We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect, despite the weather” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas to your Saves list
Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Douar al Gribate, Annakhil | BP 12 517, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 1,137 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Hull, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect, despite the weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from Les Cinq Djellabas having spent a fantastically relaxing week. We had a few days when it rained, but that allowed us to catch up on reading/relaxing! Either I. The room or in the first floor lounge. The staff are quietly attentive and remembered what we liked each day. The small but highly professional staff attend to all aspects of running the hotel all day, seeing them feels oddly comfortable after a couple of days. The restaurant at the hotel is small, comfortable and the food of good quality, although the menu is a little limited after a week. We found the breakfast adequate to get us thrpugh to dinner but lighter lunches are also available. Each day we were brought complimentary mint tea in the late afternoon -even if the staff had to track us down in our room rather than at poolside.

The complex is small, isolated and picturesque. African huts set in part of an olive grove. Marrakech medina is a short taxi trip away and a driver-guide will be arranged by the hotel for a reasonable rate. From the terrace one can see superb views of the Atlas Mountains, again these are a short trip away.

Take note of the other posts about the trip from the airport - the road really does peter away to a white stone single track just before the hotel -but don't be concerned. The destination is an idyll. Don't come here expecting nightlife, activities and entertainment. Do come if you want a secluded, friendly, attentive, totally relaxing and scenic enclave from which to base a stay in the Marrakech area. It is just about perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Perhaps our expectations are higher than some other reviewers but we were very disappointed with our week at Cinq Djellabas. The sub sahara african style cottages dotted about the grounds were quite comfortable although some more comfortable chairs and better lighting would not come amiss

The well tended gardens in a beautiful olive grove with a huge infinity pool were perfect for peaceful lounging on the comfortable sun loungers although the hotel is hardly in the palmeraie as described since most of the old date palms have been cut down and the surrounding areas cleared for potential development. Being some distance from Marrakech meant one had to spend 300 dirhams (about 22 British pounds) to get there and back (quite costly if you want to get into town and back for a decent meal).

The staff were lovely and only too anxious to please but, in our view, the hotel suffered from poor management and disappointing food. For example, none of the guests present whilst we were there were told about a lovely spacious library/ reading room on the first floor of the main hotel building - an excellent bolt hole in the event of bad weather. We had a couple of rainy days, but not knowing about this, we and other guests had to spend them cooped up in our rooms.

Whilst we were there, Moroccan summer time ended and the clocks went back by an hour. But none of the guests had been told about this! We had ordered a taxi for 11.00am but when this had not arrived by 11.15 I asked the duty manager (who had earlier made the arrangements) what had happened to this. "Oh, it's only 10.15" he said and then explained that the time had changed during the night!

We understand that Les Cinq Djellabas is owned by by the management of the very succesful Foundouk restaurant in Marrakech medina. The food and ambience is excellent at Foundouk but on two occasions in the hotel it was neccesary for us to send food back as not what we had asked for or insufficiently cooked. In our view, the hotel needs some professional management.

In all, a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie D, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello,
We are sorry that your stay did not correspond to what you were expecting for.
We have read your remarks and will consider it to improve our service.
All the best from our team,
Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent a week here with my wife in August, the place is beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. Came away a very chilled out couple.
20 min taxi ride into town and Medina (madness), Normally the driver who picks you up from the airport will be your driver for your entire stay.
cant recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We just spent 5 nights at Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas. Its a little oasis of tranquility, the rooms/villas of which there are only 10, were very nice and spacious, with a good level of amenities. The pool area in the middle of the palms and olive trees was very relaxing and visually appealing.

Zak, Alex and the team were fabulous, great unobtrusive service but our preferences were noticed and catered for as a our stay progressed. Knowledgable drivers were always quickly organised to take you to town or wherever you wished to go.

All in all a very nice boutique hotel to which the staff are a great, great credit.

We look forward to another visit .


Clive And Fran

Room Tip: I believe the odd number villas are the larger i.e. they have more room and a huge cast iron bath as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have just returned having spent a week at this hotel. It was a quiet and peaceful and everything is absolutley how it's been described by other travellers. It is in a very isolated barren area and it costs 300 dirham every time you want to go to the city but it is so beautiful that it is worth it for being away from the madness of the city.
The staff are amazing there is nothing they haven't thought to make us more comfortable.
A really good expereince and well worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned from our holiday to Marrakech.. We spent the last 5 days of our trip here and it was just amazing!! The grounds were beautiful, the pool area gorgeous, the rooms were decorated in a contemporary morrocan style with the best smelling toiletries!! The staff were so attentive, friendly and caring, we were really sad to say goodbye to them!! I cannot recommend this hotel enough, it really is the best hotel we have ever stayed in!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A quiet and peaceful hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the old town but close enough to it to be able to dip in and out easily. Very attentive and friendly service. The rooms/cabins were clean, beautifully appointed and spacious. Would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.4 mi away
Jnane Tamsna
Jnane Tamsna
#160 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#90 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
3.6 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#103 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#10 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
6.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#5 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#124 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas

Address: Douar al Gribate, Annakhil | BP 12 517, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 1,137 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Marrakech Palmeraie (palm grove) near Marrakech Golfs and not far from old Medina of Marrakech, the « Les 5 Djellabas » Hotel combines modern architecture of a luxury hotel in marrakech with a traditional Moroccan look, offering 10 luxury African style suites nestled in an olive grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.