We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real taste of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ajebel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Ajebel to your Saves list
Riad Ajebel
derb chotuka 91, kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A real taste of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

If you want to experience a real taste of this fantastic city then stay at the Ajebel.

Frederique is a genuinely lovely person always with a smile who can't do enough to make your stay an enjoyable one. Mohamed is a really nice guy, his English being slightly better than my Moroccan/French. We were here for my wife's 50th birthday and we had a lovely stay.

Fatma's food was the best we experienced during our 5 day visit. Our room was adjacent to the terrace on the 2nd floor, an oasis from the madness of the city. The Hamann and massage were wonderful and we had the added bonus of fine weather. Put Marrakech on your "bucket list" and make sure you stay at the Ajebel, you won't regret it.


Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Google Translation
merci beaucoup, toute l'équipe du Riad Ajebel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    18
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
68
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I wouldn't be surprised if Riad Ajebel was soon one of the best-regarded riads in Marrakesh.

We stayed here for five nights in December, and even during this low season we couldn't fault anything. The new manager, an elegant french lady named Frederica, has a real eye for detail and has made this riad feel truly magical. From the beautiful lighting to the different aromas colouring every room, it is a small haven of luxury for a fantastic price.

Along with Frederica, Mohammad looked after us during the day, and was very amusing and helpful. Khaled made sure everything was perfect through the night and was lovely to talk to. A great group of people always game for a laugh.

For the nights when we didn't feel like battling the medina, Fatima the cook made delicious moroccan food which is every bit as good as what you'll find elsewhere in Marrakesh, which was served to us in the lovely courtyard.

The riad is about 20 minutes walk from the Djemaa el-Fna in a quiet area which feels ancient - the walk into the centre and back gives you a really good sense immediately of all that 'Marrakech' means. The riad also (due to the fact that it is within the old city walls) has a door into the medina, and another onto the road which runs around the city - this is EXCELLENT for taxis as it means you don't have to direct them around the labyrinthine alleys of the old city (or pay for doing so).

In all, our entire holiday lived up to every last one of our expectations (which is rare, no?), largely as a result of this riad and the welcome we received - we really were touched. Have confidence that if you book Riad Ajebel you'll certainly not be disappointed.

A & E

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Google Translation
excellente année à tous deux et un grand merci, toute l'équipe du Riad Ajebel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

A beautiful, calm oasis in the Medina. Mohammed, the Riad clerk, was such an amazing guy- such asset to the Riad! His English is fantastic and he's always eager to talk so he can practice. He's a great source of advice and help and is just fun to chat with. Madame Frederic, the owner, is so sweet and very helpful too, and seems genuinely interested in hearing about your plans, your day, and is available for recommendations as needed. She and Mohammed are both very available if you have any issues. The Riad is easily accessible from two streets in a neighborhood that is lively (in a good way) but not overcrowded or noisy, and we quickly learned from Frederic and Mohammed how to get around so we wouldn't have to rely on paying kids to help us find our way. Clean accommodations, nice decor, and very hot water in our shower (fantastic after our long travels from Dakar). While we brought our own wine from Duty Free, Frederic is from Bordeaux and can hook you up with some French wine if you forgot to BYO :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room, which was still beautiful, clean, and plenty of room for two people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Gérant at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Google Translation
excellente année et un grand merci à tous les 2, toute l'équipe du Riad Ajebel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked this riad based on the strength of it's reviews and were not disappointed. The riad is beautiful, with rooms set around a courtyard and was a relaxing retreat after the heat and bustle of the Medina. We were made to feel incredibly welcome by everyone there who couldn't have done more to help us enjoy our stay - even offering mint tea and biscuits whenever we came back from the town.

The breakfasts in the riad were delicious and there was no shortage of food - fruit salad, egg, pancakes (sort of), cake and of course mint tea served upstairs on the terrace. We also had dinner a few times and they were better than any dinner we ate outside the riad!

The room was very comfortable (we stayed in "Alil") with air conditioning and a seating area although we tended to sit outside on the terrace as the weather was so nice.

The riad is located right on the edge of the Medina and is about a 10-15 minute walk to the central square which means it is away from the noise of the centre. Walking back at night was never an issue as the route is well lit and there were always plenty of people about on the streets

We cannot recommend this riad highly enough and would definitely stay here again if we return to Marrakesh

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a delightful gem the Riad Ajebel is! We were charmed by the blue walls of our suite, the tadelakht and bright copper sink of the bath, and the bubbling orange-filled fountain in the riad courtyard. Ajebel was the perfect start and end of a day in the Medina. And the small pool was a refreshing way to cool off.

Corrine the enthusiastic manager gave us a thorough orientation to the Riad's Kasbah neighborhood. It was a pleasure to see this quieter, non-touristic residential side of the Medina, as well as the more famous and popular landmarks. We enjoyed walking back from the more hectic parts of Marrakech, slowly seeing more of daily life and regular people and how the street changed throughout the day. It was an interesting and comfortable walk, day or night. For outings where we needed a taxi, the Riad conveniently had a second door in the city wall that opened out on a traffic street, making it easy to arrive and depart.

We also loved the peaceful terrace which became our outdoor living room. We will miss the warmth of Corinne and her serene night manager Omar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The riad was comfortable, very nicely decorated, and a relaxing place to come back to after wandering the souq. Corinne, the office manager, was INCREDIBLY welcoming and helpful--making calls to help us rent a car, find our next hotel, offering maps and guidance for our drive, and calling taxis when we needed it. We highly recommend this place and just wish we could have stayed there to enjoy it a bit longer and visit the hammam!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for these wonderfull words .We are so happy to make you feel like home and that you enjoied Marrakech softelly and relaxed
You know you are very and always welcome
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great and only place to stay in Marrakesch ! The Girls have made us feel like home! Beautiful place with a soul, home made food and the best hammam ever! We would love to come back.... even today! Thank You!
Monika & Tomek

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
thank you Monika
You know that we will always wait for you to enjoy another time
There are still so many things to see here
You have a home with us
So nice to have you with us
Come back !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ajebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ajebel

Address: derb chotuka 91, kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 15-minute walk to Jemaa El Fna Square, Riad Ajebel offers guest accommodation in a typically Moroccan, 11th-century building. A rooftop terrace with sunbeds, a hammam and massage rooms are at guests’ disposal.The air-conditioned, individually themed guest rooms feature local, hand-crafted furniture and free Wi-Fi access. All have a private bathroom with bathtub or shower and traditional berber carpets.A Moroccan breakfast is provided daily at Riad Ajebel and may be enjoyed in the room or on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Ajebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ajebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.