We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ajebel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Ajebel to your Saves list
Riad Ajebel
derb chotuka 91, kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The riad was comfortable, very nicely decorated, and a relaxing place to come back to after wandering the souq. Corinne, the office manager, was INCREDIBLY welcoming and helpful--making calls to help us rent a car, find our next hotel, offering maps and guidance for our drive, and calling taxis when we needed it. We highly recommend this place and just wish we could have stayed there to enjoy it a bit longer and visit the hammam!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for these wonderfull words .We are so happy to make you feel like home and that you enjoied Marrakech softelly and relaxed
You know you are very and always welcome
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    18
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
68
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great and only place to stay in Marrakesch ! The Girls have made us feel like home! Beautiful place with a soul, home made food and the best hammam ever! We would love to come back.... even today! Thank You!
Monika & Tomek

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
thank you Monika
You know that we will always wait for you to enjoy another time
There are still so many things to see here
You have a home with us
So nice to have you with us
Come back !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hi everyone!!

Me and my girlfriend stayed at RIAD AJEBEL for 4 night in May 2013. It is difficult not to fall in rhetoric in describing our experience, it was simply perfect.

Starting from the pre-visit follow up that we needed due to some difficulties in getting there. Corinne has followed us step by step with courtesy and a human touch that is difficult to find nowadays.

Once there, we really felt home and all the staff has worked hard to provide for our needs.

The room was simply excellent, clean, functional and full of little attentions to details that made our stay special. Hot water, shampoo, cream, moisturizing, everything was in the perfect place.

The rest of the premises are super well arranged and decorated and it was a pleasure to spend the hottest hours of the day in the internal patio or inside a refreshing cool water pool. The decorations are superb and a sign of attention to the costumer that is almost touching.

One big up goes to the staff. Corinne and the owner are perfectly integrated in their environment and do their job with passion and competence. They are full of advice for place to eat, things to see but they have never made us feel forced to follow their instruction. The rest of the staff (Omar and Fatima) have proved a competence and an attention to us that is difficult to find in more quoted hotel chains. All in all they are good people and it is easy to go along well with them. You must try a Tajine from Fatima it is simply amazing and also her breakfast really gives you the kick you need for a long day walking around Marrakech.

The location is superb and you really find yourself in a peaceful and calm corner in a city that sometimes can get messy and noisy.

The Hamam and massage provided the final touch to hour stay to make it really special. The two girls that took care of us (they will pardon me if i do not remember their names) have been simply amazing and everything was organize in simple and elegant way that made us relax and enjoy the ride!!

In conclusion i have only to tell you that if you go to Marrakesh this is a must!! even for just two nights!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Sorry to answering to late
I am so happy that you had such a beautifull time with us
you had big experiences here !!!!
Youknow that we are here waiting to see you again if youdecide to come back for a bigger trip
Thank you for your words it make me feel so good to know that you have been happy !!!!
Really sincerelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This Riad is cosy, inviting and homey. My granddaughter and i were so comfortable here. The staff were warm and accommodating and helpful in organizing our day excursions. We were right inside the Medina so just a 20 minute walk to the center square and all the sooks that run off it.
Our room, while a little on the dark side, had very comfortable beds and a bath tub that was so long I could lie down in it and not touch either end! I am 5'5'. A great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for these beautifull words . i never know what to say and i dont want to always say the same but the only thing i can say is that i am so happy that you felt the magic of the place and that i could make your stay full of ligth
We wait for you always
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend in Marrakesh and I have to say that staying in this beautiful Riad made the whole experience very special.

Perfectly situated 10-15 minutes from the main square, this oasis was everything I hoped it would be (having read a number of excellent reviews).

Throughout our stay Corinne was simply faultless - and I can now see why so many reviewers mention her directly. Before travelling, she responded quickly to our initial enquiry, giving valuable advice on changing money and arranging transfer from the Airport as well as having Fatma cook us an incredible, authentic moroccan meal ready for our evening arrival.

