We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ajebel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Ajebel to your Saves list
Riad Ajebel
derb chotuka 91, kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Short but wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Due to some airline troubles and a cancelled flight, my stay at the riad was cut short. But my short stay was made memorable by the warm hospitality and the beautiful, cozy decor of the riad. I did not get to the riad until 2am but was still greeted with some warm tea and cookies! All the stress and anxiety of the two days of travel that it took to get there just melted away. I immediately felt at home and at ease in the riad. I unfortunately had to checkout a few hours later, around 7:30am. Even though I had to leave before their official breakfast time, they still woke up and prepared a typical Moroccan breakfast for me. It was delicious!

I stayed in the room Ajebel. The decor was beautiful, especially the bathroom. The room size was pretty good and the bathroom was large. The beds were small but adequate. The wifi did not work in my room. The water pressure was also very weak in my room.

Before my visit, I sent several emails to Frederique concerning my arrival and airport transfer. She always responded very quickly to any questions. She was also very accommodating when I had to cancel for one night at the last minute because of my cancelled flight. While at the riad I was never able to meet Frederique, but I would like to thank her and the staff for a wonderful night. I would love to return next time I am in Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
hello,
Sorry for my answer a little late ..... thank you for your comment and it touches me enormously. You will always be welcome in the riad Ajebel and we can drink tea together, Inshallah ..... Actually I was not here when you came! the whole team and I want to thank you.
Best
Frédérique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    18
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
68
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Very clean & cozy Riad. It is 15-20 min walk to the square. Frederick who is the property owner/manager was very friendly & helpful. Staff members (Khaled & Ali) were also very helpful. Very good breakfast and mint tea. Wifi works only in the lobby. "Cafe Clock" is good restaurant to eat close-by.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
The whole team of Riad Ajebel thank you for your comments, we thank you for your visit and your sympathy.
Inshallah very soon.
best
frédérique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights from 06/04/14

The Riiad is clean cozy and Frederique and the staff are excellent hosts. I found them very helpful and attentive.

The rooms are typically Moroccan, if your not expecting it you may find them a bit dark, especially in the bathroom, mine had no windows.

The rooftop terrace is a sun trap, I asked about a cover and was told it was away being cleaned. It was too hot to go up during the day as it was hot and no shade. In the evening it was better. Note the rooftop is next to a main road therefore its not relaxing and quiet. I only saw a review stating this a few days before I went as it would have changed my opinion. Although I did not see any cats on the rooftop I got a smell of them as I was up there.

The Riiad is a little difficult to find so get your bearings before you go out at night otherwise you will struggle to get back. It was safe enough around there even tough there was lot of teenagers hanging around offering help. There’s a lot of traditional cafes/shops in the alleyways.

The Wi-fi works in the courtyard downstairs and periodically on the rooftop.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello Bob,
Thank you for your comments and sympathy, very soon
Frédérique and the entire team of Riad Ajebel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff who were very helpful with showing us the way to the centre, helping us get umbrellas (due to the unusual rainfall), planning excursions and all sorts of advice.
It is a most lovely, tranquil and fragrant place to come back to after a busy day in the markets. Our bedroom was wonderfully calm, and despite being usually roused at 6am by the children we didn't wake until 10am - magic!
The walk to the centre takes 20mins but is culturally very interesting and gave some appreciation of here daily routine of the local Moroccans.
The food is lovely and Fatimas delicious tagines are the best we tried.
A wonderful place to have spent our 10th wedding anniversary!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Jon and Natalie, great to you for your comment, the entire team of Riad Ajebel wish you much happiness and your next wedding anniversary .......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I spent one week in the "Heyara" room, which is small but I was a solo traveller and it was fine. Nice bathroom. Great bed. Great breakfast. Great coffee. Peaceful courtyard and nice decor. Frederique provided a map, a warm welcome and good advice. Abdellatif served breakfast and is an altogether very nice and attentive man. Hard to beat the price I got for the quality received. I would recommend that the riad reduce the airport transfer fee (15 euro) to compete with other riads (10 or even 5 euro in my research); and I don't know what advice to offer concerning the terrace, which, while of modest size, is indeed quite nice, but as the riad is located in the medina wall I'm afraid I couldn't ignore the sound of traffic racing by outside the wall -- no horns or terribly loud sounds, mind you, because the traffic is fairly fluid outside the medina, but a steady "hiss" of swiftly moving vehicles. It never bothered me in the room or courtyard, and traffic dwindles at night -- frankly, I haven't slept so well in ages. The positive trade-off of being located in the medina wall is the calmness of that part of the medina (Kasbah) and the rear entrance to the riad, which is the one I always used and, at least to that side, was a haven of peace. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour Lee, je tiens à te remercier pour ton commentaire et te souhaite beaucoup de bonheur pour ton futur. Un grand merci Frédérique et toute l'équipe du Riad Ajebel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

