We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas to your Saves list
Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Douar al Gribate, Annakhil | BP 12 517, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I returned yesterday from 4 days at this hotel. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms stunning , all the staff are very helpful and friendly . However we did experience a few teething problem - the room we were given was a double in what I believed to be a standard room , I had asked for a room with two twins . THis wasn't a problem as they said they would get me a single bed and put it in the small bit of space we had left in the bedroom/ seating area, I was happy with this although it wasn't the most comfortable of beds.HOwever when it came to paying our bill on the final day they wanted €20 a night for this ! We were also surprised to be told that the two single trips we had made into the square we're not included in the package even though on our guest information pack it clearly stated that if you stay for 4 or more days the taxi to and from the square was included. We really did have a lovely stay but unfortunately this left a sour taste in our mouths.BEWARE if you book via secret escapes you do not get the privileges that full paying customers get . When it came to food this was ok but a varied menu would have been nice as it was the same small menu every day which got a bit boring. There also seemed to be a big issue with barking dogs at night which kept us awake two out of the four nights to finally fall asleep then be woken up by the prayer call at 4.45am!!! Very annoying .I had the best massage I have ever , its a must and a bargain at 400 dirums !!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
88
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Marrakech, the ultimate 'Marmite' city! After walking around the souks, bartering, getting lost (it's part of the fun, don't forget it was designed to confuse invaders), watching snakes, playing with monkeys etc etc you need to escape somewhere away from the many people (who are generally lovely), the noise, the atmosphere, and the Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas is the place to be. This small hotel, an oasis of calm, is sanctuary, approx 20 mins car ride (£10, arranged by the hotel) out of town. I don't want to repeat all the reviews but the food is good and reasonable, there isn't a main bar but the friendly staff will get you anything you want and bring it to you wherever you want, your room, the lounge, the heated pool or the lovely gardens, nothing is too much trouble, they want to help! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, not least the hotel has a family friendly atmosphere to it with mainly Brits all talking to each other with experiences and recommendations. all truely excellent which made our holiday worth repeating, I believe you could have a much worse experience being confined to one of the many riads in the city. Strong recommend!

Room Tip: I think there's only 10 rooms (chic huts) all very similar but go for the upgrade, there's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We'd already spent 4 nights in the Marrakech Medina so were more than ready to be embraced by the unassuming staff at this hotel and the restful AfriKaan chic huts. We were booked in for 3 nights and never left once we had arrived. The huts are well equipped with both aircon and heating and yes, the system might not have been the quietest in the world but it was effective. Great sized beds, lovely wet room area and nicely equipped toiletries. We had exclusive use of the hotel, i.e.we were the only people there for a couple of the nights but that was fine, our needs were catered for and we just chilled out on the extremely comfortable sun loungers. We asked for them to uncover the pool to use it and they were very obliging even though the water was still quite cool. The lounge has some DVDs you can watch there, or in your hut, and some books. The staff brought us mint tea in the afternoon and ensured we never missed lunch or dinner. The food was fine but, as someone has previously mentioned, you'd probably get bored with the selection after more than 4-5 days. If you're looking for a warm break literally away from it all then this is it. It was the perfect foil after 4 days of Marrakech madness!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Marrakech. The rooms are small huts and they are finished off to a very high standard. The only problem with the rooms, was that they where very hard to heat up. And the clima system was very noisy. The service of the hotel is really excellent, my applaus to the people who trained them. We ended up having most of our meals at the hotel, since it is really far away from Marrakech. And we had a baby so it was easiest to eat at the hotel. The food is okay, but for a 5 day stay the menus where not large enough to keep us interested. So you have to really like Moroccan food to eat there a lot. But all in all very nice value for money, but i would not go back to Marrakech any time soon. The city is self was less than nice in our opinion.

