered credit (15% of the cancellation fee!) to this guest on his rescheduled trip to Marrakech.
My offer meant that he would be able to stay in our Riad for 15%, but what I received as a response, was a number of rude and aggressive emails, that were very uncomfortable to read...
I am not a greedy or insensitive person and this is why I have come up with the above arrangement, which I offer to guests who cancel in unusual circumstances.
In the past few years, I had the pleasure of welcoming thousands of guests in our Riad and I have never experienced anything like the rudeness and bullying that I did in this case...

Sincerely,


Laetitia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

stayed 3 nights. Nice rooms and breakfast.
Very peaceful considering the chaos outside.
Will def go back. Zaccaria was very helpful with us and we did pay by credit card with no problems. The pool was a bit dirty but in december i suppose you dont need a pool.
They even let me see my e mails at reception which was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Have just returned from our 4 day break staying in Riad Karmanda. What a lovely Riad it is. So peaceful and clean amid the chaos of the old Medina of Marrakech. Mina cooked us a lovely meal on our arrival which was very welcome after our journey. A taxi collected us from the airport and thankfully took us to Riad Karmanda, I dont think we would have found it otherwise. The driver abandoned his car in the busy streets and led us dirctly to the door. Our room was small but adequate, clean with complimentary soap, shampoo, shower gel and bath robes.

There is a lovely roof terrace to sit in the evening with a glass of wine of take the sun with sun beds during the day. Also made use of the plunge pool was was very refreshing after our day trips around Marrakech.

Do try a Hammam, what an experience, the Riad staff are on hand to provide these and massage at a very good price.

Breakfast was lovely with rolls, croissants, pancakes, muffins, coffee and orange juice. Plenty to set you up for the day.

The Riad is very close to Djemaa el-fna main square (about 10-15 mins walk) which just has to be visited at night, fantastic food, fantastic atmosphere. Interesting walk to the square avoding motorbikes, mopeds, horses, donkeys, cars and pedestrians but we took enjoyed this as part of the whole experience of Marrakech. We found the local people to be friendly and helpful, especially when we got lost!

We very much enjoyed our stay at this Riad, it was a real taste of Morroco, close to everything and all the staff were very helpful, especially Zachariah who helped organise taxi's and informed us of places to see/things to do.

Would definitely recommend to my friends/family

Room Tip: We stayed in the Berbere Room which is a twin room on the ground floor right next to the plunge pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Despite having read good reviews for Riad Karmanda before our stay, it really didn't live up to its description and we were disappointed. The manager was sleazy and tried to over charge us for our stay. We were unable to use credit card as advertised so cash was the only option, which wasn't a big deal. We paid for a taxi to the train station but it turned out the driver was not paid and expected payment from us - make sure you get a receipt for all payments! Pool was dirty, rooms were ok but towels not washed - just dried in the sun and returned to our room still smelling! Breakfast was stale, also only available after 8.30 - so you miss out if leaving early. At other riads we stayed at this was worked around. We stayed at much cheaper places during our time in Morocco that really excelled in comparison to Riad Karmanda.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We've stayed here for the third time and it surely felt as coming home. Also because of the welcoming staff who remember you and just start connecting again where we left it last time.
Also they give us the same rooms every time which makes you feel like 'owning' the sleeping room.
Ahmed is always there to help you out, arrange drivers and give you good tips.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a nice Riad in the not so touristy part of the Medina which added to the experience. It is an intriguing 15 minute walk from Jamaa el Fna Square with plenty of motorbike dodging and funny encounters with the local hustlers. The Riad itself is clean and quiet. Ahmed was very helpful. The rooms are a little dark but comfortable, however the bathroom could do with being stocked better (i.e. when the soap/toilet paper runs out it's not replaced) The Plunge pool is nice and refreshing in the soaring 40C midday heat. The in-house Hammam is worth the experience. The breakfast was lovely but we were dissapointed on the last morning when we were told we would have something small left out for us because of our 7am departure only to receive nothing in the end. We would of preferred an honest answer when we arranged this the night before!

Room Tip: Bring your own toiletries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Karmanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmanda

Address: Sidi Youb | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #555 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Karmanda 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few steps from Jemaa El Fna square, in the heart of the artistic and trade center of the medina, Riad Karmanda opens its doors into a home of charm and serenity.6 rooms, restaurant, SPA (hammam, massages and beauty care), organizing city tours and excursions, airport transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Karmanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmanda Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Karmanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.