1. location : located too far from the center of Marrakech. going out/in, i was lost in a maze and feel tired of local people who ask me for money.

2. Price : when I book this Riad base on the review and advertisement, it seems reasonable price. As soon as arriving, i feel overpriced.

3. service : i couldn't stay at this Riad because of my mistake(i forgot to bring my passport from my base, casablanca), and i admit this is my fault.

According to regulation, owner cannot accept tourist who is not carrying passport.
anyway, i had to pay 100% price i reserved. i admit and paid.

Owner tried to help us, and we talked a lot to find solution. i feel thanks about this.
I asked(begged) owner let us stay nextweek without paying again if rooms are available. Answer was, rooms are available but i have to pay again.
So finally, she got her 100% money and I had to pay for nothing .

however, when we leave this riad after paying, she yelled herself in her language with her staffs, so i feel so bad and my wife cried. I don't understand but it was french, and i felt insulted by this. This is why I'm evaluating this place like this.

I cannot forget her yelling sound after me. whatever it was, we felt insulted.
But, i'd like to say thanks to the man staff. At least, i could see his sincerity to help us.

For me, customer service is the most important thing when i evaluate a hotel.
And this is my valuation for this Riad Ajebel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello,
I want to meet you and to clarify the misunderstood.
You arrive at the Riad at 14:30 without a passport! and your wife without any identification!!
When you have made your booking on booking.com you have read the conditions?
These are the conditions in any hotel in the world, sir, past noon night is charged. If you travel without papers, sir, I have nothing to do ......
I wish you a great day.
cordially
Frédérique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

A bit difficult to find the first time, but an amazing place to stay with the most friendly staff I have ever experienced. We stayed three nights. The room was very nice with an authentic moroccan styling. Upon arrival we received a warm welcome (of course with mint tea) and there were candles lit in the room and rose petals around the bath which was very romantic. The breakfast was far above the standard of other free breakfasts that we had encountered in other places in Morocco and our room was cleaned every day. The 10 minute walk to the centre is a bit of a stretch, but consent with the manager. She has a route through some really nice souks were you pay half of your best bargain in the souks around the Djemaa el Fna square.
I definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Marrakech.

Room Tip: The Ajebel room is very nice and has a giant bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Google Translation
merci beaucoup, toute l'équipe du Riad Ajebel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ajebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ajebel

Address: derb chotuka 91, kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 15-minute walk to Jemaa El Fna Square, Riad Ajebel offers guest accommodation in a typically Moroccan, 11th-century building. A rooftop terrace with sunbeds, a hammam and massage rooms are at guests’ disposal.The air-conditioned, individually themed guest rooms feature local, hand-crafted furniture and free Wi-Fi access. All have a private bathroom with bathtub or shower and traditional berber carpets.A Moroccan breakfast is provided daily at Riad Ajebel and may be enjoyed in the room or on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Ajebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ajebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.