Room Tip: If you can get the room with white furnitures thats the best. They seem allot bigger. And if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As a couple visiting Marrakesh, we wanted a mix of sunshine, culture and amazing food, and the Cinq Djellabas did just this! It was unique and peaceful, with the perfect hospitality that made the trip extra special. For us it was the small gestures of complementary mint tea by the pool, nuts and olives when you order a drink from your room.... it was the personal touches that made us feel welcome. The huts where clean, spacious and had a fusion of north African and French feel in an oasis. The Medina is 15-20 mins via taxi organized by the hotel, but it was good to have a mix of city and resort environments. Great way to experience Marrakesh!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from Les Cinq Djellabas having spent a fantastically relaxing week. We had a few days when it rained, but that allowed us to catch up on reading/relaxing! Either I. The room or in the first floor lounge. The staff are quietly attentive and remembered what we liked each day. The small but highly professional staff attend to all aspects of running the hotel all day, seeing them feels oddly comfortable after a couple of days. The restaurant at the hotel is small, comfortable and the food of good quality, although the menu is a little limited after a week. We found the breakfast adequate to get us thrpugh to dinner but lighter lunches are also available. Each day we were brought complimentary mint tea in the late afternoon -even if the staff had to track us down in our room rather than at poolside.

The complex is small, isolated and picturesque. African huts set in part of an olive grove. Marrakech medina is a short taxi trip away and a driver-guide will be arranged by the hotel for a reasonable rate. From the terrace one can see superb views of the Atlas Mountains, again these are a short trip away.

Take note of the other posts about the trip from the airport - the road really does peter away to a white stone single track just before the hotel -but don't be concerned. The destination is an idyll. Don't come here expecting nightlife, activities and entertainment. Do come if you want a secluded, friendly, attentive, totally relaxing and scenic enclave from which to base a stay in the Marrakech area. It is just about perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Perhaps our expectations are higher than some other reviewers but we were very disappointed with our week at Cinq Djellabas. The sub sahara african style cottages dotted about the grounds were quite comfortable although some more comfortable chairs and better lighting would not come amiss

The well tended gardens in a beautiful olive grove with a huge infinity pool were perfect for peaceful lounging on the comfortable sun loungers although the hotel is hardly in the palmeraie as described since most of the old date palms have been cut down and the surrounding areas cleared for potential development. Being some distance from Marrakech meant one had to spend 300 dirhams (about 22 British pounds) to get there and back (quite costly if you want to get into town and back for a decent meal).

The staff were lovely and only too anxious to please but, in our view, the hotel suffered from poor management and disappointing food. For example, none of the guests present whilst we were there were told about a lovely spacious library/ reading room on the first floor of the main hotel building - an excellent bolt hole in the event of bad weather. We had a couple of rainy days, but not knowing about this, we and other guests had to spend them cooped up in our rooms.

Whilst we were there, Moroccan summer time ended and the clocks went back by an hour. But none of the guests had been told about this! We had ordered a taxi for 11.00am but when this had not arrived by 11.15 I asked the duty manager (who had earlier made the arrangements) what had happened to this. "Oh, it's only 10.15" he said and then explained that the time had changed during the night!

We understand that Les Cinq Djellabas is owned by by the management of the very succesful Foundouk restaurant in Marrakech medina. The food and ambience is excellent at Foundouk but on two occasions in the hotel it was neccesary for us to send food back as not what we had asked for or insufficiently cooked. In our view, the hotel needs some professional management.

In all, a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie D, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello,
We are sorry that your stay did not correspond to what you were expecting for.
We have read your remarks and will consider it to improve our service.
All the best from our team,
Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.4 mi away
Jnane Tamsna
Jnane Tamsna
#165 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#96 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
3.6 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#105 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#11 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dar Zemora
Dar Zemora
#29 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#128 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas

Address: Douar al Gribate, Annakhil | BP 12 517, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Marrakech Palmeraie (palm grove) near Marrakech Golfs and not far from old Medina of Marrakech, the « Les 5 Djellabas » Hotel combines modern architecture of a luxury hotel in marrakech with a traditional Moroccan look, offering 10 luxury African style suites nestled in an olive grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.