Marrakesh is a little bonkers and initially can be intimidating - but any concerns I had evaporated as soon as we stepped out of the minibus to be warmly greeted by a smiling Corinne and led inside this stunning building.

Once we settled into our room (every but as beautiful as it had looked on the website) we moved up to the cool terrace to enjoy a cold beer and some nibbles while the table was laid. I have to admit that I expected the Tagine to be delicious - and it really was. However, the rest of the meal was easily just as good. The salad was juicy and fresh, simply divine along with the gorgeous home-made bread (still warm). And I can honestly say that the strawberries for dessert were by far the best strawberries I've ever tasted.

That first evening set us up for a lovely time in Marrakesh. Despite having been warned about aggressive market traders, we found the locals to be very direct, very friendly and great fun!

We enjoyed another lovely meal on the Riad terrace on our last night and although we had some nice meals in the town, nothing came close to the food served at the Riad.

The room was cleaned everyday (despite us saying that this really wasn't necessary) and the towels / toiletries provided were lovely.

The town itself is a feast for the senses - intense heat, colour, tastes and smells with the constant hubub of the souks in the background whereever you go. This calm, tranquil Riad was the perfect base to recharge and recover ready for the following day's excitement. And if you think you deserve a real treat - ask Corinne to arrange a Hammam Massage for you - incredible!

Room Tip: We stayed in Annar - a lovely romantic room for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you you two for these kind words
I am so happy to have made your staying a real pleasure and I always wait to see you again among us
It was a pleasure to have you and making you happy was so nice because you allways have nice words for us .
Marrakech is a magic town and we try to make the riad a peacefull place for you
Another time thank you thank you thank you
Sincerement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This little riyad has five individually decorated rooms in a tasteful example of the hippie chic that Marrakesh designers are known for. Corinne, the manager and hostess is there every day and acted as our guide and pampered us throughout our stay. The ground floor has an inner courtyard with a tiny but deep pool for cooling off in summer months, and some rooms, the first floor has rooms overlooking the courtyard, and the top floor is a rooftop terrace where the breakfast of Moroccan flatbreads and pancakes, fig jam, cheese, eggs and other treats is served by the cook Fatma on sunny days. There is a hammam and massage room that accommodates one person at at time.

The location was excellent - the back door leads into the quiet Qasbah neighbourhood through which you can easily walk to the medina in about 15-20 minutes, while the front door leads onto a not too busy road easily accesible to taxis, unlike many of the riyads you will find. We found taxis essential to access the new town (Guéliz) where many of the best restaurants are located, but enjoyed staying in the much more picturesque old town.

We needed to unwind after some gruelling months at work and this was the perfect place

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Sina , a hope the Lion is you ; ))
I think so because the way you write goes well with who you are !
beautifull words and so beautifull writting and it makes everything very special
Thank you so much for being with us sharing these days..... that was so nice
Big kisses to you two
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Riad Ajebel was the best imaginable place for our one week trip to Marrakech: Perfectly located in a quiet part of the Medina with the charm of a living quarter, with all sights in walking distance and great sight over the Atlas mountains. Food, facilities and service impressed us with impeccable attention to detail. The Riad's Hammam and Massage were a luxurious and professional relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjebelMarrakech, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Riad Ajebel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello you two

thank you for your words on triadvisor . They were so nice and always make me happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us !!
I wait to see you for another week end ... maybe if you are fedup of rain and cold ; ))
You know that you are more than welcome in the riad .
You have still so many places to see
Big big Hugs to both of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ajebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ajebel

Address: derb chotuka 91, kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 15-minute walk to Jemaa El Fna Square, Riad Ajebel offers guest accommodation in a typically Moroccan, 11th-century building. A rooftop terrace with sunbeds, a hammam and massage rooms are at guests’ disposal.The air-conditioned, individually themed guest rooms feature local, hand-crafted furniture and free Wi-Fi access. All have a private bathroom with bathtub or shower and traditional berber carpets.A Moroccan breakfast is provided daily at Riad Ajebel and may be enjoyed in the room or on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Ajebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ajebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.